Android Tablets Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

· Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just compiled the most common serial USB modules: ftdi_sio, cp2101 and pl2303 and thought I share those with you. They all load fine and I testet the pl2303 with my NavGear GPS dongle and it works!modprobe pl2303stty -F /dev/ttyUSB0cat /dev/ttyUSB0I did not have time to do the LocationManager tweaks to get Google maps working. So below is the link:http://www.trocha.com/download/eken_m001_stuff/serial_usb_modules

· Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Not much to find out for the inexperienced yet. The module "only" provides the functionality to actually receive data from serial converters, which AFAIK was not possible before. USB GPS dongles use such converters. So roughly said, all you get is access to /dev/ttyUSB0 and with that you can watch the NMEA data stream that is about all. I am no Android coder so it may take some time till I figure out to use the data with google maps for instance. Currently I know that I have to use the so called "location manager", which seems to be some Android interface to handle such data. Mabye someone else who is experienced with Android could do that or give me a hint.BTW - I also got the "option" module compiled. So the M001 successfully detects my ZTE K3565-Z GSM/3G dongle and provides ttyUSB0 - ttyUSB3. If chat and pppd works - which I suppose - there is a good chance that the M001 could connect to the internet via GSM.

· Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·