Android Tablets Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
666 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I noticed in the Android Settings screen there is a Display Settings which allows you to set the time for screen standby, 1 min to like 30 mins. What about Disable???My problem is I am trying to use AndFTP to download media from my server, but the Novel keeps going into standby (LED goed RED) after the 30 min max setting (less sometimes) this interrupts my FTP transfer as it takes longer then the PDN does to go into standby. I may just be overlooking a setting screen, but is there a place to disable standby for the PDN and its screen?Also when I leave the app, AndFTP shows up in my Status/Notification bar (top left), but I cannot get back to the instance that is running (transferring files). Running AndFTP again brings me to a new connect screen, not the currently connected instance. Any Ideas?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
147 Posts
Okay, some questions/comments and suggestions (hopefully out of all this you may find your solution):Are you leaving the device plugged into a/c power? If not, I think the screen will shut off no matter what apps/settings you are using. Also, I don't believe there is and Android setting for screen always on.Apps to try: Screen On (I found it using SlideMe, if you can't find it let me know, I'll post) - It's supposed to leave the screen on and keep it from going to sleep no matter what. Didn't work for me as my Novel random goes into sleep mode while I'm using it. :mad:Advanced Task Killer (available in my archive, apps section of forum) - With ATK, when you long press a running app you get a pop up with an option to "Switch To". Maybe this will return to your FTP app in the current state (uploading).Bar Control (also available in archive) - Lets you add a shortcut to any app to the notifications bar, will probably give you the same problem you mentioned, but worth a shot.Last note, when the device goes into sleep mode (at least on mine with the older firmware) the wifi shuts off which I would imagine breaks your ftp connection and gives you the connect screen when you get back to that app?Hopefully something there will help you!
 
1 - 2 of 2 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top