Android Tablets Forum banner
141 - 160 of 181 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
When I try to flash, the download firmware phase fails at 63% - can someone tell me what I need to do differently? Using RKBatchTool v1.6.

Please assume I know nothing and then if I understand the reply it'll seem like I know something
Thanks much!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
Maybe try downloading the firmware image again?
Okay, BikerBoy89 - you're my hero! I'm feeling like the guy whose computer wouldn't turn on because it wasn't plugged in. Downloaded again & it worked like a charm - really hope it fixes the weird thing where the tablet gets hijacked by strange key sequences and has to be shut down. It's a rather debilitating glitch...fingers crossed!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
85 Posts
Okay, BikerBoy89 - you're my hero! I'm feeling like the guy whose computer wouldn't turn on because it wasn't plugged in. Downloaded again & it worked like a charm - really hope it fixes the weird thing where the tablet gets hijacked by strange key sequences and has to be shut down. It's a rather debilitating glitch...fingers crossed!
No problem! Glad it worked for you.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
Okay - back again. BikerBoy89's solution to my last problem was easy and effective. Unfortunately, the new Timeless didn't solve the glitching problem. What is causing me to lose control of the tablet? It just starts these random key strokes, opening and closing applications, changing settings etc. until the tablet is shut off. Has anyone heard anything about this? Suggestions about how to fix it?

Thanks again!

REPOSTED UNDER TROUBLESHOOTING SINCE IT SEEMED MORE APPROPRIATE - PLEASE HELP ME THERE!! Thanks
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
Hi. This is my first post in this community.

The last week I bougth a Xtreme X81 in Mediamarkt, which is a Chuwi V88 clone.

I noticed that videos weren't smooth enough. This problem didn't appear when I connected the miniHDMI cable.

I flashed last original firmware (1st of August), Oma V5.1 and finally, this TimelesssV88 E2. I still have the same problem, although I tried with different firmwares.

On the website www.freaktab.com, I saw that this is a common problem of soc RK3188.

They fixed it, following these instructions:

http://www.freaktab.com/showthread.php?5939-Fixing-RK3188-video-playback&p=81489&viewfull=1#post81489

Could someone do the same for Chuwi V88?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
18 Posts
I'm giving currently giving Timeless Edition 1 a spin. I'm finding the cutting edge SDK2.0 builds are a little too buggy for my day to day living.

Any suggestions on how to add init.d support? I've only ever used Pimp my ROM to add this functionality but the app crashes whenever I try to enable init.d support.

The reason I'm trying to enable init.d support is to load the tun.ko module on boot. This module enables OpenVPN support for third-party clients. I usually install an init.d script which mounts the file system, loads the module then remount back to readonly.
 

·
FW Developer
Joined
·
710 Posts
Discussion Starter · #149 ·
I'm giving currently giving Timeless Edition 1 a spin. I'm finding the cutting edge SDK2.0 builds are a little too buggy for my day to day living.

Any suggestions on how to add init.d support? I've only ever used Pimp my ROM to add this functionality but the app crashes whenever I try to enable init.d support.

The reason I'm trying to enable init.d support is to load the tun.ko module on boot. This module enables OpenVPN support for third-party clients. I usually install an init.d script which mounts the file system, loads the module then remount back to readonly.
The only bug SDK2.0 versions have is the app switching. Try using PMR in E2?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
34 Posts
lambstone

I tried to flash the Bob kernel 160 on top of Timeless V88 E2 using RKDevelopTool_v1.37 on my TIG V88. The flash was successful but the kernel wouldn't stick, and it reverted to Bob 109.
I tried this numerous times, always with the same null result.
Is there a way to do this, or is the E2 ROM preventing a sole kernel update?

Thx
 

·
FW Developer
Joined
·
710 Posts
Discussion Starter · #151 ·
lambstone

I tried to flash the Bob kernel 160 on top of Timeless V88 E2 using RKDevelopTool_v1.37 on my TIG V88. The flash was successful but the kernel wouldn't stick, and it reverted to Bob 109.
I tried this numerous times, always with the same null result.
Is there a way to do this, or is the E2 ROM preventing a sole kernel update?

Thx
Are you saying that when you boot into android shows as Kernel-109?

The only reason I can think of is that the kernel address for TIG is different. This is why it does not stick.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
28 Posts
It appears that I am out of inodes on /system (all 1568 used) on Edition 1. Lambstone, please tell me that Edition 2 has more inodes allocated to the system partition so I can install BusyBox, etc. Maybe in RC2?

1568 inodes is shockingly few

I'm not really sure what to do other than delete some of busybox's soft links and invoke the applets on the command line.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
28 Posts
Here's what I'm thinking about to fix my out of inodes problem. Someone please tell me if this will or will not work.

  • create an image file of the /system partition using dd and transfer it to a Linux box.
  • mount the system image using a loop device
  • create a new image file, of the same size and attach it to another loop device
  • format the new image file, reserving more inodes, and mount it
  • use cpio pass-thru to copy the old image contents to the new image
  • copy the new image to a Windows machine and use RKAndroid tool to flash just the system partition to the V88

I just don't know enough about how RKAndroidTool works. Can I flash just a system partition safely like this?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
28 Posts
Okay, now I'm really confused. I brought the image onto my Linux box and mounted it via a loop device.

What I found is that the partition /dev/block/mtdblock8 is 624951296 bytes big (my filesize from dd if=/dev/block/mtdblock8 of=old-system.img), but the size of the filesystem on that partition is just 393980k. Tablet and Linux agree on that size.

Why? Is it just that way to reduce the size of the download? Can I safely maximize it?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
28 Posts
Well, I just dove ahead and came up with a solution. I opened up a system.img from one of Oma's ROMS and discovered that while the image file was the same number of bytes, the partition was indeed a lot bigger, and with twice as many inodes.
So, I just removed all of the files in the Oma image. Then I used cpio pass-through to copy the files over to the new image and umounted the loop device. I then moved it over to a Windows machine and flashed just the system partition using the RKAndroidTool from one of Oma's roms.

It worked and now I have a bigger system partition with more inodes.

If anyone else is having problems updating your superuser binary or busybox, the problem is likely that you have run out of inodes with this ROM. I hope this is fixed in E2 when it comes out.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
Are you saying that when you boot into android shows as Kernel-109?

The only reason I can think of is that the kernel address for TIG is different. This is why it does not stick.
[/quote]

Hi,
I have exactly the same problem.
I can't flash the Bob kernel 160 on Timeless V88 E2 using RKAndroidTool v1.37 on my V88.
But it's the first time i try to flash a kernel. Perhaps, i did a mistake somewhere.
Here is the log, if someone can see the bug.

Code:
<br />
22:35:48 140	Load Setting ok<br />
22:35:48 171	RKAndroidTool v1.3.7.0 Start Run<br />
22:35:48 171	Scan thread:2796<br />
22:35:48 187	Info:(thread=3032)IoControlProc-->DeviceIoControl In<br />
22:35:48 187	Info:(thread=3548)IoControlProc-->DeviceIoControl In<br />
22:35:48 187	Info:(thread=3032)IoControlProc-->DeviceIoControl Out,ret=1,err=183<br />
22:35:48 203	Info:(thread=3548)IoControlProc-->DeviceIoControl Out,ret=1,err=183<br />
22:35:48 203	[URL=ProcessID:3444,ThreadID:3332,RefCount]ProcessID:3444,ThreadID:3332,RefCount[/URL]:0<br />
22:35:48 218	[URL=ProcessID:3444,ThreadID:2796,RefCount]ProcessID:3444,ThreadID:2796,RefCount[/URL]:0<br />
22:36:10 828	Image Thread Path(\\?\USB#VID_2207&PID_310B#6&13832E90&0&3#{a5dcbf10-6530-11d2-901f-00c04fb951ed}),ThreadID=2068<br />
22:36:10 828	[URL=INFO:Start]INFO:Start[/URL] to run<br />
22:36:10 843	[URL=INFO:Start]INFO:Start[/URL] to test device<br />
22:36:10 843	[URL=INFO:Test]INFO:Test[/URL] device OK<br />
22:36:10 843	[URL=INFO:Start]INFO:Start[/URL] to download file<br />
22:36:10 843	INFO: Start to download files to flash,backup offset=0x22000<br />
22:36:10 859	[URL=INFO:Flash]INFO:Flash[/URL] Start to download file to flash<br />
22:36:10 890	[URL=Info:RKA_File_Download]Info:RKA_File_Download[/URL] start,file=kernel,offset=0x4000<br />
22:36:12 125	INFO: Download files to flash finished,Total(8627048)B<br />
22:36:12 125	INFO: Start to check data<br />
22:36:12 125	[URL=INFO:Start]INFO:Start[/URL] to check download data<br />
22:36:12 156	[URL=Info:RKA_File_Check]Info:RKA_File_Check[/URL] start,file=kernel,offset=0x4000<br />
22:36:12 687	[URL=INFO:Download]INFO:Download[/URL] file OK,Elapsed(1844MS)<br />
22:36:12 703	[URL=INFO:Run]INFO:Run[/URL] OK<br />
22:37:17 906	[URL=Info:wait]Info:wait[/URL] for exiting scan thread start<br />
22:37:18 125	[URL=Info:wait]Info:wait[/URL] for exiting main thread start<br />
22:37:18 140	[URL=ProcessID:3444,ThreadID:3332,RefCount]ProcessID:3444,ThreadID:3332,RefCount[/URL]:0<br />
22:37:18 140	[URL=ProcessID:3444,ThreadID:3516,RefCount]ProcessID:3444,ThreadID:3516,RefCount[/URL]:0<br />
22:37:18 140	[URL=ProcessID:3444,ThreadID:392,RefCount]ProcessID:3444,ThreadID:392,RefCount[/URL]:0<br />
22:37:18 140	[URL=ProcessID:3444,ThreadID:2680,RefCount]ProcessID:3444,ThreadID:2680,RefCount[/URL]:0<br />
22:37:18 140	[URL=ProcessID:3444,ThreadID:3928,RefCount]ProcessID:3444,ThreadID:3928,RefCount[/URL]:0<br />
Thanks

Vincent
V88 Quad 16G21305006xx
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
182 Posts
@lambstone

is your timeless v3 in development? I am loving your v2 so far but the only problem I have is the multitask switching screen bug. I understand this is a bug from official firmware so does this means it exist in all other modded firmware like TNT and Oma? Strange that I don't see people mention about this problem in Oma's thread? Anyway, if v3 is in the works then I will wait for your release. Thanks for the hard work so far.
 
141 - 160 of 181 Posts
Top