Android Tablets Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 169 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
784 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Chinese-manufactured devices, with Korean cpu.. The midX5a / midx6 are both Telechips-based tablets. They're very similar to the Augen device, except they have the actual HDMI port, 300M /data, correct /cache size and a 3.5" headphone jack :)The Pandawill G11 seems to be a re-branded version of this product.
Specs/Facts:- MIDX6 has on-board rotation sensor, but it's apparently not working in the firmware yet.- MIDX6 has optional 3G / GPS inside- MIDX5A is the basic model with no sensor/3G/GPS. (The rest is the same.)- CPU Runs at 720Mhz stock- Has HDMI port- Has a normal 3.5" jack for headphones- One speaker, and one microphone inside.- Runs Android 2.1 eclair-update1- No GPS/3G/Orientation sensor inside- Linpack score around 4.9 with no mods / clean os.- Metal top body, plastic bottom- Mine came with 2x 1300mA battery inside!- Battery lasts really long, i can run for ~6-7 hours at work with wifi on.TODO / What's not working: (Updated 20/8/2010)- SetCPU (fc's after moving slider), waiting for mhuang's expertise- Can't seem to enter recovery by hardware buttons- Add more languages (like Dutch!) - Updated NL versions for #348: Launcher.apk, Settings.apk- Cleanup included languages (Georg77cz is working on cz/cs translation.)- [STRIKE]Custom recovery[/STRIKE] - We have Clockworkmod working as of 20-8!- [STRIKE]Can't boot into recovery from ADB[/strike] - (From firmware #348 this is fixed..)- [strike]Factory defaults[/strike] (Works in #348 and wipes properly using the recovery reboot.)What's working: (As of firmware release #348)- Custom recovery (Clockworkmod): Download here- Calibration (You must hold the stylus at the spot for some time.)- Rooted!- Telechips FWDN firmware recovery (via WinXP/2K)- Telechips USB host booting method with empty(!) nand- Rotation with 'RotateD' from market- YouTube HD ;) (Just push the Evo4G Youtube.apk)Note there are similar models. Visit the HSG website and note the right side button spacing/placement.Link: HSG WebsiteThe model this topic is about, has the buttons spaced across the right side. The other model that is not from HSG appears to be non-available from China sellers right now, or not in production yet for unknown reason. (sensor rumours)Another third model has popped up, it's basically the same hardware in APAD casing with metal back plate.Quick reviewI've used the device for about 3 days now with firmware #297, and it's very fast to use & works like a charm. It has a very solid build quality with a metal top on a thick plastic bottom, making it feel like a quality product. Market worked out-of-the-box with no fuss or hacks. Touchscreen is responsive, but resistive. If you want to slide, push down your finger first, then slide (don't hit-and-run or do a driveby with you finger on the screen).Battery life is pretty damn good. I've been using it for at least 6-7 hours in one go, with wifi while debugging and ADB and such. The screen is nice & bright, and even if it's a resistive screen it works OK. The main reason for an initial slow reaction from the screen, is that the CPU is downclocked to 36Mhz when you are not doing anything. After the first wipe/slide it goes up to 720Mhz.(Yes, that's 120 Mhz more than the Augen)Note to posters: Please keep this thread clean. If it's not about rooting or dev, do not post it here please. Thank you!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
784 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Collection post for tips/hacks/tricks. Newest are at the top.Steps for flashing with FWDN in USB mode (16-08-2010) (Thanks @fun_ & GeorgCZ for testing!)(more details will follow)- Figure out your device serial number and softmac. Store it. (easiest to do, is flash same firmware, FWDN shows it)- Option #1: You are on V7 (#270, #297, #320) ? Use FWDN mode, and just flash it, erase the whole thing before.- steps will follow ..- Option #2: You are on V6 (#205) firmware ? Use flash_eraseall trick by fun_, place tcBoot.rom in fwdnv7 folder- Plug in when asked, the device will boot with the USB boot mode. Then flash your firmware.(In)Compatible USB devices (13-08-2010)- Keyboards- Mice - Wifi USB/Keyboard (as long as they are USB HID devices with no drivers)- CSR Bluetooth: Not working (no driver in kernel)- UVC webcams: Not working (no driver in kernel)SAFE MODE boot (12-08-2010)Still no button combo to goto recovery, but here's the way to get safe mode:This is a special mode if you screwed up something and can't get in the OS because of force-closes in an bad-behaving app that you installed..- Ensure no power is plugged in- Press the centre of the touchscreen, & keep it pressed.- Power on the device as normal. Don't let go of the touchscreen..- You're now in Safe mode! (a message should be in the bottom left corner stating so.)Exact steps for flashing with FWDN (12-08-2010) (Thanks @fun_!)- Power off the unit- Unplug USB- Plug in the AC adapter- Firmly touch the touchscreen- Power on the unitAfter a while you'll notice it stays at the boot splash screen, then you can plug in the USB cable and fire up FWDN.Google maps update failure fix (11-08-2010)Connect using ADB and issue the following commands:
Code:
busybox rm /system/app/Maps.apkcd /system/binsh pm uninstall com.google.android.apps.mapssync
Now you can install the new Google Maps version from the Market.(If not, just reboot the device & try again.)Extract kernel from boot.img (11-08-2010) (Thanks @geoRG77!)You can extract the contents using split_bootimg.pl (needs linux+perl installation.)http://android-dls.com/files/linux/split_bootimg.zipThis also works on tcc8900_mtd.img, since boot.img is near the start of this file. Need to DD of some bytes
(Note that system.img and others are also inside this MTD dump, it's for flashing the whole nand area in one go in the FWDN software.)ROOT+SetCPU! (8-10-2010)Full package w/ adb for windows & batch file for rooting: - Removed, doesn't work properly! -Modified INF file for ADB driver:http://www.zonko.nl/files/tcc/usb_inf_X5A.zipHow to:- Enable USB debugging- Install the driver from my usb_inf_X5A.zip (2k/xp/32 bits)- Unzip root_setcpu_X5A.zip into C:rootfiles- Start a command prompt and do cd /rootfiles, then root.bat- You should get no errors, and after the reboot, your X5A should be rooted.- Note, SetCPU does not seem to work properly.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
954 Posts
I did some research about this one too. Anyhow, unofficial BBS with HSG employees here. ROM for MID X5A is currently still being worked on. Current one is beta, and they will release a final version on their webpage when it is read. I have the firmware (0803) for this device right now, but I'm not passing it along to everyone because the officials promise the final version soon, to be released at the HSG official webpage There are at least 2 different batches of the HSG X5A thus far, with the first batch having an internal switch for switching into firmware flashing mode, and the second batch whose firmware flash mode is accessible via a button combination. Batches are still stabilizing. They ran out of components for a while, so their shipments have slowed a little in China recently.I can reupload the beta ROM if someone really really needs it, but right now I suggest holding off for the official ROM release.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
180 Posts
Yes my supplier also tell me new ROM will arrive soon. But its weird, my unit now doesnot recognized in the Flash tools/application, its just stuck in Probing Devices.Is that because i update/flash clockwork recovery ?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
784 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Xaueious: I have the flash switch inside, but can also access the FWDN mode by holding a button combination. PM' me the beta if you can :)My unit is running X5A 1.0 / [email protected] #297Ryaninnining: - I have dd'd the system.img but i'm not sure you can flash that from a live running OS into /system. We can't enter recovery to flash it properly.- I'm also not sure if you can use this system.img without problems with your kernel.. It would be better to have this version '297' in FWDN format.- JIT didn't work for me, froze the system, i undid the patching.Files: (Place on SD card.)Note: I am not responsible for bad flashes or broken units! All files here are supplied for personal use, and come without any warranty!Basically, we're still unsure how to flash individual files, since we cannot enter recovery. It's also unknown if you can mix/match different system.img files with different kernels (209, 270 & 297 are 'in the wild' so to say!)I haven't tested this, but you should be able to do flash_image to these from a command prompt, then reboot.http://www.zonko.nl/files/tcc/system_X5A_297.zipadb shell flash_image system /sdcard/system.imghttp://www.zonko.nl/files/tcc/recovery_X5A_297.zipadb shell flash_image recovery /sdcard/recovery.imghttp://www.zonko.nl/files/tcc/boot_X5A_297.zipadb shell flash_image boot /sdcard/boot.imgadb shell rm -r /data/dalvik*adb shell rebootIf this goes bad, you can still recover with the telechips FWDN tool and back to #209.It came with this update from the seller. I've not yet recieved separate files from him to flash with the tool yet.Clockwork should have nothing to do with it not showing up in flash tools. Try pressing & holding the power button.. ?A separate forum for this device would be nice to have as well ?
 
G

·
I have same device but with different ROM - M701 1.0 / 2.6.29 / [email protected] #270. I got flash tool from suplier: FWDN_V7_v2.07.exe and tcc8900_mtd.img. Is there any way how to edit the IMG file and push it back to the device? I was able to extract IMG with split_bootimg.pl so I got test.img-kernel and test.img-ramdisk.gz (gzipped 2.4MB), but I don't know if there is any possibility to edit the files in IMG (applications, etc).I will be happy for any advices as I am new to Android World
Thanks
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
784 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
@geoRG77: Can you post the original flashtool, LK.ROM and tcc8900_mtd.img on rapidshare or megaupload ? Preferably somewhere where others can download it as well ?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
784 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
geoRG77: This version has kernel #205 inside, and i do not see Vending.apk or Market.apk in the /system partition. I'm sure the version you have inside your tablet is a better one.My dump is #297. I have update my post with boot.img as well, so perhaps this can be flashed with flash_image over ADB. I'm not guaranteeing it will work! Perhaps we would be better of with the version from Xiauous, if it is a newer one.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
51 Posts
Have anyone try the Maps update failure fix on the Gentouch. Does anyone knows how to get back the contacts in the gentouch after the Market Fix I lost the ContactsThanks
Asure;34537]Collection post for tips/hacks/tricks[b]ROOT+SetCPU![/b]Full package w/ adb for windows & batch file for rooting: [URL]http://www.zonko.nl/files/tcc/root_setcpu_X5A.zip[/URL]Modified INF file for ADB driver:[URL]http://www.zonko.nl/files/tcc/usb_inf_X5A.zip[/URL][u]How to:[/u]- Enable USB debugging- Install the driver from my usb_inf_X5A.zip (2k/xp/32 bits)- Unzip root_setcpu_X5A.zip into [URL=C:rootfiles-]C:rootfiles-[/URL] Start a command prompt and do cd /rootfiles said:
Google maps update failure fix[/b]Connect using ADB and issue the following commands:
Code:
busybox rm /system/app/Maps.apkcd /system/binsh pm uninstall com.google.android.apps.mapssync
Now you can install the new Google Maps version from the Market.(If not, just reboot the device & try again.)Extract kernel from boot.img (Thanks @geoRG77!)You can extract the contents using split_bootimg.pl (needs linux+perl installation.)http://android-dls.com/files/linux/split_bootimg.zipThis also works on tcc8900_mtd.img, since boot.img is at the start of this file. (Note that system.img and others are also inside this MTD dump, it's for flashing the whole nand area in one go in the FWDN software.)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
784 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 ·
Sorry this thread is not for Gentouch. The products are related, but Maps has nothing to do with contacts. Side note, on the X5A the Maps fix did not corrupt my contacts at all. (And, full Google market worked on the X5A correctly from the start.)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
180 Posts
My unit stuck in the flash probing.So i push the power with the charger plugged and press the touchscreen.test show to release the power. Release power, then say to push power again untilFWDN Start.Previously, after this one, the tcc flash utility will automatically probe ths device, and in the device show more text, maybe about initializing.But now, it stop just there. No thing happen, just a popup window with caption "Probing device" but with empty text box.So i am really affraid if i cant reflash the unit again, lol.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
784 Posts
Discussion Starter · #16 ·
I haven't flashed anything with the telechips tool yet, but i can get it to show up in FWDN by pressing the power button(from OFF state) and holding it down. Do you still get the boot screen when you try it like this ? There is also a switch inside on the mainboard, i have switched it on, but nothing much happens.. maybe another flashing procedure can help, but i don't know how it works..
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
180 Posts
Hi, after try flah_image, my machine stuck.. like previous error i have, on linux logo. But i am so glad Firmware flashing work again, yes tcc8900_mtd.img is #205Let me try flash_image again.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
784 Posts
Discussion Starter · #19 ·
Take a screenshot of the device when it's detected please. Maybe the partitions are screwed up. I have some tools from the tcc devkit that can re-partition the flash..
 
1 - 20 of 169 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top