Android Tablets Forum banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
It's very simple to do... Too late tonight to explain how but if you are interested, just let me know and I will write a small how-to tomorrow... Francis

·
Registered
83 Posts
Please explain how. su doesnt work for me, it complains about the suid flag... I would really like to get a swapfile working on this...

·
Registered
164 Posts
its not included in stock rom, but can easily be added. i would do it, but im holding out on development untill i get my hands on the device itself

·
Registered
65 Posts
[quote author=KingDani link=topic=41.msg292#msg292 date=1273841283]at the expense of being tagged as a complete noob , what is Swap exactly?[/quote]I'll share the title, because I don't know what Swap is either. lol

·
Registered
4 Posts
A swap file is a special file that can be used as memory replacement. It allows inactive apps still running to consume less "real" memory.Pierre[quote author=D-Tronic link=topic=41.msg293#msg293 date=1273841588][quote author=KingDani link=topic=41.msg292#msg292 date=1273841283]at the expense of being tagged as a complete noob , what is Swap exactly?[/quote]I'll share the title, because I don't know what Swap is either. lol[/quote]

·
Registered
51 Posts
"swap" is a way of implementing virtual memory, using disk space as extra main memory. If you are familiar with Windows, swap is like pagefile.sys. Unlike Windows, which just uses a file on disk, Linux/Unix/OSX/Android use a special partition of disk -- a whole drive letter of its own, sorta.

·
Registered
56 Posts
that way you would have an OS similar to iphone , with no true multi tasking.also , Anrdoi 2+ always asks for a lot of RAM, like in N1 , they gave it half a gigabyte , so that all programs be able to use whatever RAM they want. that's another erason that i don't think we'll ever see 2.1 on this baby

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·