Android Tablets Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Hi chaps,

This rom is built from AOSP 4.1.1 r6, the kernel used is fossers unmodified kernel. The recovery included is TeamDRH's CWM touch.

This is my first attempt at building for droid. There are some errors apparent to me that I haven't worked out how to fix yet, such as mounting points for external mmc. I have chosen to distribute the rom as an nvflash package that will setup the tablet properly, install a kernel, recovery and android because there is less margin for error. This is very destructive, for all intents and purposes your tablet should be wiped. But it should also boot

I am releasing this into the public and will endeavor to find out what is wrong when bugs are reported, I am, rather busy, and don't spend all my time in android world, so responses may be delayed, please bear that in mind.

This ROM to me, appears perfectly usable, even quite quick. It doesn't come with gapps, to install gapps I recommend you use goo manager because there is a plethora of gapps packages available now and goo does a good job at picking the right one. In future revisions of the ROM it's possible that it will include just the play store and a minimal gapps setup, but right now I don't find it to be necessary. As always, backing up your tablet, all of it, is recommended before you install this alpha ROM.

The installation procedure:

1. Unpack installation package
  2. Bring up a console and change directory to the ./install directory in the installation package
  3. Turn tablet off
  4. Connect tablet to USB
  5. Bring tablet up in nvflash mode (vol down+power)
  6. Execute install.sh or install.bat depending on your operating system
  7. Wait for the operations to finish in console
Some have reported it to be necessary to perform a factory reset/wipe before installation.

The installation package: http://pthreads.org/roms/hannspree-asop-4.1.1-alpha.tar.bz2