Android Tablets Forum banner
1 - 20 of 5353 Posts

·
FW Developer
Joined
·
745 Posts
LAST UPDATE: 2/3/12 (alpha reunion)



Thank you Dave.S for the video!
Video of Flashback 10.0
Video of Flashback 9.0
[media]http://www.youtube.com/v/J98SDDJ3MhE?

STANDARD DISCLAIMER:
USE AT YOUR OWN RISK. By running this firmware, you agree that there is the possibility that you may brick your device. You agree that only you are responsible and no one else is responsible for supporting you if that occurs.

Acknowledgments
Roebeet, Mrguy, Pershoot, Zebwen, Clemsyn and all the Adam and VEGA developers, for this excellent port. If you have contributed something I used let me know and I will add you here.

Pre-requisites
1. Setup and learn how to use nvflash. This is your backout in case something bad happens, so I would recommend you understand how to use this, in advance.
2. Have your device on a stock 1.2-based ROM / mod baseline. For example, build 4349 is the latest 1.2-based stock ROM, as of this writing.

NVFlash
- tlb1961's Rev4 nvflash for windows or linux(Detailed Instructions included in download.)

Installation for 1.2-based stock
Two options for installing Flashback

Option 1 (May have instability)
- Copy the zip file to the root of your internal memory.
- Reboot into recovery. Select install from sdcard.
- Wipe data if after first boot you experience instability or non functioning features that work for others. (this still may not fix your issues)

Option 2 (Preferred method and most stable option)
- View detailed instuctions

Installing Flash (you can upgrade to flash from the Market and use Opera for flash in web and go back to this hacked flash anytime to use Flash apps)
- Go to settings then Applications and select unknown sources
- In File Manager HD navigate to /system/data and install AdobeFlashplayer-hacked.apk
- Will need to repeat these steps after a data wipe!

Features
- YouTube App (All videos play fullscreen)
- External SDcard access
- PC Mounting
- Overclocking
- Flash Browsing (using opera)
- Flash Apps
- Web rendering apps
- adhoc support
- a2dp bluetooth

Flashback Team Members
Dave.S
HiTekRedneck
jazzruby
OtherGuy
rowwor
Sharpe351
TEK112
tlb1961
tlbardelljr


Downloads

Dave S. Flashback tip collection

Alpha reunion Link: http://androidtabletfirmware.com/firmware_details=MzQtMTMyOTc5MzkxNzk4NzI0OTkyNTI%3D (updated 2/3/2012)
Tweaked dalvik cache and memory settings to try to eliminate slow down after installed for a while
complete graphics changes.

Alpha 10.1 Link: [/color] (updated 11/11/2011) FlashBack 10.1

MD5 Checksum 2cc1aca7e5a41150276d31f8c4926a5f

Clemsyn Honeycomb Trial 5 Link: http://www.mediafire...7s7c1anfv1pnfe3

Compatible Game List
Check here for compatible game list by FunkyFlyChicken

Bug/Feature Request
Click here to enter your bug/feature request. Please be as detailed as possible.

Changelog
View the Flashback Changelog.

Issues
- Camera isn't working
- HD Video








 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
7,365 Posts
My apologies, I can't change the dates in order to keep the posts, so I am going to quote the pertinent posts that were discussing the ROM and we will have our new Flashback thread.

Thank all of you for your patience.


I'd like to use a USB Ethernet adapter with Flashback. I had used the USB adapter with a previous ROM from robeet and it just worked when I plugged it in. Anyone have an idea of what I can look at to get it working? Do I need to insmod a drvier and is there one for the pershoot kernel in 5.5?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
7,365 Posts
I'm still using VEGAn 5.1.1 because of the lack of HW acceleration as well as the PopCap games and a few other minor things in the newer ROMs. I've been doing what I can with the SDK to try and debug the games to find any kind of kernel error but haven't been able to find anything. What we really need is to move to a newer base kernel but that would involve a lot of work by Clemsyn or Pershoot and considering they have lives... =) Unfortunately my knowledge in this area is limited but I'm trying my best. If anyone has any ideas please PM me.

Cheers

PS - Keep up the good work on Flashback. I have been using it while I have been debugging. =)
Okay! Let the Flashback discussion continue. Thank you ALL again for your patience.
 

·
TeamDRH
Joined
·
981 Posts
Sweet, let the Flashback thread commence. Thanks msburnout.
 

·
TeamDRH
Joined
·
981 Posts
Thank You MP4, Smoke3out and mrsburnout. Your support in getting us back up is much appreciated. G-tabbers receive the support here that shows SLD is where we belong!
My sentiments exactly. Now lets get back to work on this fabulous ROM you've come up with Mr. Bardell. Ahem, the screen shots? LOL

EDIT: Do we need to retain the locked thread?
 

·
FW Developer
Joined
·
745 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
My sentiments exactly. Now lets get back to work on this fabulous ROM you've come up with Mr. Bardell. Ahem, the screen shots? LOL
LOL....how about tomorrow? I don't have a working ROM on my TAB at the moment. It has a mixture of Froyo, GB and honeycomb libs for the camera but won't go past the birds!
 

·
TeamDRH
Joined
·
981 Posts
LOL....how about tomorrow? I don't have a working ROM on my TAB at the moment. It has a mixture of Froyo, GB and honeycomb libs for the camera but won't go past the birds!
LMAO!! Can I help you with that? Have you tried NVFlash?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
203 Posts
LOL....how about tomorrow? I don't have a working ROM on my TAB at the moment. It has a mixture of Froyo, GB and honeycomb libs for the camera but won't go past the birds!
Throw a little Eclair goodness into the mix and you'll have a Kamikaze milkshake to die for.
 

·
TeamDRH
Joined
·
981 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
33 Posts
wow...pause for a few hours on this thread and alot happens. Hope things get back to normal soon!

Anyway on to the good stuff. Installed a5.5 over a5.4 with only a cache wipe and all is well. Everything that was working is still working great. Bluetooth headset works for the most part. It did studder or stop while changing apps but that might be normal? Maybe another one of the memory management issues with 512mb ram. Flash from the market works for most of the tests I tried with Opera. Still no go on the stock browser. No big deal, I prefer Opera anyways. I don't have Netflicks so I couldn't test it, but lots of happy users reporting that works (at least that's what was here. lol).

Overall very happy with this biuld of Honeycomb on a gTab. Thanks tlbardeljr!!! and everyone else that has made this what it is. So when does this move from an alpha stage?
 

·
TeamDRH
Joined
·
981 Posts
Opera Mobile with the hacked Flash from the data folder.
As an FYI, you need to use the latsest market Flash with Opera product.

The local "flash fix" apk is for stock browser.
 

·
FW Developer
Joined
·
745 Posts
Discussion Starter · #18 ·
wow...pause for a few hours on this thread and alot happens. Hope things get back to normal soon!

Anyway on to the goo stuff. Installed a5.5 over a5.4 with only a cache wipe and all is well. Everything that was working is still working great. Bluetooth headset works for the most part. It did studder or stop while changing apps but that might be normal? Maybe another one of the memory management issues with 512mb ram. Flash from the market works for most tests I tried with Opera. Still no go on the stock browser. No big deal, I prefer Opera anyways. I don't have Netflicks so I couldn't test it, but lots of happy users with that working.

Overall very happy with this biuld of Honeycomb n a gTab. Thanks tlbardeljr!!! and everyone else that has made this what it is. So when does this move from an alpha stage?
My headset also cuts out when switching apps. Someone posted something last night about memory management for closing open apps. If they read this please post where that is again. It may help me work out additional memory issues.

The included flash app does play some flash in the stock browser.

IMO this moves from alpha when the camera works. I think all the hardware should function.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
158 Posts
My headset also cuts out when switching apps. Someone posted something last night about memory management for closing open apps. If they read this please post where that is again. It may help me work out additional memory issues.

The included flash app does play some flash in the stock browser.

IMO this moves from alpha when the camera works. I think all the hardware should function.
it was me.. THANK YOU that u noticed it LOL. I wrote again today and its up in the mrsburnout's post.

here it is again:

"Before this thread got lost, I recently posted about with all the honeycomb roms, when even there is more than 150mb ram left, background process is killed in order to run the newly loaded app.

So this is one of the features for CM7 Nightlies by Icewyng: 7) Changed values for lowmemorykiller (07102011).

Can we Pleeeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaazzzzeee have this feature for Flashback in the next or at least the update following that? With our 512 mb ram, I opened up 2 apps: opera and youtube. these are the only apps open and while I was watching 2(!!!) videos on youtube, the opera was killed by the memorymanager from honeycomb. I could see that by using task switcher (which takes about 4mb of ram) And I had to reload the web page on opera. btw opera only had about 2 or 3 tabs open. I really want a tablet OS, but because of multitasking, I am almost forced to go back to froyo or gingerbread...

Is the only possible solution buying a new tablet with 1gb of ram for 400~500 dollors?

Or can we plllllllleeeeeeaaaaaasssssseeeeee have that same feature used for cm7?"

LOL
 

·
FW Developer
Joined
·
745 Posts
Discussion Starter · #20 ·
it was me.. THANK YOU that u noticed it LOL. I wrote again today and its up in the mrsburnout's post.

here it is again:

"Before this thread got lost, I recently posted about with all the honeycomb roms, when even there is more than 150mb ram left, background process is killed in order to run the newly loaded app.

So this is one of the features for CM7 Nightlies by Icewyng: 7) Changed values for lowmemorykiller (07102011).

Can we Pleeeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaazzzzeee have this feature for Flashback in the next or at least the update following that? With our 512 mb ram, I opened up 2 apps: opera and youtube. these are the only apps open and while I was watching 2(!!!) videos on youtube, the opera was killed by the memorymanager from honeycomb. I could see that by using task switcher (which takes about 4mb of ram) And I had to reload the web page on opera. btw opera only had about 2 or 3 tabs open. I really want a tablet OS, but because of multitasking, I am almost forced to go back to froyo or gingerbread...

Is the only possible solution buying a new tablet with 1gb of ram for 400~500 dollors?

Or can we plllllllleeeeeeaaaaaasssssseeeeee have that same feature used for cm7?"

LOL
Thank You, I will check it out.
 
1 - 20 of 5353 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top