Android Tablets Forum banner
1 - 20 of 98 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
82 Posts
Hello,

I just want to share my experience how to root and install Clockworkmod on RK2926 Tablet.
Hope that this will develop to an active community for this device.

Testet Devices
- Ouyilai V8
- iPPO K7 (Globex)
- Prestigio MultiReader 5274B
- Touchmate TM-MID720 and TM-MID730
- KNC MD708
- Smart Tab MT12
- Q88 II (Only the RK2926 Chipset)
- E-boda Essential A300
- Ampe A73 rockchip 2928 based
- Pentagram Eon Prix
- Vizio 3D wonder (India Version)
- Polaroid 7" rainbow

1) How to Install ADB driver
- After connect to USB (make sure USB debugging enabled and don't mount the mass storage device)
- The option to activate debugging you find under settings and then development options
-You will find that RK2926 is recognized in the Device Manager and the drivers will be installed (It worked for me in Windows 7 / 8 )
- If your Computer doesn't recognize your device you must Install the ADB driver by yourself
- Usually Universal ADB drivers here work http://adbdriver.com/

2) How to ROOT
Using adb tool from Android SDK is not working for RK2926 device. The Only ADB App that worked is from "ROOT.bat" here contain is the only adb that can see my device.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/rhsvca9epfv53ld/ROOT_icood70pro.zip

Just run the root.bat and your device will be rooted after the device restarts. You can verify your root Access with root checker from the market.

3) How to Install Clockworkmod Recovery (All Command Inputs without quotes)
-- thanks and credits to the guys from http://androtab.info/ --

I) Download Recovery Image:
http://files.androtab.info/rockchip/rk2928/20130425/PER5274B_CWM.zip

II) extract flash_image and recovery.img from CWM.zip and put flash_image and recovery.img into device in the same path
as the modified ADB Tool, e.g.
"adb push flash_image /dev/"
"adb push recovery.img /dev/"

III) enter root shell
"adb shell"
"flash recovery.img into recovery partition with flash_image, e.g."
"chmod 755 /dev/flash_image"
"/dev/flash_image recovery /dev/recovery.img"

IV) you should disable install-recovery.sh which restores stock recovery on every boot
"chmod 644 /system/etc/install-recovery.sh"

How to use:
Volume up/down to go up and down and Power Button to select

To Open Clockworkmod there are several methods:
I) Install GooManager and choose Option "Boot recovery"
II) On the device open Terminal. Type "su" Type "reboot recovery"
III) Start your device while Holding "power" and "volume up"
IV) On Computer Type "adb reboot recovery"

4) How to swap internal SD for true external SD card guide on Prestigio PER5274B and other Devices
-- thanks and credits to KRoman47...this man rocks! --

http://www.slatedroid.com/topic/56978-rk2926-rockchip-how-to-root-install-clockworkmod-for-ouyilai-v8-ippo-k7-globex-tm-mid720-edit20130506/page__view__findpost__p__815649

5) How to Change Hardware or Software Buttons behavior
http://www.slatedroid.com/topic/56978-rk2926-rockchip-how-to-root-install-clockworkmod-eg-ouyilai-v8ippo-k7prestigio-5274btm-mid720-edit20130510/

PLEASE share your experience with that tablet...
130819135943045755.jpg
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
Thank you,root successfully. My tablet Globex GU701c(RK2926)
build
ro.build.id=JRO03H
ro.build.display.id=rk2926sdk-eng 4.1.1 JRO03H 20121129.160433 release-keys
ro.product.model=Globex GU701C
ro.product.brand=rk2926sdk
ro.product.name=rk2928sdk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
82 Posts
Thank you,root successfully. My tablet Globex GU701c(RK2926)
buil
DOWNLOAD NOW!
Great that it also worked for you.

The Installation of clockworkmod didn't work. If you have success finding an working Recovery Image it would be Great.

But I was able to change the Boot Animation and to deactivate the Volume Buttons in the Status Bar and was able to activate HDMI and Bluetooth in the settings. Maybe hdmi over OTG Could work.

Edit: by the Way: Globex GU701c Looks 100% identical to my ouyilai V8. One product different names ;-)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
Globex is a Chinese brand in Ukraine. Globex gu701c there are 2 types ALLWINNER A13 ANDROID 4.0 and rk2926 (rk2928) ANDROID 4.1.1.
For ALLWINNER A13 ANDROID 4.0 Recovery Image I have, but it will not work for rk2926. If I find the image that will tell, but the mud luchshe search for rk2926, 2928 7 ", but information on these tablets is not enough.
p.s. iPPO K7 = my globex.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
82 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Globex is a Chinese brand in Ukraine. Globex gu701c there are 2 types ALLWINNER A13 ANDROID 4.0 and rk2926 (rk2928) ANDROID 4.1.1.
For ALLWINNER A13 ANDROID 4.0 Recovery Image I have, but it will not work for rk2926. If I find the image that will tell, but the mud luchshe search for rk2926, 2928 7 ", but information on these tablets is not enough.
p.s. iPPO K7 = my globex.
OK, Change the threat Title to "iPPO K7"

Today I want to try the "Rockchip Batch Tool"..with this it could be possible to Backup your ROM and flash Back it with little Modifications.
Maybe it works...

http://tabletrepublic.com/forum/downloads.php?do=file&id=121
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
82 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Rockchip Batch Tool didn't work for me...

Someone successful with using it with RK2926? Or anyone already installed clockworkmod?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7 Posts
Hello all. I'm a newbie here.

I just bought an Asus MemoPad 7 with wifi and no 3G. I want to install Whats App, I googled for some tutorials, found many tutorial on google nexus but no Asus. They all us App Guard, but mine cannot put number confirmation code, it says something like client modified, please update, but I am using an updated version, just downloaded it from official website.

What should I do?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
82 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Please check updated Instruction to install Clockworkmod Touch..
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
The only reason I created an account here is to tell you that your instructions worked really well.

Model: TM-MID720
Touchmate device (prominent in Gulf regions, especially UAE)

Kernel Version:
3.0.36+

Build number:
RK292X_ANDROID4.1.1-SDK-v1.00.00
rk2926sdk-eng 4.1.1 JRO03H 20130103.174716 release-keys

I was able to root and install clockwork recovery. From there on, installed CWM ROM Manager and made backup of Current ROM in MicroSD - all without any hitches.

Now all I need is a working ROM for my device that is higher than 4.1.1, preferably 4.1.2+! The only reason to root this is so that I can connect this device to enterprise WiFi, which it currently can not. After a lot of google searches, the only possible solution was to upgrade the Android version.

Apparently, this is the only good solution as gathered from here: https://code.google.com/p/android/issues/detail?id=34212

So, if anyone can guide me to solution / CM link which I should use, then please do let me know.

Thanks once again codycoyote. You can add the above model to your tested devices.

Keep up the good work!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
82 Posts
The only reason I created an account here is to tell you that your instructions worked really well.

Model: TM-MID720
Touchmate device (prominent in Gulf regions, especially UAE)

Kernel Version:
3.0.36+

Build number:
RK292X_ANDROID4.1.1-SDK-v1.00.00
rk2926sdk-eng 4.1.1 JRO03H 20130103.174716 release-keys

I was able to root and install clockwork recovery. From there on, installed CWM ROM Manager and made backup of Current ROM in MicroSD - all without any hitches.

Now all I need is a working ROM for my device that is higher than 4.1.1, preferably 4.1.2+! The only reason to root this is so that I can connect this device to enterprise WiFi, which it currently can not. After a lot of google searches, the only possible solution was to upgrade the Android version.

Apparently, this is the only good solution as gathered from here: https://code.google.com/p/android/issues/detail?id=34212

So, if anyone can guide me to solution / CM link which I should use, then please do let me know.

Thanks once again codycoyote. You can add the above model to your tested devices.

Keep up the good work!
What's exactly the Problem with your Company wifi? I can't Imagine a wifi Connection Problem which is caused by a different android Version.
Does your Company use a Special VPN Tunnel?

Edit: would you mind to try this Instruction http://talmai-oliveira.blogspot.de/2011/06/android-and-wpa2-enterprise.html
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
82 Posts
Is there any chance of also getting fastboot.exe with it as well? I will highly appreciate it.
Thanks
I don't think that we could get fastboot running on our devices.
But did you try the Rockchip Chipset SDK Flashing Toolkit?; with this you can also flash different partitions nearly (not exaktly) like fastboot.

Linux RKflashtool
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1286305

Windows RKandroidtool
http://d-h.st/g2F
My Mirror https://www.dropbox.com/s/6v59hoeaf5d7ib4/RKAndroidTool-20130419.zip

Video of the using:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
13 Posts
Hi, codycoyote can you do some edits in vold.fstab to make work external SD card like the internal SD? I have Prestigio MultiReader 5274B.

I'm not good at it, I don't fully understand that. I changed lines:
dev_mount flash /mnt/sdcard auto /dev/block/mtd/by-name/user
dev_mount sdcard /mnt/external_sd auto /devices/platform/rk29_sdmmc.0/mmc_host/mmc0

to
dev_mount flash /mnt/external_sd auto /dev/block/mtd/by-name/user
dev_mount sdcard /mnt/sdcard auto /devices/platform/rk29_sdmmc.0/mmc_host/mmc0

In file explorer (Total Commander) I see after reboot my SD 8GB as Internal SD and Internal 1,8GB as external. But it seems it don't work properly, when I try any app move to SD card, it immediately fails. I hope we can do this together.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
82 Posts
Hi, codycoyote can you do some edits in vold.fstab to make work external SD card like the internal SD? I have Prestigio MultiReader 5274B.

I'm not good at it, I don't fully understand that. I changed lines:
dev_mount flash /mnt/sdcard auto /dev/block/mtd/by-name/user
dev_mount sdcard /mnt/external_sd auto /devices/platform/rk29_sdmmc.0/mmc_host/mmc0

to
dev_mount flash /mnt/external_sd auto /dev/block/mtd/by-name/user
dev_mount sdcard /mnt/sdcard auto /devices/platform/rk29_sdmmc.0/mmc_host/mmc0

In file explorer (Total Commander) I see after reboot my SD 8GB as Internal SD and Internal 1,8GB as external. But it seems it don't work properly, when I try any app move to SD card, it immediately fails. I hope we can do this together.
Have you tried to fix permissions? It's an Option which you can choose in clockworkmod.
Offen this helps to fix SD Card issues.

Edit:
Sorry I should have read better ;-)

I'm Not a programmer but I just google a Bit. Could you try this instruction...it worked for some People
http://tabletrepublic.com/forum/uhost2-u2/%5Bguide%5D-how-use-external-sd-card-internal-memory-3636.html

There is already a modified vold.fstab.mod ready for downlod
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
13 Posts
@codycoyote: It's pity, I have done the same steps as in the link you have posted. It looks like it works but when I try to move some app to SD it immediately fails. I have to look at it more but I'm worried I alone can't do anything else. Do you have Prestigio PER5274B also so you can try it? Or do you know somebody who has Prestigio or is capable to do something about this problem?

EDIT: Here are some screenshoots. I think it would be great to have larger external SD card than the internal SD for moving larger apps there.
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B3QEf2vGfslTSHdoS3puWVUzcDA/edit?usp=sharing
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B3QEf2vGfslTMk1lZFVaSE1EcWM/edit?usp=sharing
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
82 Posts
Discussion Starter · #17 ·
@codycoyote: It's pity, I have done the same steps as in the link you have posted. It looks like it works but when I try to move some app to SD it immediately fails. I have to look at it more but I'm worried I alone can't do anything else. Do you have Prestigio PER5274B also so you can try it? Or do you know somebody who has Prestigio or is capable to do something about this problem?

EDIT: Here are some screenshoots. I think it would be great to have larger external SD card than the internal SD for moving larger apps there.
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B3QEf2vGfslTSHdoS3puWVUzcDA/edit?usp=sharing
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B3QEf2vGfslTMk1lZFVaSE1EcWM/edit?usp=sharing
I think its a sd Card or device specific issue. Have you tried a differend sd Card or a external program from Play store like App2SD?

My tablet Ouyilai V8 moves all Apps to sd without Problems. If it helps i Could Upload my vold.fstab file that you Could Check differences.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
13 Posts
@codycoyote: Maybe I will try another SD card. I'm using App2SD but it's worthless in this case it moves app data just to internal SD card (NAND FLASH) which have only 1,8GB. Even when you have some offline maps or another large data files they don't fit in internal memory and they can't be used from external SD card. That's the main problem.
Vold.fstab is different between brands, same models should have the same so it probably doesn't help anything.

EDIT: So installing CWM didn't work also. But if you want at least some backup of your memory you can do this.
Install Terminal Emulator from Google Play run it and write commands in quotes without quotation marks:
"su"
"cat /proc/mtd"
It gives you this table of partitions with names. Then continue with dump.
"cat /dev/mtd/mtd8 > /mnt/sdcard/system.img"
or if you have external SD
"cat /dev/mtd/mtd8 > /mnt/external_sd/system.img"

Same way you can dump every partition and if case of need you can put it back which I never try. Probably with using same steps as in first post via ADB. For example "/dev/flash_image system /mnt/sdcard/system.img"

EDIT2: I get CWM to work it works flawlessly. I just follow the fist post then I installed ROM manager from Google Play and used Reboot to CWM. How to boot to CWM without ROM manager using the button combination while boot I don't know. Volume minus + power boots into state of emergency volume plus + power probably do nothing.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
82 Posts
@codycoyote: Maybe I will try another SD card. I'm using App2SD but it's worthless in this case it moves app data just to internal SD card (NAND FLASH) which have only 1,8GB. Even when you have some offline maps or another large data files they don't fit in internal memory and they can't be used from external SD card. That's the main problem.
Vold.fstab is different between brands, same models should have the same so it probably doesn't help anything.

EDIT: So installing CWM didn't work also. But if you want at least some backup of your memory you can do this.
Install Terminal Emulator from Google Play run it and write commands in quotes without quotation marks:
"su"
"cat /proc/mtd"
It gives you this table of partitions with names. Then continue with dump.
"cat /dev/mtd/mtd8 > /mnt/sdcard/system.img"
or if you have external SD
"cat /dev/mtd/mtd8 > /mnt/external_sd/system.img"

Same way you can dump every partition and if case of need you can put it back which I never try. Probably with using same steps as in first post via ADB. For example "/dev/flash_image system /mnt/sdcard/system.img"

EDIT2: I get CWM to work it works flawlessly. I just follow the fist post then I installed ROM manager from Google Play and used Reboot to CWM. How to boot to CWM without ROM manager using the button combination while boot I don't know. Volume minus + power boots into state of emergency volume plus + power probably do nothing.
For me the combination of "power and Volume up" Works and Boots into clockworkmod. It should be the Same Key combination with your device

PS: Thanks for the ADB Backup guide...I will try it tomorrow
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
13 Posts
I will try that combination. From running system is also way using Terminal Emulator trough commands:
"su"
"reboot recovery"
Simple =)

I have backup of partitions kernel, kpanic, backup, boot, recovery, system, misc. Even I don't know content of every partition I have to take look at it closer.

PS: PER5274B has enough space for aplications (partition data) but good way to save some space is integrate actualizations of Google apps into ROM. You can do it simply with Titanium Backup PRO but you can do it by your self. It's possible for every Android with root permissions.

Just download file explorer (I recommend Total Commander) go to folder system/app in one window and in data/app in another window. You need to remount system partition with permissions to read/write then you can move new versions of apps from data/app to system/app and overwrite old ones. Then you need set them permissions 644 and restart device.
If you want I can do more detailed guide or put here edited vold.fstab with switched external instead of internal SD only issue is you can't move apps there but you can put there data (as NFS MW has 1,8GB) etc.
 
1 - 20 of 98 Posts
Top