I have encountered the same experience as you before, maybe I can give you some useful clues. If you have set up to sync before, then try to restore them from there. Try checking in the trash of Google Photos, those deleted photos will be saved there for 2 months if you haven't change your initial settings. But if you have no backup available, then try some data recovery tool to help you recover deleted photos. It may figure out your issues.