Android Tablets Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Spoke to PD customer service yesterday and they claimed that the Black PDN is running Android 2.1. I picked up a unit yesterday and tried to get ADB access but it didnt work.How do I check what version of Android it is running and try to get it rooted. I am a complete newbe with this so please make any instructions/suggestions easy to followThanks

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
windows XP shows it in win explorer as PD_novel with 2 drives, the internal and the SD card, both of which can be accessed It didnt ask for a driver.When i look in Device Mgr it shows as Linux File Stor Gadget USB Device listed twice under Drives.

·
Registered
3,286 Posts
I have a Black PDN as of two days ago (couldn't resist trying it out). So far I have not been able to hack into it. If I had to hazard a guess, USB Debugging is turned off. I also tried a firmware alteration to get it to work, but so far the updates are failing (different firmware update process). I think their updates are signed.I don't think this is Android 2.1, going on the build.prop I saw in the firmware update. Looks like 1.5. And btw, I don't like this thing at all - definitely feels slower than the white Novel.

·
Registered
1,351 Posts
So you don't get a composite device at all?In that case, assuming your computer is on the same network as your PDN, try "adb connect <PDN's IP ADDRESS>:5555" , so, for example "adb connect 192.168.1.120:5555", assuming your PDN is at IP 192.168.1.120. I've seen other slatedroid's have to do that, so maybe USB is disabled but we can still get to it over WiFi.Did you try accessing files on the SD using the browser?FYI, here's the vold for the black: