Android Tablets Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
460 Posts
Hey I am new to Android and noticed my Gentouch does not recognize Ad Hoc networks. I have a jailbroken Iphone 3g and I have a program called MyWiFI to create a wifi hotspot using my 3g connection. I am assuming MyWiFI creates a Adhoc connection and this is why my Gentouch will not see it. Is there anyway to configure Android to recognize Adhoc networks?Edit: MyWiFi does setup a adhoc on the iphone

·
Registered
5 Posts
Ive been looking into this with no luck at all. It seems android doesn't support ad hoc. There is some work arounds out there but none of them has worked for me. The GT dont seem to have this file tiwlan.ini to edit. My wifi is broken because of it. Im hoping the new augen patch will fix it. here is some links. Forums Down For Maintenance | xda-developersHow to get OLSR running on the Galaxy Samsung Android phone | www.olsr.orgHow to connect to Ad Hoc networks using Tmobile G1 Android | HydTech

·
Registered
460 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
No it only allows for dhcp, but I am researching other programs right now.

·
Registered
75 Posts