Android Tablets Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

· Registered
Joined
·
7 Posts
Because of ongoing updates and improvements, a lot of the very useful information posted on this thread and elsewhere require constant backwards and forwards referencing. I thought I would write down, to help those going through the upgrade and Market install, a snapshot of the complete walkthrough I used. This pulls together information from many different sources (references at the end of the post). I hope it helps someone out there and saves them from, among other things, needing 5 browser windows open at the same time, looking at different information simultaneously.In summary, two principal operations will be needed to get to using Google Market if that App is not already installed and working.
  • Upgrade Handset firmware to v1.9_88, a firmware version that is rooted and that comes with Google Market; this is a one-step operation below.
  • Obtain unique AndroidID for Handset so that Google Market will download apps: To get that ID, it's likely easiest to log in to Google Market from an Android Emulator on a Windows machine. This generates the ID and stores it on the Android Emulator (on the Windows machine) - what remains is to get that ID onto the Handset. This requires several unautomated steps, detailed below.
(I bought my Gome Flytouch from Gome in Zhongguancun Beijing, mid-August 2010. The device came installed with firmware 1.8.2. When the rest of this writeup says "Windows machine", I assume a "Linux machine" or an "AppleOS machine" will also work - I don't have these other machines to try out the process. Abstracting from specifics, the procedure should also work for Handsets other than the Gome Flytouch, which is what I have. The first step, though, refers to Flytouch-specific firmware. When I say Handset, I mean also Tablet Device.)More detailed operations for the entire procedure are as follows:[list type=decimal][*]From [ROM] Gome Flytouch Firmware Releases (VIA WM8505 7" Tablet) extract Download 1.9_88.zip on Windows machine to 1.9_88/script/ ; copy entire script/ folder to / on SD. (Different writeups online talk about adding in Superuser and su modules, modifying the firmware to root the Handset, and so on - those changes, however, seemed to be already merged into the 1.9_88.zip file by when I got to it.) Turn off Handset; turn on again with SD in its slot, so that the Handset boots off the SD. The boot routine automatically finds the script/ folder on the SD and executes the necessary routines from it. After the boot process, the Handset runs Android v1.9_88, no longer the Gome Flytouch 1.8.2 firmware.[*]Google Market is now on the Handset but it won't download apps. The Handset still needs a unique AndroidID. The remainder of the writeup below gets that AndroidID and places it in the Handset.[*]The next few steps follow the first part of the 07-30-2010 05:30 PM entry in http://www.slatedroid.com/eken-m002...-my-market-works-download-apps.html#post25715[*]Download and install to Windows machine the Android SDK. Directions are, among elsewhere, on How to Test Drive Google Android on Your PC Without Buying a Phone - How-To Geek[*]Download an Android system.img from system.img - 4shared.com - online file sharing and storage - download - far as I know, the directions that follow apply only to 1.6 system.img, but the 2.2 system.img there will also work for general exploring.[*]Place system.img in X:android-sdk-windowsplatformsandroid-4images (or wherever the SDK was installed).[*]Start the Android emulator (X:android-sdk-windowsSDK setup.exe), using the virtual device for 1.6[*]On the emulator, sign in to Market (skip all until you see your dashboard); confirm that browsing through the Market works. If the Handset waits with "Press Menu key to unlock screen", use the F2 or PageUp key. Try downloading one or two apps. [*]Open a command prompt on the Windows machine, and go to X:android-sdk-windowstools. Make sure that that directory is writeable.[*]Input commandadb devices(to see the emulator connected). The output is:------------------------------------------------List of devices attachedemulator-5554 device------------------------------------------------[*]Input commandadb pull /data/data/com.google.android.googleapps/databases/accounts.db(copies the file with the unique androidID to directory), getting output comparable to------------------------------------------------298 KB/s (0 bytes in 14336.000s)------------------------------------------------[*]The remaining steps follow the 08-01-2010 08:06 AM entry in http://www.slatedroid.com/flytouch-epad/3763-market-app-working-flytouch-epad.html[*]On the Handset, enable "Settings / Applications / Development / USB debugging"[*]Connect Handset over WiFi and find its IP address. (For instance, click on the WiFi connection to pop up the required information.) That IP address will be something like 192.168.0.196[*]Close Android emulator on Windows machine, and return to Windows cmd window (still in directory "X:android-sdk-windowstools"). Inputadb connect xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:5555(replace x's with the IP address on your Handset).[*]Confirm connection between the Windows machine and the Handset. Inputadb devicesto get something like------------------------------------------List of devices attached192.168.0.196:5555 device------------------------------------------[*]On Windows cmd window, input:adb push accounts.db /data/data/com.google.android.googleapps/databases/to get something like------------------------------------------149 KB/s (0 bytes in 14336.000s)------------------------------------------Discussion online says different things on whether chmod might be needed at this step. I say, go with what works for you. On my setup, I did have to pop up a ConnectBot window on my Handset, "su", and then "chmod +w /data/data/com.google.android.googleapps/databases/" before I could get "adb push" to work. Other users seem not have had to do this.[*]Reboot the Android Handset. Google Market should now download apps.[/LIST]Useful references include:
 

· Registered
Joined
·
142 Posts
[quote name='lextex;47907]Some [URL=problems:Step]problems:Step[/URL] 11 -- My file outputted is not "0 bytses" it's like "14443 bytes"Step 17 -- I'm getting a "Permission denied" error' date=' same when I try it in ConnectBot[/QUOTE']I don't think #11 matters, but as for #17 I got that too. However, I didn't open Connectbot (although it has to be installed) I just asked for 'su'.Here's a slightly simplified version of the steps posted at the start of the thread, which I'd previously posted in the 'Market Installed' thread.Take note of #10 and see if that works for you.Here's the way I did it. You must have Connectbot and Superuser installed before starting the fix.
_____________________________________________________​
1: Run SDK Emulator in Windows.2: Open DOS CMD window (Run: "cmd").3: Open SDK Tools with: " cd c:android-sdk-windowstools"4: Enter: "adb devices" to confirm Emulator is seen.Should return: "emulator 5554 device"5: Enter: "adb pull /data/data/com.google.android.googleapps/databases/accounts.db"Should return (for example): "220 KB/s (13312 bytes in 0.059s)"6: Close emulator/boot tablet/enable USB debugging on tablet. 7: Connect to tablet: "adb connect 192.XXX.X.XXX:5555"Confirm with "adb devices"8: Enter:"adb push accounts.db /data/data/com.google.android.googleapps/databases/"Should return (for example): "149 KB/s (0 bytes in 14336.000s)"9: Done, reboot tablet.__________________________________________10: If ?permission denied? after step 8 then enter ?adb shell?Should return ?/ $?11: Enter ?su? and go to tablet screen to grant permission,cmd window should return ?~ #? indicating su granted.12: Enter ?chmod 777 /data/data/com.google.android.googleapps/databases/accounts.db?13: Enter ?exit? to leave the su area.14: Enter ?exit? again to leave the adb shell area, which should return ?c:android-sdk-windowstools?15: Return to step 8._________________________________________
 

· Registered
Joined
·
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
@fV46OEZTCN4S - thanks for filling this out. Would it have helped if in my original writeup, step 18 (which does the "chmod +w ..." in place of your "chmod 777 ...") had been written as part of step 17 - which is what I'd intended before the auto-numbering of the list took over? That way others would have been able to see that the permissions alterations - what you've written in as well - might be needed.Thanks again.
 

· Registered
Joined
·
142 Posts
[quote name='dqu6bn;48070]@fV46OEZTCN4S - thanks for filling this out. Would it have helped if in my original writeup' date=' step 18 (which does the "chmod +w ..." in place of your "chmod 777 ...") had been written as part of step 17 - which is what I'd intended before the auto-numbering of the list took over? That way others would have been able to see that the permissions alterations - what you've written in as well - might be needed.Thanks again.[/QUOTE']No problem, and of course no criticism of your original post was implied.
 
1 - 8 of 8 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top