Android Tablets Forum banner
1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Right-o, let me start of by saying that I have very little knowledge about electronics, in the realm of batteries/power ratings/power boards/supplies etc.However, I have just ordered an Eken M001 and the only concern I have is the Battery life. That said, I would like to mod the Eken with:a) An extra battery running in parallel to the stock batteryorb) An 'external' battery (though I this would be housed inside the Eken), that would charge the stock one - just like the battery in the Carnivore mod.The battery I have in mind it along these lines (also mentioned in another post) -http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Li-Po-Lithium-Polymer-Battery-3-7V-3500mAh-SatNav-GPS-/300436835870?cmd=ViewItem&pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item45f36e4e1e

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
After some research, I have concluded that while safer, Li-Ion are far bigger and unwieldy. Although, Mobile phone batteries (Nokia BL5CT or BL4D) are Li-Ion and a small size. These however have a strange pinout, in that they only have +, Battery status Indicator, and Ground. Knowing nothing about this, would the ground double as the - (negative) pin?

·
Registered
2 Posts
ianae but here's from my experience modding gadgetsA) running battery in parallel generally a bad idea. Parallel batteries have the same voltage but divide the current. If you have one bad battery in the link, the current will be divided among the others and reduce battery life, or worse. This, however, can be handled properly with a balance board.