Android Tablets Forum banner
1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
97 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I just recieved my apad. It's legit and everything, I go to plug it in and nothing. No charge.I hopped online and spoke with the people I purchased it from and they want me to buy a new one at a local shop and they will send me the money for it whatever it comes out to. I'm willing to give this a try as it will be faster to using my device than waiting for a new one from themAnyone know a good place close by that would sell this? or an online seller that could get it to me quickly?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
97 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
after talking with the guy we found out its the wrong charger, they sent me one that outputs 9v, and i guess its only supposed to be 5vcan anyone verify this, what do your chargers sayI have tried jiggling it also. first thing i did. don't want to do it to much as i dont want to break anything
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
97 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
bigness;10565 said:
From my charger:Output: 5V --- 2000mA
exactly the info i was looking for, gonna head to radio shack in the morning for a charger. thanks!does in put V matter? or does that just mean it can be plugged into a wall socket?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
53 Posts
Input Volts doesn't really matter (most decent chargers are 110v - 220v anyway), but output is ESSENTIAL ! I can't stress this enough. Over voltage will kill your device. And given you've already plugged 9V into it... I just hope it's not been fried already.Amps out are important, only because you can't have enough ! The charger supplies a 2000mAh charge, which is rather high compared to most units. What you don't want is a 5v 1000mAh charger, as it's not going to be powerful enough to charge your apad. If you were to get a 5v 3000mAh charger it wouldn't cause any problems, as the unit will only draw what it needs to charge.That doesn't mean you should go buy a 3000mAh charger, if a 2000mAh charger is available, it's pointless getting more than the unit needs.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
97 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
[quote name='Slade;10612]Input Volts doesn't really matter (most decent chargers are 110v - 220v anyway)' date=' but output is ESSENTIAL ! I can't stress this enough. Over voltage will kill your device. And given you've already plugged 9V into it... I just hope it's not been fried already.Amps out are important, only because you can't have enough ! The charger supplies a 2000mAh charge, which is rather high compared to most units. What you don't want is a 5v 1000mAh charger, as it's not going to be powerful enough to charge your apad. If you were to get a 5v 3000mAh charger it wouldn't cause any problems, as the unit will only draw what it needs to charge.That doesn't mean you should go buy a 3000mAh charger, if a 2000mAh charger is available, it's pointless getting more than the unit needs.[/QUOTE'] i dont think the device is fried as it will still boot up with what ever juice is left in it. I also took it to a hardware store and they had a universal charger which i hooked it up however it was only 300mA. He said it would charge it eventually, but would take 4 to 5x more time to do it. So obviously I said no. The little light did come on with this charger and it had the 5v.I'm gonna check radio shack tomorrow. hopefully I don't have to spend a pretty penny on this thing. For what it was worth I had fun searching the slideit keyboard on the market while it was on! Wish me luck
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
53 Posts
Glad to hear it's not dead. I know someone else on this board killed their apad doing a similar thing. There was a thread about it before all the crazy board changes.The other issue with using a 300mA charger is you're putting a strain on the charger. The device wants somewhere around 2000mAh and it will eventually cause the charger to collapse. It's like making an old man carry a load of bricks all day. He might do it for a while, but eventually he's just going to fall over from the excess strain.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
97 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
gotchaheading out now to get it
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
97 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
so i ran all over town for about 4 hours and still have nothing. if any one knows of an online store that sells this charger and has verification that it works that would be great. I don't want to have to wait another 3 weeks to have them send me a charger. All help is greatly appreciated
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
97 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
So I spent 4 hours the other day driving all around and found nothing. Before I went to work I happened to go inside this little old cell phone store and they had one that fit and everything! So if anyone is looking for a charger and you go to radio shack or something. Don't look at universal chargers, look at cell phone chargers!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
65 Posts
[quote name='mattstakilla;11248]So I spent 4 hours the other day driving all around and found nothing. Before I went to work I happened to go inside this little old cell phone store and they had one that fit and everything! So if anyone is looking for a charger and you go to radio shack or something. Don't look at universal chargers' date=' look at cell phone chargers![/QUOTE'] What was the brand name of the charger? Or a pic of the package if you still have it. Id like to have a spare laying around just in case.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
97 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 ·
bigness;12235 said:
What was the brand name of the charger? Or a pic of the package if you still have it. Id like to have a spare laying around just in case.
the place i bought it from didnt really give it a package. looked like it was previously opened before.i will however give you all the number on itlooks like it was made by LG. Model: 8102Input: 100-240 VACOutput: 5.0 V 1000mAMade in China by SalcompHope this helps
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
880 Posts
Ah, by the way, my aPad came with a 'adapterles' powersupply. (just need a adapter for the euro plug)the specs are:SWITCHING POWERSUPPLYModel: LYD11R-050 (RK)Input: 100-240V~0.3A 50-60HzOutput: +5V 2A MAXInner lead =+Outer lead =-
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
97 Posts
Discussion Starter · #16 ·
The supplier finally sent another plug. But its not U.S.Has two round prongs coming off it
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
97 Posts
Discussion Starter · #17 ·
The supplier finally sent another plug. But its not U.S.Has two round prongs coming off it
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
97 Posts
Discussion Starter · #19 ·
The plug looks just like that. I have a working one so im not stressing it
 
1 - 20 of 44 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top