Jump to content


Photo

M002 Disassembly


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 yomike

yomike

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts

Posted 22 September 2010 - 09:03 PM

Has anyone taken a M002 apart yet?If so, some tips would be helpful please as I'm keen to avoid any damage!Looking to do some WiFi modding.

#2 umaistru

umaistru

    Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts

Posted 23 September 2010 - 10:45 AM

..hi..im' really interested too... no news guys??have a nice day.Bob
  • chofo likes this

#3 mechaxx

mechaxx

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 23 September 2010 - 12:42 PM

i disassembled it. at first you must remove the foil on the display very carefully, its applied withe glue. then there are 8? screws. itīs very simply, i changed my speaker a few weeks ago.
  • chofo likes this

#4 yomike

yomike

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts

Posted 23 September 2010 - 07:55 PM

[quote name='mechaxx;63719]i disassembled it. at first you must remove the foil on the display very carefully' date=' its applied withe glue. then there are 8? screws. itīs very simply, i changed my speaker a few weeks ago.[/QUOTE'] Thanks for that. Shall give it a go.Anything else to watch out for?
  • chofo likes this

#5 yomike

yomike

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts

Posted 23 September 2010 - 10:21 PM

Well, I achieved the dismantling.After foil removal, I had 15 screws to remove on my M002 version 4.All but the top plastic surround with the camera in the centre came out easily.The camera/wifi units had been glued and I managed to snap the plastic insert at the camera aperture getting this one off.1 further screw to remove the "motherboard".Observations:The camera is a usb device based on the Etrontech eSP268.I believe this uses the host usb port that can be accessed on the M001 with the rewiring of the 30 pin connector, which does not appear to be the case with the 002.The mic is located inboard and perpendicular to, the mic hole on the bottom edge and sits behind the reset switch which is accessible thru the small "M/R" hole. One mod I will consider is a hole in the face of the 002 above the mic to improve its performance as currently the mic performance is poor and low level. A more direct route for the sound to travel to the mic should help.The positioning of the WiFi unit is poor, so the poor WiFi performance is understandable. With it located up against the metal back of the screen and in close proximity to the camera PCB, the "shielding" effect on the antenna would be high. There was a noticable improvement in WiFi perfomance (as you would expect) when the WiFi module was released form the case ad in "free space". Promising!I looked at relocation of the Wifi module but there is no real "clear space" that would give a major improvement. I did extend the wiring and move it to the opposite side (from the camera) with the antenna outermost.I shall mod to an external antenna at a later stage. The wifi pcb looks like it takes a coax connector (U.FL or similar) nicely and the case should accommodate a RPSMA connector OK. A pigtail coax between the 2 should do the job. These are relatively easy to obtain.Then any standard RP-SMA 2.4GHz antenna can be used.'til next time....
  • chofo likes this

#6 mechaxx

mechaxx

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 24 September 2010 - 09:37 AM

i tried to use the cameras usb for connecting a "normal" port, but it doesnt work, the same at wlan usb connection
  • chofo likes this

#7 yomike

yomike

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts

Posted 24 September 2010 - 05:06 PM

[quote name='mechaxx;64273]i tried to use the cameras usb for connecting a "normal" port' date=' but it doesnt work, the same at wlan usb connection[/QUOTE'] Those ports seem to be only livened up when the software is active, ie. need camera software running for camera port to be livened up and likewise with WiFi.Could try sourcing +5v for usb that is always on elsewhere on the board . This may work.
  • chofo likes this

#8 Roger Calver

Roger Calver

    Firmware Dev

  • Global Moderators
  • 2,737 posts
  • LocationUK

Posted 30 September 2010 - 01:23 PM

Does anyone know the wiring on the 30pin socket ? and is there any pictures of the inside of the unit ?

#9 yomike

yomike

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts

Posted 01 October 2010 - 01:57 AM

I'll take some photos next time I have it open (probably for Wifi mod) and I'll see what I can do re pinouts of 30 pin. Waiting on a breakout board to assist with this.

#10 SeriousUser

SeriousUser

    Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts

Posted 03 October 2010 - 02:05 AM

[quote name='yomike;64066]Well' date=' I achieved the dismantling.After foil removal, I had 15 screws to remove on my M002 version 4.All but the top plastic surround with the camera in the centre came out easily.The camera/wifi units had been glued and I managed to snap the plastic insert at the camera aperture getting this one off.1 further screw to remove the "motherboard".Observations:The camera is a usb device based on the Etrontech eSP268.I believe this uses the host usb port that can be accessed on the M001 with the rewiring of the 30 pin connector, which does not appear to be the case with the 002.The mic is located inboard and perpendicular to, the mic hole on the bottom edge and sits behind the reset switch which is accessible thru the small "M/R" hole. One mod I will consider is a hole in the face of the 002 above the mic to improve its performance as currently the mic performance is poor and low level. A more direct route for the sound to travel to the mic should help.The positioning of the WiFi unit is poor, so the poor WiFi performance is understandable. With it located up against the metal back of the screen and in close proximity to the camera PCB, the "shielding" effect on the antenna would be high. There was a noticable improvement in WiFi perfomance (as you would expect) when the WiFi module was released form the case ad in "free space". Promising!I looked at relocation of the Wifi module but there is no real "clear space" that would give a major improvement. I did extend the wiring and move it to the opposite side (from the camera) with the antenna outermost.I shall mod to an external antenna at a later stage. The wifi pcb looks like it takes a coax connector (U.FL or similar) nicely and the case should accommodate a RPSMA connector OK. A pigtail coax between the 2 should do the job. These are relatively easy to obtain.Then any standard RP-SMA 2.4GHz antenna can be used.'til next time....[/QUOTE'] Does anybody know the actual WiFi chip in the M002?Let me share what I have learned.On my M002 when using a terminal at root I found at /etc/Wireless/RT2870STA/, a configuration file RT2870STA.dat. According to the Ralink web site, this seems to be the configuration file for a RT2870 Wireless Lan Linux Driver that supports a "Ralink 802.11n Wireless LAN Card". In the Description section of the documentation for this driver, it says "This is a linux device driver for Ralink RT2870 USB ABGN WLAN Card." So I assume that this LAN chip can connect to a WiFi a/b/g/n AP. In an Ubuntu forum I have read that these Ralink chips like the b/g APs best. Indeed it connects just fine when I set my router to connect at 802.11 b/g only. When I connect to my WiFi Wireless Router in full mixed mode (802.11 b+g+n), I have seen speeds up to 60Mbps using the Android "WiFi Analyser" app, although the channel connected to and the speed varies from time to time. So I suspect that this card may in fact be a 802.11n chip.Eken's Official ROM for the M002 has thisconfiguration file almost identical to the one Ralink provides in its documentation. EKEN's configuration file has the SSID entered as "11n-AP", the CountryRegion as 5 (use Channel 1 through 14), the CountryRegionABand as 7 (use 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, 56, 60, 64, 100, 104, 108, 112, 116, 120, 124, 128, 132, 136, 140, 149, 153, 157, 161, 165Channel), the TxPreamble as 0 (Preamble Long) , the WmmmCapable as 1 (Enable WMM)AuthMode as OPEN, and EncrypType as NONE. These settings seem to indicate that the driver is set by default to use an open network with no encryption. But I have found that when I connect to an Access Point in my home with WPA2PSK security and AES encryption, the M002 will connect just fine after I enter the passphrase into the M002. I find that I need to be less than about 10 feet (about 3 meters) from the wireless access point in order to connect.I have actually set all my router values in the RT2870STA.dat file and tried to connect to my router that way. Things worked out pretty well most of the time.Then after Eken released version 2.0, I found that connecting with an original configuration file worked just as well. So now I don't touch the configuration file.Two questions I have: (1) Do you know the actual WiFi chip that is in the M002? (What was printed on the WiFi chip?)(2) Do you know if this chip has one antennea or two antennas on it? Is it MIMO or just a single antenna. I wonder if from the outside of a chip if you can tell?Thanks for fielding these questions.

#11 yomike

yomike

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts

Posted 03 October 2010 - 04:24 PM

The chip (as printed on the chip) in my M002 v4 is a Ralink RT3070L.The board is a Azurewave AW-NU129.The antenna is a pcb antenna, not a chip antenna. I have the device open and from what I can tell it is a single antenna. I'm guessing it'll be some variant of an inverted F or similar with matching section.There is a pad arrangement on the pcb which could be the attachment for the 2nd (receive diversity) antenna(?)I intend to "install" an external antenna so if I come up with anymore useful info I'll post.

#12 okner

okner

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 06 October 2010 - 09:33 PM

@ yomikeThanks for your work. Any news about a modified WLan? Itīs not poor, itīs not useable. :-(((((hand Jürgen

#13 yomike

yomike

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts

Posted 07 October 2010 - 01:13 AM

See http://http://www.sl...-connector.html

#14 Intri

Intri

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 119 posts

Posted 19 November 2010 - 12:11 PM

[quote name='mechaxx;63719]i disassembled it. at first you must remove the foil on the display very carefully' date=' its applied withe glue. then there are 8? screws. itīs very simply, i changed my speaker a few weeks ago.[/QUOTE'] What foil, pls? I have only usual screen protection foil applied and under it the device seems pretty solid. Is the silverish frame around the screen itself the foil youre refering to, please? My touch layer is broken and since replacement costs only about 12 US bucks on Pandawill, I dont see a reason not to try to swap it with a new layer. Want to avoid unnecessary damage, though, and I would love to keep its cool look after I put it back together.:)

#15 mammlouk

mammlouk

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 291 posts

Posted 19 November 2010 - 02:42 PM

Depending on when the device was manufactured you may have a plastic bezel on top or a sheet of thin plastic. If you have a sort of beveled silver edge going down the the screen it is the plastic bezel. Just carefully slide something under the edge of it (easiest to do by the screen) and gently pry it off. This will expose the screws for dissassembling the device. If you have the type where it's a plastic/film layer over the enitre top that seamlessly covers the screen then go at it from the outer edge of the device. The film is very thin so don't shove anything deep into the case or you will break the plastic where the screws are when you pry.

#16 zires

zires

    Advanced Member

  • Hero Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 232 posts
  • LocationBethel, CT

Posted 19 November 2010 - 02:45 PM

Is there a teardown vid somewhere or pics?

#17 mammlouk

mammlouk

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 291 posts

Posted 19 November 2010 - 03:49 PM

There are some pics here:http://www.slatedroi...nal-photos.htmlI have some too, but they are pretty bad because my lighting sucked at the time.

#18 Intri

Intri

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 119 posts

Posted 19 November 2010 - 05:38 PM

Thats what I was looking for. Excellent, thank you very much. Feel free to post your own, though, no matter the quality. Always better to have something instead of nothing.

#19 ninmaster

ninmaster

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 26 November 2010 - 11:05 PM

does anyone happen to know what the max size for ram is in this particular unit?

#20 15msohns

15msohns

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 28 August 2011 - 09:29 AM

Hey I am new to slate droid I have a question. my eken m002 won't turn on I have charged it and then when I go to turn it on the blue light goes on for a second and then goes off and the screen stays black. can anybody help me?