Jump to content


Photo

3G Modem support on Android Tablets


  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 zwakstroom

zwakstroom

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 25 August 2010 - 06:03 AM

Hi Guys,I have a Rockchip APad Android 1.5 and a Haipad Telechip Android 2.1 device. The devices run great but one thing i'm really bothered about is the advertising with 3G support.I know a few things:- It hasn't got a 3G sim slot so that's not gonna work- It should work via USBSo i have 2 3G USB modems a Huwei E220 and E1550. The E220 is very common i would expect it to work.But when i connect my modem, with the _right_ usb slot, it doesn't do anything.Should it give me a message when connecting a 3G modem?I tried adding APN's but no luck, it won't save and has to do something with the device not working.If someone knows something about it, maybe it would be nice to start a thread with supported 3G modems on which devices.Any help would be appreciated.

#2 Steep

Steep

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 251 posts

Posted 25 August 2010 - 06:45 AM

To my knowledge none of them support 3g as yet, certainly not for Europe.

#3 zwakstroom

zwakstroom

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 25 August 2010 - 07:44 AM

Hmmm that sucks, they advertise a lot with it. Strange.... even the newer Telechip doesn't have support for some europe modems?Best way would be MiFi then.....

#4 clone987

clone987

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 18 September 2010 - 04:58 PM

My android tablet works with the Huawei E220. I just entered a name for the connection, number to dial is *99# and then the APN would depend on what network you will be using

#5 zwakstroom

zwakstroom

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 19 September 2010 - 03:04 AM

What tablet do you have? And how do you make a connection? Does it recognise the device when you plug it in?Isn't the wrong MNC / MCC a problem when you enter the APN? When i change it to another MNC / MCC it doesn't save...

#6 Handypaule

Handypaule

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 87 posts

Posted 24 September 2010 - 06:00 PM

[quote name='clone987;60313]My android tablet works with the Huawei E220. I just entered a name for the connection' date=' number to dial is *99# and then the APN would depend on what network you will be using[/QUOTE'] super thank you this number is correct

#7 kinetic

kinetic

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 16 October 2010 - 03:07 PM

Hi guys !Clone987 said that he just entered the number to dial.. I have an apad (new telechip 8092) and an 3G Huawei E1550. The apad recognises the usb since the usb turns it's blue light permanent and the 3G icon appears on my android 2.1 top menu bar...so I guess that is recognising it.Anyway when I try to configure the APN I don't find any place to insert the number. I guess that's the problem that's keeping me from connecto to the internet . On my laptop I always have to connect to that number.Can you guys give me some help on this ?Thanks alot !Best Regards.

#8 slatis

slatis

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 30 posts

Posted 17 October 2010 - 12:30 PM

Yeah can you give us some help here plz, we really need help with this issue :(

#9 darrenab

darrenab

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 20 October 2010 - 09:32 PM

Please help..

#10 aero7373

aero7373

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 69 posts

Posted 20 October 2010 - 09:52 PM

The rockchips you might be better off using the adhocable to connect via WIFI to your 3G phone. The haipad device you have probably just needs the firmware updated (assuming it's M701). Grab the latest manufacturer M701 firmware from haipad.net and update it. That firmware when CHINA telecom is selected seems to work out of the box with most HUAWEI modems. At least for 3G in Australia anyway (except telstra). The modems that work out of the box on that latest M701 firmware are listed here: Supported 3G Modemsif you confirm the E1550 works please let me know so I can add it to the list.Here's a link to a thread over on the aus forum which details the adhocable and wifi setup. Some is just a repost from here and original credit remains with the adhocable developer (please donate to him if you use). There are two links there to V2 and V3 rogerbraun based firmwares which I repackaged with the adhocable and associated files already installed so you don't need to play around with adb etc to get adhoc wifi to work. All you need is to update the firmware using those images depending on whether or device is v2 or v3. Please note that these are NOT the blue LED compatible ones. Please do not use unless you confirm your rockchips device is compatible. I accept no responsibility for device bricking if you mess up the firmware update however those two images have been tested and I use them regularly on my v2 and v3 red LED based rockchips tablets. http://apads.com.au/...x.php?topic=4.0 Cheers.

#11 ocatapano

ocatapano

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 25 October 2010 - 09:28 PM

I tried it on my tablet and it works.Tablet description: 1) Apad iRobot 2) 7" screen 3) Aluminum back with oval "iRobot" logo 4) 9V charger/power adaptor/power supply 5) Red Led 6) build number RK-1.3.2.eng.root.20100729.130751 7) Batch V3Modem description: Huawei E226Line description: Movistar VenezuelaIt has no balance, the modem I had it saved for 1 year without use, but recognizes the network perfectly.I cant post link but look for "Apad Rockchip modem 3G" at youtubeExcuse my English but use google translate

#12 mdarscott

mdarscott

    Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPip
  • 27 posts

Posted 27 October 2010 - 12:03 PM

This site is advertising a 7" Apad Android 2.1 with a tantalizing statement about 3G support:7" Apad Pro Android 2.1 OS WiFi 3G 3G Games PDA Tablet PC_Apad_Computer_China Mobile Phones - Wholesale Cell Phones - Mobiles Phones - Cell Phones - Cheap Cell Phone Accessories Supplier - wholesale Cheap Mobile PhonesIn the specifications it says:

WiFi (Capable of 3G but only supports specific modems which unfortunately are not available in US as of yet, all modems 3G dongles in US are not supported due to driver issues however we are working on it and will be stocking a compatible 3G modem in future).

So ... maybe a 3G modem with Android driver support ... cross your fingers.

#13 mahendra

mahendra

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 21 June 2011 - 01:31 AM

Hello,

I have got new Acer Iconia Tab A500 and i want to access the internet using the huawei umg1831 USB data card.
Will someone please let us know how can i install drive and can configure this device.

Regards
MAhendra

#14 TrevorJi

TrevorJi

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 23 September 2011 - 10:20 AM

I have a different problem, my tablet is an ARM CortexTM-A8 MID. It is supposed to support 3g and I have a Huawei e220 usb dongle. The problem is that I have no 3g option in settings/wireless & networks. USB drive is fine for other sticks and the 3g dongle was sold as android compatible. Any ideas please?

#15 samk7861

samk7861

    Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts

Posted 03 October 2011 - 12:22 PM

I am trying to connect Huawei E1731 USB 3G Modem to my JY-8006 android 2.3 but all i keep getting is Damaged SCSI (SDA) need to reformat. Any ideas what i can do? need your help

#16 matthewue

matthewue

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 07 October 2011 - 12:56 PM

hello,
i have small question;
i have usb sticker option icon 225 from my mobile operator orange;
and i have a tablet - dropad a8i - something like ipad;

there is an android operation system, and i can't install my usb icon 225 on this tablet;

please, have you got drivers to android system ?? where can i find it ? thank you for you answer.

#17 BUYaDROID

BUYaDROID

    Advanced Member

  • SlateDroid Business Sellers
  • PipPipPip
  • 144 posts

Posted 07 October 2011 - 01:50 PM

Okay this is documented on this site somewhere. I cannot find the thread for it atm.

1. The Huawei E1750 seems to be the most compatible usb modem(i.e. many firmwares have the driver for this unit)

2. Turn of the USB hard drive support and the SD Card reader. So it functions only as a serial modem.(yes usb is serial)

2.1 you need to run the command "AT ^ U2DIAG = 0 " against the device from with in hyper terminal on winxp. (win 7 and vista does not have hyper terminal)

3. Connect the device to the tablet.

3.1 You may need to rename phone.apk (if it has been renamed, this is usaually done to save battery life)

4. Get an app called apnmanager. Create the APN for your network.

5. get an app called quick settings.

5.1 Turn OFF wifi.
5.2 Turn on 3G. Wait for a while until it connects. YOu might see a 3G icon appear on the screen.

6. Use logcat app to read and errors.
BUYaDROID™ is a Slatedroid SBS approved seller

Our website is located at www.BUYaDROID.blogspot.com

Look for us in Small Business Sellers Section of Slatedroid

#18 johnhellis

johnhellis

    Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts
  • LocationSomerset - UK

Posted 25 October 2011 - 10:00 AM

I have a Meiying M11+ and a ZTE HSDPA USB modem model MF626

When I plug the USB modem into my tab the modem LED lights RED, after a short time it goes solid BLUE a short time later it changes to FLASHING BLUE (this is the same as when it is used on a Windows PC).

The ROAMING symbol appears in the notification area.

My service suppliers name (T Mobile) appears in Access Point Names.

A short time later I am on line.

Yeah, the M11+ Rocks

John

#19 ffarhan.s

ffarhan.s

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 03 November 2011 - 04:31 AM

Hi Guys,I have a Rockchip APad Android 1.5 and a Haipad Telechip Android 2.1 device. The devices run great but one thing i'm really bothered about is the advertising with 3G support.I know a few things:- It hasn't got a 3G sim slot so that's not gonna work- It should work via USBSo i have 2 3G USB modems a Huwei E220 and E1550. The E220 is very common i would expect it to work.But when i connect my modem, with the _right_ usb slot, it doesn't do anything.Should it give me a message when connecting a 3G modem?I tried adding APN's but no luck, it won't save and has to do something with the device not working.If someone knows something about it, maybe it would be nice to start a thread with supported 3G modems on which devices.Any help would be appreciated.



3G Setup guide, provided by Iball slide tablet, Hope it will be useful for you

http://iballslide.com/#support

#20 mshah

mshah

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 15 November 2011 - 07:44 PM

Perhaps it has something to do with the android firmware settings or "driver?". Coz my Zenithink zt-280 E72 can detect 3g modem when I upgrade to Android 2.3 (Gingerbread) but when I downgrade back to Android 2.3 (Froyo), it cannot detect 3g modem anymore. When I attached the USB 3g modem to the tablet (in froyo), the notification will stay "Checking error" or something like that.. But not in gingerbread