Jump to content


Photo

ATM7029: an ARM Cortex A9 or A5?


  • Please log in to reply
99 replies to this topic

#81 Tzul

Tzul

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 429 posts

Posted 21 May 2013 - 11:32 AM

ATM7029 is ARM Cortex A5 SoC, it's 99% becouse on the site of Actions there is

- Supporting VFP v4(Vector Floating Point v4) architecture and compliant with the IEEE 754 standard for floating-point calculation
( http://www.actions-s...x?cat=98&id=108 )
And Cortex A9 can have ONLY VFPv3, then Cortex A5 can have VFPv4, but in allmos all devices it hav VFPv3
http://www.arm.com/p...a/cortex-a5.php

We have discussed that fact back on page 1 already.

Edited by Tzul, 21 May 2013 - 11:32 AM.


#82 MatiDestinado

MatiDestinado

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 24 May 2013 - 08:19 AM

Hi my friend, i was looking information because i want to buy my first tablet, and i found this forum.
My problem is that i cannot decide between...

Ainol Novo 10 Hero:

Brand Ainol
Model NOVO 10 Hero
Product Type Tablet PC
Screen Size 10.1'
Screen Material IPS
Operating System Android 4.1.1
Processor Type/CPU Type Cortex-A9
CPU Manufacturer Amlogic
CPU Model M6
CPU Speed/Processor Clock Speed 1.5GHz
GPU Mail-400
RAM/ Technology DDR3
RAM Memory 1GB
Hard Drive Capacity 16GB
Extend Card Up to 32GB TF card
Keyboard Touch virtual keyboard
Touchpad Technology 10-point capacitive touch screen
Max Resolution 1280x800

or the Ainol Novo Hero 2:

Brand Ainol
Model Hero2 quad core
Product Type Tablet PC
Screen Size 10.1"
Operating System Android 4.1.1
Processor Type/CPU Type Cortex A9
CPU Manufacturer ATM
CPU Model 7029
CPU Speed/Processor Clock Speed Clock at 1.5GHz (1.5GHz x 4)
RAM/ Technology DDR III
RAM Memory 1GB
GPU GC2000 quad-core
Hard Drive Type NAND Fast Flash
Hard Drive Capacity 16GB
Extend Card Supports an external TF card up to 32GB (not included)
Keyboard Touch Screen
Touchpad Technology 10-point capacitive touch screen
Max Resolution 1280x800

I read this topic, and i cannot understand the diference between both processor.
Ainol Novo 10 Hero have Cortex-A9 (Amlogic M6) from Amlogic and GPU Mail-400.
But the Ainol Novo Hero 2 have Cortex- A9 (ATM7029 chip) with GPU GC2000 quad-core.

Can you help me to decide which to buy based on the better performance option?

Thanks in Advance!

Matias.

#83 F&LSuperstore

F&LSuperstore

    Advanced Member

  • Authorized Business Seller (ABS)
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,026 posts
  • LocationTampa Bay, FL

Posted 24 May 2013 - 06:52 PM

The first hero is better. Plus you have more OS options.

The quad-core cortex A9 on the Hero II is a lie. Which is what this thread is here questioning the ATM7029 Actions chips that sellers advertise as A9 but they aren't.

Edited by F&LSuperstore, 24 May 2013 - 06:55 PM.

Posted Image
Frank, President
F&L Superstore - www.flsuperstore.com
email: frank@flsuperstore.com
blog: flsuperstore.wordpress.com
MSN: flsuperstore@gmail.com

#84 Tzul

Tzul

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 429 posts

Posted 30 May 2013 - 11:09 AM

One more piece of evidence:

Actions writes on their ATM7029 website that it has an "In-order pipeline with dynamic branch prediction equipped".
Well, a Cortex-A9 has a superior out-of-order pipeline, says ARM.

So if anybody still believes that the ATM7029 could be an A9 with a unique VFPv4 upgrade: forget it.
It'd be ridiculous to think that Actions downgraded the pipeline to a slower in-order design.

The Cortex-A5 on the other hand does have an in-order pipeline.

Edited by Tzul, 30 May 2013 - 06:31 PM.


#85 josheh

josheh

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 05 June 2013 - 07:29 AM

Hi guys.. just curious ive been reading these boards and just ordered a product called an ramos w31..

Few questions here.

1. Why is there more talk about the w17 and other models ? Barely see w31 talk here.
2. It says its a quad core arm cpu with mali 400... according to this site thats impossible ? Some sites show it.
3. Heres the ########### link - http://youtu.be/pdz5...984.m1439.l2649

Help thanks !!!

#86 insomniacno1

insomniacno1

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 37 posts

Posted 14 June 2013 - 10:35 PM

Hi guys, I have an Cherry Mobile Fusion Bolt - rebranded Ainol novo 7 Venus/Myth witht he infamous CPU which is suppose to be A9 quadcore 1Ghz. I like to really find out which one its is because on the package it clearly staes A9, so if not then Cherry Mobile/Ainol lied and that will have serious consequences for them here in the Philippines.

So which tests can I run to find out?

with kind regards

JBJ

#87 mgforce

mgforce

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 49 posts

Posted 15 June 2013 - 03:03 AM

Hi guys, I have an Cherry Mobile Fusion Bolt - rebranded Ainol novo 7 Venus/Myth witht he infamous CPU which is suppose to be A9 quadcore 1Ghz. I like to really find out which one its is because on the package it clearly staes A9, so if not then Cherry Mobile/Ainol lied and that will have serious consequences for them here in the Philippines.

So which tests can I run to find out?

with kind regards

JBJ

Best test is to open it & see for yourself....Its very easy, opening from sides. I did & found my has 7025, I have AINOL novo 7 Venus...The question is does A9 means its should have 7029? & is 7025 a A5 chip? A5 & A9 are more of architecture specifications...

Edited by mgforce, 15 June 2013 - 03:38 AM.


#88 Tzul

Tzul

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 429 posts

Posted 17 June 2013 - 08:41 AM

Hi guys.. just curious ive been reading these boards and just ordered a product called an ramos w31..

1. Why is there more talk about the w17 and other models ? Barely see w31 talk here.
2. It says its a quad core arm cpu with mali 400... according to this site thats impossible ? Some sites show it.


1. Perhaps because not many people have bought those models, or because there aren't dedicated forums for them here on SlateDroid. Edit: quite a few W17 topics here.
2. The Ramos W17 Pro uses an Amlogic AML8726-MX, just like Ainol's previous models. That's a true Cortex-A9 dual core (up to 1.5 GHz) with Mali-400 MP2 (dual core) graphics.
The Ramos W31 seems to use the Actions ATM7029, like Ainol's current models. As discussed in this topic here, that's not an A9, but a Cortex-A5 quad core (up to 1.3 GHz) with Vivante GC1000 graphics.
Edit: just noticed that the latest version 3 of the W17 also uses an ATM7029. How confusing. That model obviously won't have an A9 CPU and Mali-400 GPU, but an A5 CPU and GC1000 GPU.


Hi guys, I have an Cherry Mobile Fusion Bolt - rebranded Ainol novo 7 Venus/Myth witht he infamous CPU which is suppose to be A9 quadcore 1Ghz. I like to really find out which one its is because on the package it clearly staes A9, so if not then Cherry Mobile/Ainol lied and that will have serious consequences for them here in the Philippines.

So which tests can I run to find out?

Yes, there should be consequences for all those that lie to us customers. Does your box say "A9 family" or just "A9"?
Read this topic. Just for you, a quick summary:

  • Open the text file /proc/cpuinfo on your tablet. No root required, just a terminal or ADB shell or file manager such as ES file explorer.
  • Take a look at the "Features" that are listed. If "vfpv4" is among them, it is not a Cortex-A9 (they only have vfpv3).
  • Take a look at the "CPU part" ID. Cortex-A9 has "0xc09", Cortex-A5 has "0xc05". If the "CPU part" line is missing in cpuinfo, then that's suspicious (firmware maker wants to hide something).
  • Run the "Metal" part of the Vellamo benchmark. At CPU frequencies around 1-1.2 GHz, a Cortex-A5 should get a Metal score of about 200-300 whereas a Cortex-A9 should get 500-600. Number of CPU cores doesn't matter as Vellamo Metal seems to always use just one core.



Best test is to open it & see for yourself....Its very easy, opening from sides. I did & found my has 7025, I have AINOL novo 7 Venus...The question is does A9 means its should have 7029? & is 7025 a A5 chip? A5 & A9 are more of architecture specifications...

No, 7029 does not mean A9 just because it ends with a 9. The ATM7025 is not listed on Actions' website. According to all we know, it appears to be a identical to the ATM7029 except that it doesn't support higher CPU frequencies. So you could say that ATM7025 = ATM7029 lite. Both have a Cortex-A5 quad core CPU. See this thread.

Edited by Tzul, 17 June 2013 - 08:54 AM.


#89 emportal

emportal

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 09 July 2013 - 01:01 AM

How can they get away with calling it an A9 when from all accounts it's not?

#90 Tzul

Tzul

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 429 posts

Posted 13 July 2013 - 08:39 AM

Very good question. Apparently not too many people care. Chinese tablet manufacturers have always exaggerated their specs, but this is a new low.

Note that Actions doesn't call the CPU a Cortex-A9, but "A9 family" (if they manage to spell it properly). That way, they might be on the safe side legally and still be able to fool customers.
  • christiandior likes this

#91 christiandior

christiandior

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 07 August 2013 - 07:21 AM

Registered because I saw this topic. I have a Cherry Mobile Fusion Fire which is a rebranded Ainol Novo Hero II from the Cherry Mobile(CM)company in the Philippines. I am very disappointed with the tablet's slow performance compared to my android phone w/ a MTK6589 CPU and it only has 680+mb RAM available on it. They also advertised it here as a "ARM CORTEX-A9" quad core processor here.

Is this really a case of false advertising? If so, I will demand for a refund. If they won't allow, I will take legal action. What do you guys think?

FYI, the touch screen of my Hero 2/CM Fusion Fire became unresponsive after just barely 2 weeks of using it. -> all the more I should go and complain about the tablet.

#92 Tzul

Tzul

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 429 posts

Posted 11 August 2013 - 08:31 AM

Is this really a case of false advertising? If so, I will demand for a refund. If they won't allow, I will take legal action. What do you guys think?


I'd say it is false advertising, but I'm not a lawyer.
Is this the Cherry Mobile packaging? The prominent "A9 Quad core" logo is really audacious.
Most dealers probably copy & paste the manufacturer's info without thinking about it, so they're not entirely to blame. But I also wouldn't call them innocent - they should care about what exactly it is they're selling.

#93 christiandior

christiandior

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 12 August 2013 - 12:32 PM

I'd say it is false advertising, but I'm not a lawyer.
Is this the Cherry Mobile packaging? The prominent "A9 Quad core" logo is really audacious.
Most dealers probably copy & paste the manufacturer's info without thinking about it, so they're not entirely to blame. But I also wouldn't call them innocent - they should care about what exactly it is they're selling.


Yes, that is the unit. "ARM Cortex A9" is also printed on the unit's advertisement sticker here in this picture. So from what you're saying, I think that wraps it up. They are liable for their products. Anyway, I expected more from this tablet. My intended purpose was to read ebooks/pdfs with the Hero 2, but even for that task, it is painfully slow. My 1st gen Ipad can even outperform the hero 2 in this in terms of ease of use.

Edited by christiandior, 12 August 2013 - 12:40 PM.


#94 Jorge Moreira

Jorge Moreira

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 07 November 2013 - 12:07 PM

In accordance with the builder is a cortex A9 family.

http://www.actions-s...x?cat=98&id=108

Edited by Jorge Moreira, 07 November 2013 - 12:08 PM.


#95 krogoth

krogoth

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 31 January 2014 - 04:29 AM

Please stop the Mali400 love. It have been noticed a long time ago that Mali400 is reducing bpp in 3d mode to double performance. According to eternity team this bpp hack can be inplemented on other gpus. For example Tegra 3 with bpp hack have doubled performance and is outclassing most newer and more powerfull chips :) Since the kernel source was relased, maybe we should find someone to integrate same hack to 7029. Sent from my HTC One X using Tapatalk

#96 wizardofid

wizardofid

    Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts

Posted 04 February 2014 - 01:31 AM

Same thing with the aoson M723 also, specs is given as a A9, CPU info shows otherwise. Is the A7 any better ?

 

Screenshot_2014_02_03_16_22_32.jpg



#97 JonnyDeath

JonnyDeath

    Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts

Posted 04 February 2014 - 01:22 PM

To shed some light on how they get away with it.

To pursue a foreign business for false advertising, you must do so under Maritime law in the jurisdiction of a regional court. By which, you must site the UCC they are in violation of that is endorsed by the international trade agreement between your nation and the homeland of the company in question.

 

Obviously 99% of people wouldn't know where to start when it comes to reporting a company and pursing a suit under international law. 
Because Barack Lombada has opened up the flood gates for China to overtake our economy, you can guarantee the FTC has been given orders to stand down in regard to holding companies accountable.
As it is, we all see the junk that has slowly surfaced over the last 5 years.

I can open up a mouse I bought 3 years ago identical to one bought this year and out of the same plant to see in the new:
wire as thing as hair

no more sockets

no screws holding the PCB in place

less PCB mass and layers

Sloppy SMD placement, grain high led content solder 

etc. etc. etc.

All that aside I wouldn't buy another ATM device over the $100 mark.

I'm happy with my ATM7029 but this has been a really informative thread.
When I get a new device, it will definitely have a Rockchip instead which I am shopping for at this very moment.

According to any app I use that scans my Ainol Eternal, it has a Mali 400 which this thread seemed to indicate could not be the case?
Maybe I'm mistaken as I am not up to speed and competent in this subject matter.

I'm an electronic engineering major so grasp it better than most but the configurations of these devices, kernel languages etc. are not within my current knowledge.

Anyway, for $165 shipped with every option outside built in 3G I think it was worth the price.

My games run great for the unit being a 3 legged dog by most accounts.

I'm glad I went back over this though.

 

I was already leaning towards the Rockchip models but because I was happy with the ATM, had a bunch of those saved in my shopping list too!
They've now been deleted. 



#98 Nickos-V

Nickos-V

    Advanced Member

  • Hero Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 2,047 posts

Posted 04 February 2014 - 05:48 PM

Same thing with the aoson M723 also, specs is given as a A9, CPU info shows otherwise. Is the A7 any better ?

 

Screenshot_2014_02_03_16_22_32.jpg

Aoson M723 has ATM7029 chip.  All ATM7029 chips are Cortex A5.

 

CPU info app above appears to be missing CPU part & CPU revision info.  You need to look at CPU part to see chip type.  0xc09=Cortex A9, 0xc05=Cortex A5, 0xc07=Cortex A7, etc.

 

Maybe Actions Semi. hid CPU part for ATM7029?  Try with terminal.  cat /proc/cpuinfo to see what shows up for CPU part.  CPU part should show up after CPU variant.  See 1st post for info.



*MINIX NEO X5 (RK3066) - OK. Not fun because uses mouse cursor.
*YUANDAO N80 DUAL (RK3066) - Very good
*CUBE U30GT (RK3066)- Defective; buttons broke in 2-3 weeks; Bad quality control!!! I will never buy a Cube again!!! - Very good while working
*WOPAD I7 (RK2918)- About OK. Sluggish because has weaker ARM chip (RK2918) & less RAM (512 MB).

#99 wizardofid

wizardofid

    Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts

Posted 05 February 2014 - 12:06 AM

no that is from proc/cpuinfo, tried cpu-z and android system info cpu part is conveniently left out.CPU-z only shows 0xffffffff



#100 Tzul

Tzul

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 429 posts

Posted 28 February 2014 - 09:10 AM

Maybe Actions Semi. hid CPU part for ATM7029?

 

Yes, they modified their kernel sources. Hard to believe it's been a year already...

I'd be surprised to see any ATM7029 based tablet that still shows CPU part data in /proc/cpuinfo.


Edited by Tzul, 28 February 2014 - 09:11 AM.