Pipo Smart S1 Review

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 jmoeller

jmoeller

• Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 31 October 2012 - 02:48 PM

I have never written a review before, so please let me know if I am missing anything or if you have any questions...

Pipo Smart S1

Build quality - The S1 build quality is quite good. Everything "fits", no gaps between parts, no misfitting buttons, etc. The screen came with a screen protector applied but there were enough bubbles in it that I removed it. Without the screen protector it looks really good. There are only three buttons (power, vol up, and vol down). They feel a bit stiff but provide good feedback to know that they were pressed.

Screen - The screen is only 800 x 480 which is on the low end. However, the screen is pretty amazing. I had to double check the specs because the screen looks much better than other similar devices I have used (Ainol Tornado). Apart from the resolution, there is really nothing to complain about. It is bright and has a pretty wide viewing angle. The touch response is excellent.

Ports - The device has a headphone jack, micro USB, micro HDMI, charging port and a micro SD slot. It comes with an adapter from micro USB to standard USB. I connected a few flash drives with no problems. I don't have a supported USB modem to test. The device does not charge via micro USB. Rather it comes with another cable with USB on one end and a small round plug on the other. It does not come with a mini-HDMI to HDMI cable. I had one on hand and connected the tablet to my 23 inch monitor. It was immediately recognized and worked very well. The microSD slot is well placed and it is easy to get cards in and out.