Jump to content


Photo

List of Chinese Phones that work in the Americas (WCDMA 850/1900)


  • Please log in to reply
120 replies to this topic

#1 vanlon

vanlon

    Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts

Posted 04 October 2012 - 09:52 PM

I spent some time searching for a list of Chinese phones that will work in the Western Hemisphere, couldn't find it so lets start it. Most Chinese phones do not have 3G or WCDMA capabilities to work on 850/1900 frequencies, this is not to be confused with GSM frequencies.

This list is meant to help the smart shopper out. Please feel free to add phones that you have found. Please do not post phones that only work on 850mhz

Oppo Find
Oppo Finder
Xiaomi M2
Xiaomi M1

#2 Woodrow

Woodrow

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 29 October 2012 - 03:54 PM

I've been dealing with this recently.

To begin (or recap in case others don't know), most U.S phones work on GSM(2G EDGE) 850/1900. So, if you see on a site "Works on GSM 850/900/1800/1900 WCDMA 850/2100", this phone will work on your basic network, but will most likely NOT work for 3G unless it specifically shows WCDMA 850/1900. Go to http://maps.mobileworldlive.com/ to see what works where.

If you do NOT see both 850 and 1900, there's a good chance your phone won't take advantage of the 3G network on your SIM card. You'll be able to make phone calls, but don't expect data coverage.

Finding those sweet numbers however, can be an endless headache I'm finding out. For some reason, it all depends on the website. One website may list a Hero H2000+ MTK6577 phone as "WCDMA 850/1900" but another will just list it as "WCDMA 2100". I don't know if this is as per the phone, maybe they list what works in their area or maybe the same model phone has slightly different guts with the same model number. I've also seen that model numbers have different specs between chinese phones. A red crayon is not necessary a red crayon in China.

Some phones I have found during my search to get away from iTunes hell of my current iPhone 4.
(I am not affiliated with any reseller, so if I list a company I apologize if I infringe on any rules, this is where I saw what or who I personally dealt with)

A9300 Quad Band MTK6575 - I bought this from Chinabuye and confirmed it works with AT&T 3G. SIM card needs an adapter. This thing is like a tablet though. It has a 5.25" screen. However, there are different internal specs. They sent me a lesser MK6573 which looks identical and works, but now I am having to deal with terrible customer service. It was pretty much bait & switch, but the phone does work, albeit slow (the MT6573 650mhz I rec'd, not the 1.2Ghz I ordered).

The following are phones I am considering and have found (on different sites) compatible listings for 850/1900. There's more but I was looking for decent specs less than $200 and similar in size to the iPhone and possibly the Galaxy S3:

A9300 Quad Band MTK6575 - S3 look alike but 1" bigger
Star i5000 MTK6575 - nice looking iPhone 5 clone and what I'll probably get
Hero H2000+ MTK6577 - another iPhone 5 clone with various internal differences between models (my runner up)
Newman N1 MTK6577 - nice specs on a rounded edge phone
ThL W1 MTK6575
S9300 White MTK6577 - another S3 look alike
JIAYU G2 MT6577 - another i5 lookalike. There's a G3 version that is super sweet but still in pre-order/not widely available
ShangHe Aone 3G MT6575
Goophone I5 MTK6577 (there's different guts in these and no one stocks the $180 range one)

There were more phones that I had found, but again, not every website I came across had the same network specs for the same model number phone. Also some of the internal specs don't match up between websites. Either they go by manufacturer specs or actual specs. Some phones listed ROM space as 4gb but only had 500MB onboard space for apps? Others had the same specs but when it came to battery, one site listed 1200mAh (you'll need to charge often)while another listed 2050mAh for the same phone. Another thing I've run across is the Android version. Mine was listed as having Android 4.0.4 but was just a custom ROM running 2.3.6 that looked like Ice Cream Sandwich. Some of these sites offer an optional tf card but no one will tell me what Class it is. I bought a Class6 from CB and it ended up being an unmarked Class2 :/

Do your homework/research and good luck.

#3 BlueAardvark

BlueAardvark

    Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPip
  • 28 posts

Posted 08 November 2012 - 02:53 AM

Jiayu G2 2100 only.
Newman N1, hard to know with the confusion on all the different sites..... I'm suspecting 2100 only.
Hero H2000+ - the only ones I have come across have been 850/2100.
THL W1 - the W1+ is 850/2100 (I hope) and the russians seem to think that the W1 is too.

Figuring out what frequencies Chinese phones actually support is soooo confusing. If they say WCDMA 850/900/1900/2100 I do not believe it. It seems to generally mean 2100 only.

#4 cokesippa

cokesippa

    Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles

Posted 20 December 2012 - 02:39 PM

i took a chance and ordered this one
I7100 Smart Phone Android 4.1 MTK6577 Dual Core 1G RAM 3G GPS 5.3 Inch 8.0MP Camera

i don't have any experience ordering from pandawill so i found the exact same spec'd model on ########### http://r.###########.com/JDxitE
Network Support: GSM 850/900/1800/1900mHZ,3G WCDMA 850/1900/2100(IMT-2000)MHz
I live in southern california where t-mobile has been rolling out their 1900mhz network for unlocked iphones.
wish me luck, i'll report back when it arrives!
Cube U30GT-H
Ready to flash a new firmware

#5 turnip

turnip

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 55 posts

Posted 24 December 2012 - 01:16 AM

I've seen people with problems with the Jiayu g2 and newman N1 in the comments, saying that its not really 850/1900; this might mean jiayu g3 is also not 850/1900?:
http://www.gizchina....577-cpu-update/

Edited by turnip, 24 December 2012 - 04:39 AM.


#6 Brotherman38

Brotherman38

    Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts

Posted 07 January 2013 - 06:37 AM

i took a chance and ordered this one
I7100 Smart Phone Android 4.1 MTK6577 Dual Core 1G RAM 3G GPS 5.3 Inch 8.0MP Camera

i don't have any experience ordering from pandawill so i found the exact same spec'd model on ########### http://r.###########.com/JDxitE
Network Support: GSM 850/900/1800/1900mHZ,3G WCDMA 850/1900/2100(IMT-2000)MHz
I live in southern california where t-mobile has been rolling out their 1900mhz network for unlocked iphones.
wish me luck, i'll report back when it arrives!



I'm looking into this phone I7100 and the Changjiang N7300;

but its confusing because theres more than one brand manufacture of this phones;

Changjiang N7300 -> states support for WCDMA 850/1900/2100(IMT-2000)MHz
HDC N7300 -> supports only WCDMA 850/2100(IMT-2000)MHz

OEM I7100 -> supports WCDMA 850/1900/2100(IMT-2000)MHz, while i've seen others that only support WCDMA 2100(IMT-2000)MHz.

And these sellers make used car dealers proud :-(.

Let us know your finding and I'll do the same.

#7 turnip

turnip

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 55 posts

Posted 07 January 2013 - 10:46 PM

Most sites I've seen for the Changjiang N7300 show it as WCDMA 850/2100 only. Though this is interesting:

http://www.pandawill...gps-p70020.html
http://www.pandawill...13changjiang (3).jpg

Still I havent seen a single mtk6577 cpu phone that had the correct frequency, it might be impossible.

Edited by turnip, 07 January 2013 - 10:47 PM.


#8 Brotherman38

Brotherman38

    Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts

Posted 08 January 2013 - 04:13 AM

Most sites I've seen for the Changjiang N7300 show it as WCDMA 850/2100 only. Though this is interesting:

http://www.pandawill...gps-p70020.html
http://www.pandawill...13changjiang (3).jpg

Still I havent seen a single mtk6577 cpu phone that had the correct frequency, it might be impossible.


Looks like 2 different modals are out there for the n7300;

The HDC (OEM) n7300 shows just WCDMA 850/2100, but a original Changjiang N7300 shows support for WCDMA 850/1900/2100. Padawill was showing the difference between the 2, but I think they only have the HDC.

fastcardtech.com shows both modals with different specs.

#9 Brotherman38

Brotherman38

    Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts

Posted 15 January 2013 - 09:46 AM

i took a chance and ordered this one
I7100 Smart Phone Android 4.1 MTK6577 Dual Core 1G RAM 3G GPS 5.3 Inch 8.0MP Camera

i don't have any experience ordering from pandawill so i found the exact same spec'd model on ########### http://r.###########.com/JDxitE
Network Support: GSM 850/900/1800/1900mHZ,3G WCDMA 850/1900/2100(IMT-2000)MHz
I live in southern california where t-mobile has been rolling out their 1900mhz network for unlocked iphones.
wish me luck, i'll report back when it arrives!


Did you get the I7100 yet? whats the verdict on WCDMA 1900?

#10 asjohnston3

asjohnston3

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 71 posts
  • LocationIrving, TX

Posted 18 January 2013 - 03:35 AM

This is a subject that I'm greatly interested in. Ever since I saw a Galaxy note, I've been wanting a bigger screen. (I currently have a HTC EVO Design 4G) I spent 2 days on Aliexpress looking at SII and Note clones and felt like my brain had been thrown in a dryer. Iv'e been buying Chinese tablets for about a year and am pretty comfortable with them. (removing Chinese apps., flashing ROM's, ect...) I am seriously considering a 7" tablet as my next "phone". I know that would be huge, even compared to the Note... and you certainly wouldn't want to be seen holding one up to your head, but that's what Bluetooth headsets are for. There seem to be a LOT of Chinese 7" tablets that are designed specifically for this purpose. I'm currently looking at a Freelander PD10 3G. According to it's specs., it supports 3G WCDMA 850/1900/2100 and 2G GSM 900/1800. My current provider is Sprint which I think uses CDMA 1900. Will this tablet support voice and data??? I really don't know much about the frequency thing.... I find it pretty confusing... This is a dual sim card tab. If there's a good chance I could make this work as a phablet, I'd be willing to take a chance and try it.. Worst case,I'd still have another 7"tablet to play with....
http://www.aliexpres.../626617382.html
I'd really appreciate it if you guys could take a look at this and offer an opinion....
You can't reach old age by another man's road. My habits protect my life but they would assassinate you.
Mark Twain's 70th birthday speech, 1905

#11 Woodrow

Woodrow

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 18 January 2013 - 11:10 AM

I'm currently looking at a Freelander PD10 3G. According to it's specs., it supports 3G WCDMA 850/1900/2100 and 2G GSM 900/1800. My current provider is Sprint which I think uses CDMA 1900. Will this tablet support voice and data???


Looks like a nice tablet. Read the fine print, if any, when dealing through AliExpress. I've been deterred a few times when it got to shipping and there was fine print to call first or the order wouldn't be placed.

According to http://maps.mobileworldlive.com/, Sprint appears to use GSM 1900/ WCDMA 1900 so you might run into some problems with this tablet, then again you might not since Sprint uses 1900 for both bands. It depends on the coverage map and where you are when you decide to use it to make calls.

The tablet supports 3G (WCDMA) 1900, so you're covered for data usage and voice calls where 3G can be utilized. The only problem you would have is when the Tablet might need to switch to a GSM signal(standard cell phone only service). Since the tablet doesn't support GSM 1900, your call is going to drop and not be able to resume until you pick up 3G-1900 again.

If you were using AT&T you would also have the same problem. AT&T uses GSM 850/1900 and WCDMA 850/1900 frequencies. I could use it with data and 3G calls when available but it would drop calls if I was in a poor coverage, (GSM only) area.

Hope this helps. If you want full coverage, make sure both numbers (in your case Sprint) has 1900 in GSM & WCDMA. Freelander looks like it makes some decent products. Good luck

#12 Woodrow

Woodrow

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 18 January 2013 - 11:37 AM

I bought one of these before left for a trip to South America: http://www.bing.com/...RM=EGCA&lppc=16

It's a Star X26i MTK6575 1GHZ. At the time I bought it, most of the sites listed it as 2G: 850/900/1800/1900 and 3G 850/1900/2100 but this wasn't the case.

I bought this to bring to South America with me without taking my iPhone. Real cell phones in some places are like walking around with a bag of cash or that glowing short sword Bilbo had. As soon as you pull it out, everyone's eyes divert to it and you're a target. They sell knockoffs at every corner store where I was going so I figured this would fit right in.

It's a piece of *oops. There's a Sony with almost the same specs/look that I was hoping to get but this ain't it. The frequencies for one are correct for GSM but only 2100 for 3G, oddly enough it worked for my home AT&T, data and everything. The phone itself is plastic crap. It's not even a real cap screen. There's a plastic mesh overlay over glass that detects within a 1/4" space for your finger. In the texting world this is within 9 different letters. I finally put my finger through the screen literally pressing on it to text the correct digit.

Thought I'd share so no one else makes the same mistake. I've given up on Chinese phones for now. I'm back to a frankensteined iPhone

#13 Brotherman38

Brotherman38

    Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts

Posted 22 January 2013 - 10:58 AM

I bought one of these before left for a trip to South America: http://www.bing.com/...RM=EGCA&lppc=16

It's a Star X26i MTK6575 1GHZ. At the time I bought it, most of the sites listed it as 2G: 850/900/1800/1900 and 3G 850/1900/2100 but this wasn't the case.

I bought this to bring to South America with me without taking my iPhone. Real cell phones in some places are like walking around with a bag of cash or that glowing short sword Bilbo had. As soon as you pull it out, everyone's eyes divert to it and you're a target. They sell knockoffs at every corner store where I was going so I figured this would fit right in.

It's a piece of *oops. There's a Sony with almost the same specs/look that I was hoping to get but this ain't it. The frequencies for one are correct for GSM but only 2100 for 3G, oddly enough it worked for my home AT&T, data and everything. The phone itself is plastic crap. It's not even a real cap screen. There's a plastic mesh overlay over glass that detects within a 1/4" space for your finger. In the texting world this is within 9 different letters. I finally put my finger through the screen literally pressing on it to text the correct digit.

Thought I'd share so no one else makes the same mistake. I've given up on Chinese phones for now. I'm back to a frankensteined iPhone



If it works on AT&T 3G data it supports wcdma 850 freq. I think probably just supports wcdma 850/2100 frequency, i'm finding thats the case with most of these phones :-(.

I found a seller on dhgate who has a 99.3% positive feedback with over 3700 transaction over 4 years who states that the H7100 phone hes selling supports wcdma 3g: 850/1900/2100 bands.

http://www.dhgate.co...8dbd3162ae.html

#14 bahamas4ever

bahamas4ever

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 22 January 2013 - 08:21 PM

Im having the same issue in the bahamas we are using G3 850/1900 as well. i just bought a Star Note II/2 S7180 AKA Star Note II/2 S7100+ AKA UPIA N7100+ AKA UPIA N7100, that right there just shows you the problem in find the right 3g chinese phone. simply put the 3g didn't work, on the bright side i'm actually get free mobile internet but it is very very slow, which leaves me to believe that 850 is for data & 1900 for voice or something like that. when i put in the apn settings the E/H/G but mostly E comes up. if there is no apn enabled the signal doesn't show an EDGE/3G/HSPA icon. this leaves me to believe jiayu, zopo, & thl which all carry the 850/2100 band will not work so beware. also i purchased the phone from merrimoblies

#15 Brotherman38

Brotherman38

    Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts

Posted 30 January 2013 - 01:11 PM

I went ahead an ordered a Feiteng H7100 1GB, 5.3" screen and a CUBOT A8809 512MB 4.7" screen, they both suppose to work on 3G 850/1900/2100. I will report back when I receive them.

#16 salvy

salvy

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 01 February 2013 - 11:01 AM

Hello, I bought a Feiteng H7100, and I can confirm through Mobileuncle that it supports 1900, but so far I haven't been able to connect to 3G.
I live in southern California (Los Angeles) which I assumed T-Mobile had already refarmed 1900.

#17 Brotherman38

Brotherman38

    Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts

Posted 02 February 2013 - 08:51 PM

Hello, I bought a Feiteng H7100, and I can confirm through Mobileuncle that it supports 1900, but so far I haven't been able to connect to 3G.
I live in southern California (Los Angeles) which I assumed T-Mobile had already refarmed 1900.



Oh boy, I hope that's not the case because I just ordered one as well, did you look at the map to see if your area has it? here a link to the map you can zoom in;



http://airportal.de/

#18 salvy

salvy

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 04 February 2013 - 02:22 PM

Oh boy, I hope that's not the case because I just ordered one as well, did you look at the map to see if your area has it? here a link to the map you can zoom in;



http://airportal.de/


Yes, I checked the map and the closest place reported is about 5 blocks from my house(not sure how accurate is), so far I been in other cities near my hose I have yet to pick up any 3G from T-Mobile..
On the good side I can pick up 3G from ATT (haven't tried since I only have T-Mobile sim card, but Im tempted to get SimpleMobile ATT sim card to test, but yea it looks like 1900mhz hasn't been refarmed in my area.

Edited by salvy, 04 February 2013 - 02:23 PM.


#19 Brotherman38

Brotherman38

    Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts

Posted 05 February 2013 - 01:32 PM

Yes, I checked the map and the closest place reported is about 5 blocks from my house(not sure how accurate is), so far I been in other cities near my hose I have yet to pick up any 3G from T-Mobile..
On the good side I can pick up 3G from ATT (haven't tried since I only have T-Mobile sim card, but Im tempted to get SimpleMobile ATT sim card to test, but yea it looks like 1900mhz hasn't been refarmed in my area.


I got my H7100 yesterday, been testing it out, as of yet I haven't seen a T-Mobile 3g connection :-(. So far only edge, I just tested the phone with an AT&T sim card and I was able to get a 3g data connection with speeds of 2.6MB Down, 1.2MB UP (Atlanta-Alpharetta area). Either T-Mobile is LYING, or the phone doesn't really support 3g 1900! Who's lying that's the question.

I will try a couple more areas around the city (Atlanta area), and report back.

#20 salvy

salvy

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 05 February 2013 - 09:01 PM

I don't have any other phone that supports 1900 band to verify if there is really 3G from T-Mobile in my area.
Nice to hear you got 3G working with a ATT sim card, I ordered one from Net10 yesterday, looking forward getting out of EDGE :p

PS: ATT serves its 3G from both the 1900 and 850 band, it could be we are picking the signal from the 850 band?




7 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 7 guests, 0 anonymous users