Jump to content


Photo

How to make custom Firmware


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
26 replies to this topic

#1 valkoz

valkoz

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 411 posts

Posted 01 September 2012 - 08:43 PM

*******************************************************************
Topic closed.

See ONDA KITCHEN http://www.slatedroi...0-onda-kitchen/ instead.


******************************************************************

How to make custom Firmware

SEE ALSO topic FAQ CUSTOMIZING FIRMWARE http://www.slatedroi...re/#entry449731

It can make everyone!


To make custom firmware you need to download this stuff
https://docs.google....T21xMkR2VWF6MTQ
 
Troubleshooting: see here http://www.slatedroi...post__p__450241

Introduction to Firmware Structure

Spoiler


THE ONLY ONE THING YOU MUST TO KNOW about FIRMWARE FILES

Spoiler


1. Lets start

Spoiler


2. Changing LANGUAGE / TIME ZONE

Spoiler


2. Removing / Adding Applications

Spoiler


3. Just for FUN (boot animation & sound)

Spoiler


More will be added...

Edited by valkoz, 25 November 2012 - 02:00 AM.

don't want to argue - want to discuss

#2 jeff23ms

jeff23ms

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 97 posts

Posted 03 September 2012 - 06:18 AM

How to make custom Firmware

It can make everyone!


To make custom firmware you need to download this stuff
https://docs.google....T21xMkR2VWF6MTQ
 

Introduction to Firmware Structure

Spoiler


THE ONLY ONE THING YOU MUST TO KNOW about FIRMWARE FILES

Spoiler


1. Lets start

Spoiler


2. Changing LANGUAGE / TIME ZONE

Spoiler


2. Removing / Adding Applications

Spoiler


More will be added...


Thanks for this tutorial, do you know how we can change the Onda's stock recovery to ClockWorkMod 6.x?

#3 Nguyen Minh

Nguyen Minh

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 03 September 2012 - 07:46 AM

Hi Jeff23ms,
Follow your instruction, I mode success FW (delete chinese app, change build.prop). Although I don't know how to fix youtube, could you help me how to mode to youtube working?
Thanks very much.

#4 valkoz

valkoz

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 411 posts

Posted 03 September 2012 - 05:01 PM

Hi Jeff23ms,
Follow your instruction, I mode success FW (delete chinese app, change build.prop). Although I don't know how to fix youtube, could you help me how to mode to youtube working?
Thanks very much.


Hi Minh,

use these - they work for me

YouTube https://play.google....android.youtube

TubeMate http://m.tubemate.net/

If youtube can't start - check file system/etc/hosts

Remove all and write

127.0.0.1 localhost

only

Connor

don't want to argue - want to discuss

#5 valkoz

valkoz

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 411 posts

Posted 03 September 2012 - 05:05 PM

Thanks for this tutorial, do you know how we can change the Onda's stock recovery to ClockWorkMod 6.x?


Check here

http://forum.xda-dev...d.php?t=1312927

and

http://www.slatedroi...8726-m-tablets/

Connor

Edited by valkoz, 03 September 2012 - 05:08 PM.

don't want to argue - want to discuss

#6 batokes

batokes

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 04 September 2012 - 06:10 AM

Hi

Anyone knwoes how can i fix the sync with google calendar problem?

Regards

#7 valkoz

valkoz

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 411 posts

Posted 04 September 2012 - 08:27 AM

Hi

Anyone knwoes how can i fix the sync with google calendar problem?

Regards


Stock chinese firmware doesn't have Google sync.

May try custom firmware 1.4-EN03-40 or 1.4-EN03-40 with GO Backup Embedded

Link http://www.slatedroi...14/page__st__40
don't want to argue - want to discuss

#8 Nguyen Minh

Nguyen Minh

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 04 September 2012 - 08:32 AM

Hi Minh,

use these - they work for me

YouTube https://play.google....android.youtube

TubeMate http://m.tubemate.net/

If youtube can't start - check file system/etc/hosts

Remove all and write

127.0.0.1 localhost

only

Connor


Thank you. Now I can fix youtube by mode "hosts" file. If I delete the "host" file in patch.zip and flash firmware again, whatever allthing is OK to fixing youtube and firmware may be flash without problem?

My mode firmware (for ONDA V712) almost is ok. Except google play is 101 error. Although I try delete account and make it again, it can not fix the problem. Please help me how to fix it.

#9 valkoz

valkoz

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 411 posts

Posted 04 September 2012 - 02:21 PM

Thank you. Now I can fix youtube by mode "hosts" file. If I delete the "host" file in patch.zip and flash firmware again, whatever allthing is OK to fixing youtube and firmware may be flash without problem?

My mode firmware (for ONDA V712) almost is ok. Except google play is 101 error. Although I try delete account and make it again, it can not fix the problem. Please help me how to fix it.


Hi, Minh

I do not know the structure of ONDA V712 firmware. But, if V712 is dual core AmLogic, and last firmware is v.1.4, it will help:

- check - there are two hosts files in the firmware - one in the patch.zip and second - in another (bigger)zip.

Way the same - system/etc/hosts.

When you flashing your tablet, first of all files from bigger zip are flashed, then - files from patch.zip.

Files from patch.zip overwrite files from bigger.zip.

You can delete hosts from patch.zip, but in that case hosts from bigger zip will be flashed.

Do not delete hosts from bigger zip, otherwise you lost internet connection.

So, you can delete hosts from patch.zip, but in that case - you need to fix hosts file in bigger zip.

Do not delete hosts from bigger zip.

- "Google Play error -101" you can't to fix so easy. It doesn't connect to the hosts file.

To help I need to see your stock V712 firmware structure - can you send (attach to reply) screenshot ?

Connor
don't want to argue - want to discuss

#10 Nguyen Minh

Nguyen Minh

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 05 September 2012 - 02:21 AM

Hi, Minh

I do not know the structure of ONDA V712 firmware. But, if V712 is dual core AmLogic, and last firmware is v.1.4, it will help:

- check - there are two hosts files in the firmware - one in the patch.zip and second - in another (bigger)zip.

Way the same - system/etc/hosts.

When you flashing your tablet, first of all files from bigger zip are flashed, then - files from patch.zip.

Files from patch.zip overwrite files from bigger.zip.

You can delete hosts from patch.zip, but in that case hosts from bigger zip will be flashed.

Do not delete hosts from bigger zip, otherwise you lost internet connection.

So, you can delete hosts from patch.zip, but in that case - you need to fix hosts file in bigger zip.

Do not delete hosts from bigger zip.

- "Google Play error -101" you can't to fix so easy. It doesn't connect to the hosts file.

To help I need to see your stock V712 firmware structure - can you send (attach to reply) screenshot ?

Connor


Hi Valkoz,
V712 is the same hardware of VI40 dualcore (Amlogic dualcore 1.5GHz, dualcore mali 400,..). Except LCD display is 7inch 1280x800 pixels, camera in back is 2.0.
This is link to V712 stock firmware v1.4:
http://www.mediafire...wro81q41dd4cpcd
http://www.mediafire...o771r7kz8lu2qw7

And this is tool to Joint these file http://www.jaist.ac....filesj/FFSJ.exe

I only mode a little as:
1. Build.prop: modify to Galaxy Note modern
2. Delete some app in patch.zip

I also try to copy google play.apk and googleframework.apk from xda and mode to patch.zip, but it's have problem with "Error retrieving information from sever.[RPC:AEC:0]".

#11 valkoz

valkoz

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 411 posts

Posted 05 September 2012 - 05:37 AM

Hi Valkoz,
V712 is the same hardware of VI40 dualcore (Amlogic dualcore 1.5GHz, dualcore mali 400,..). Except LCD display is 7inch 1280x800 pixels, camera in back is 2.0.
This is link to V712 stock firmware v1.4:
http://www.mediafire...wro81q41dd4cpcd
http://www.mediafire...o771r7kz8lu2qw7

And this is tool to Joint these file http://www.jaist.ac....filesj/FFSJ.exe

I only mode a little as:
1. Build.prop: modify to Galaxy Note modern
2. Delete some app in patch.zip

I also try to copy google play.apk and googleframework.apk from xda and mode to patch.zip, but it's have problem with "Error retrieving information from sever.[RPC:AEC:0]".


Hi Minh,

I downloaded yesterday V712D-V1_v1.4 firmware (right ?), and sent to you private message.

But your comments are blocked, maybe the message is unreachable to you.

To modify firmware, answer pls:

1. language

in which country you live - Vietnam ?
Can I use
ro.product.locale.language=vi
ro.product.locale.region=VN
persist.sys.timezone=Asia/Bangkok
Vietnam doesn't have special time zone yet for android (Asia/Ha Noi), so I can use Asia/Bangkok also GMT +7:00

2. Build.prop: modify to Galaxy Note modern

I advice you to use your tablet as Samsung GT-I9100 - in that case you can download much more applications from Google Play.

But as you wish - inform me pls which phone models do you prefer for your firmware.

3. All other changes are clear for me

Connor
don't want to argue - want to discuss

#12 ramek

ramek

    Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts

Posted 05 September 2012 - 09:47 AM

Valkoz,
2 questions:

Do you know what files in firmware are responsible for volume buttons on taskbar.

How to make updater-script copy some files to data and media partitions.

Thanks.

#13 valkoz

valkoz

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 411 posts

Posted 05 September 2012 - 11:59 AM

Valkoz,
2 questions:

Do you know what files in firmware are responsible for volume buttons on taskbar.

How to make updater-script copy some files to data and media partitions.

Thanks.



Hi ramek,

if you mean graphics resource - check 12refM1005A1.zip/system/framework/framework-res.apk

framework-res.apk contains all drawable resources.

You must


- decompile it with Apk Multi tool (9)

- replace icons (png)

- compile again (11)

- sign (12)

Then

- use _Update-Zip-Packager to pack and sign 12refM1005A1.zip

More information you'll find at http://forum.xda-developers.com

Connor
don't want to argue - want to discuss

#14 ramek

ramek

    Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts

Posted 05 September 2012 - 12:46 PM

Hi ramek,

if you mean graphics resource - check 12refM1005A1.zip/system/framework/framework-res.apk

framework-res.apk contains all drawable resources.

You must


- decompile it with Apk Multi tool (9)

- replace icons (png)

- compile again (11)

- sign (12)

Then

- use _Update-Zip-Packager to pack and sign 12refM1005A1.zip

More information you'll find at http://forum.xda-developers.com

Connor

Thanks for reply.

There are no volume buttons in framework-res.apk.
It's separate program.

Do you know how to make Update.Zip copy files to /data or internal SD partition on our device? I need exact commands that work on our device.

#15 valkoz

valkoz

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 411 posts

Posted 05 September 2012 - 03:03 PM

Thanks for reply.

There are no volume buttons in framework-res.apk.
It's separate program.

Do you know how to make Update.Zip copy files to /data or internal SD partition on our device? I need exact commands that work on our device.


Onda uses u-boot loader and the commands are standard. To copy usually make a script (placed in update.zip or separate zip - for example copy.zip).

But explain,

- from / where you want copy (indicate paths)

- in time of flashing firmware or as separate command when rebooting
don't want to argue - want to discuss

#16 batokes

batokes

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 05 September 2012 - 05:53 PM

Stock chinese firmware doesn't have Google sync.

May try custom firmware 1.4-EN03-40 or 1.4-EN03-40 with GO Backup Embedded

Link http://www.slatedroi...14/page__st__40


Thanks a lot. Now my tablet is really work. Nice work. Best Regards

#17 Nguyen Minh

Nguyen Minh

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 06 September 2012 - 01:33 AM

Hi Minh,

I downloaded yesterday V712D-V1_v1.4 firmware (right ?), and sent to you private message.

But your comments are blocked, maybe the message is unreachable to you.

To modify firmware, answer pls:

1. language

in which country you live - Vietnam ?
Can I use
ro.product.locale.language=vi
ro.product.locale.region=VN
persist.sys.timezone=Asia/Bangkok
Vietnam doesn't have special time zone yet for android (Asia/Ha Noi), so I can use Asia/Bangkok also GMT +7:00

2. Build.prop: modify to Galaxy Note modern

I advice you to use your tablet as Samsung GT-I9100 - in that case you can download much more applications from Google Play.

But as you wish - inform me pls which phone models do you prefer for your firmware.

3. All other changes are clear for me

Connor

Thanks for your help. I mode success FW for V712 dualcore. After flash mode FW, google play will be error -101. I must remove account and restart V712. After that, I make new account again, then waiting for file download.

https://skydrive.live.com/redir?resid=C4925C76572D504F!915&authkey=!ANHaoUhmdQzUU58

Wifi signal may be unstable, sometime it disconnect when I using internet, youtube. Signal strength is slight weak. Could you help me fix wifi issue.
Thanks again.

#18 valkoz

valkoz

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 411 posts

Posted 06 September 2012 - 04:39 AM

Thanks for your help. I mode success FW for V712 dualcore. After flash mode FW, google play will be error -101. I must remove account and restart V712. After that, I make new account again, then waiting for file download.

https://skydrive.live.com/redir?resid=C4925C76572D504F!915&authkey=!ANHaoUhmdQzUU58

Wifi signal may be unstable, sometime it disconnect when I using internet, youtube. Signal strength is slight weak. Could you help me fix wifi issue.
Thanks again.


Wi-Fi in Onda tablets is one of the best. I used my tablet in 30-40 meters range.

To analize your wi-fi try this https://play.google....e=search_result

Also try applications which ping wi-fi network.

There are many reason for unstable wi-fi, mostly depend on your provider and cryptos.

Errors -101 - connect to malfanction of Google Play and Google Service Framework.

Try this http://goo.im/gapps or google apps from modded firmware http://www.slatedroi...post__p__418448

Connor
don't want to argue - want to discuss

#19 ramek

ramek

    Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts

Posted 06 September 2012 - 09:17 PM

Onda uses u-boot loader and the commands are standard. To copy usually make a script (placed in update.zip or separate zip - for example copy.zip).

But explain,

- from / where you want copy (indicate paths)

- in time of flashing firmware or as separate command when rebooting


tried these commands and they did not work for me:

mount:
run_program("/xbin/busybox", "mount", "/data");
mount("ubifs", "UBI", "ubi1_0", "/data");
mount("ubifs", "UBI", "userdata", "/data");

copy files:
package_extract_dir("data", "/data");

In my zip file I have these folders:
data
system
recovery
META-INF

I need this to copy video codecs for MX Player to work.
MX Player does not look for them in /system/lib. The only way to make it work is to copy them to data/data/com.mxtech.videoplayer.ad/lib/.
Also I want to copy Nova Launcher launcher settings.

#20 valkoz

valkoz

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 411 posts

Posted 09 September 2012 - 04:03 PM

tried these commands and they did not work for me:

mount:
run_program("/xbin/busybox", "mount", "/data");
mount("ubifs", "UBI", "ubi1_0", "/data");
mount("ubifs", "UBI", "userdata", "/data");

copy files:
package_extract_dir("data", "/data");

In my zip file I have these folders:
data
system
recovery
META-INF

I need this to copy video codecs for MX Player to work.
MX Player does not look for them in /system/lib. The only way to make it work is to copy them to data/data/com.mxtech.videoplayer.ad/lib/.
Also I want to copy Nova Launcher launcher settings.


Hi ramek,

sorry for the late reply.

I understood what you want.

Simplest way for vi40DC is (as you use the ext SD-card in any case):

Spoiler


It works for me. Bonus: You can easy to change yours apps settings w/o update.zip repacking.

Connor

Attached Files


Edited by valkoz, 09 September 2012 - 04:06 PM.

don't want to argue - want to discuss




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users