Jump to content


Photo

Walmart WPDN R7T40WWHF1 firmware


  • Please log in to reply
234 replies to this topic

#21 sl_church

sl_church

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 10 September 2012 - 03:15 PM

here is mount:

rootfs / rootfs ro 0 0
tmpfs /dev tmpfs rw,mode=755 0 0
devpts /dev/pts devpts rw,mode=600 0 0
proc /proc proc rw 0 0
sysfs /sys sysfs rw 0 0
tmpfs /sqlite_stmt_journals tmpfs rw,size=4096k 0 0
/dev/block/mtdblock5 /system yaffs2 ro 0 0
/dev/block/mtdblock7 /data yaffs2 rw,nosuid,nodev 0 0
/dev/block/mtdblock6 /cache yaffs2 rw,nosuid,nodev 0 0
/dev/mlc /data/app vfat rw,uid=1000,gid=1000,fmask=0000,dmask=0000,allow_utime=0022,codepage=cp437,iocharset=iso8859-1,errors=remount-ro 0 0

here is df:

Filesystem 1K-blocks Used Available Use% Mounted on
tmpfs 100220 12 100208 0% /dev
tmpfs 4096 0 4096 0% /sqlite_stmt_journals
/dev/block/mtdblock5 204800 105608 99192 52% /system
/dev/block/mtdblock7 192512 21128 171384 11% /data
/dev/block/mtdblock6 102400 54652 47748 53% /cache
/dev/mlc 1940128 27104 1913024 1% /data/app

there is no /proc/mmc so instead here is vold.conf (spaces removed):

## vold configuration file for s3c6410--
volume_sdcard {
media_path /class/mmc_host/mmc0
media_type mmc
mount_point /PD_Novel
ums_path devices/platform/s3c6410-usbgadget/gadget/lun0
}

volume_sdcard1 {
media_path /class/mmc_host/mmc1
media_type mmc
mount_point /sdcard
ums_path devices/platform/s3c6410-usbgadget/gadget/lun1
}


Hmmm, I wish I saved the output from my device, my /dev/data was much less then that. I will document everything "clean" when I get the new one. And it's /proc/mtd I am interested in , sorry. It should look simular to the following and match the df output (this one is from an emulator image):

dev:    size   erasesize  name
mtd0: 0c200000 00020000 "system"
mtd1: 0c200000 00020000 "userdata"
mtd2: 04000000 00020000 "cache"
...Other partitions here...

When I get the new unit I will document everything and go from there.

#22 DSParris

DSParris

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 11 September 2012 - 02:55 PM

Just wondering if you have found any beta testers yet. I bought 3 units for my kids to keep them away from my wife's Kindle Fire and my Nexus 7. I'm willing to risk bricking one in the next week or so before the acceptable return date on the receipt.

#23 Zeppelinman_2000

Zeppelinman_2000

    Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts

Posted 11 September 2012 - 11:16 PM

Nice job on this reverse engineer!

I am trying to get the kernel from a R7T40WBLF0 from best buy.
It has a firmware of PDC1_20120214_B_PD_INX7E_ENG_6410POP tried to get pandigital to send me the firmware zip but you know it's a no go.
I bought 2 of these re-flashed one to the sh20 03-02-2011 firmware works perfect so it should a new sh20 kernel build dated 02-14-2012.
I pushed cwm restore.img over to both and can get a backup that works from cwm just need the other img files to make a firmware zip.
so how do I save out the boot,kernel,logo ect.. I did a dmesg on the reflashed one as a test to do the one with new firmware.

<6>[ 2.134938] OneNAND version = 0x0121
<7>[ 2.138545] Chip support all block unlock
<6>[ 2.277078] Scanning device for bad blocks
<5>[ 4.203722] Creating 8 MTD partitions on "onenand":
<5>[ 4.203771] 0x000000000000-0x000000200000 : "bootloader"
<5>[ 4.212037] 0x000000200000-0x000000a00000 : "kernel"
<5>[ 4.216199] 0x000000a00000-0x000000b00000 : "id"
<5>[ 4.220769] 0x000000b00000-0x000001500000 : "recovery"
<5>[ 4.225967] 0x000001500000-0x000001800000 : "ramdisk"
<5>[ 4.230899] 0x000001800000-0x00000e000000 : "system"
<5>[ 4.236704] 0x00000e000000-0x000014400000 : "cache"
<5>[ 4.241118] 0x000014400000-0x000020000000 : "userdata"

<6>[ 4.825359] Freeing init memory: 152K
<4>[ 5.604359] this time bat_staus is 1
<6>[ 6.041424] yaffs: dev is 32505861 name is "mtdblock5"
<6>[ 6.041469] yaffs: passed flags ""
<4>[ 6.044320] yaffs: Attempting MTD mount on 31.5, "mtdblock5"
<4>[ 6.132384] yaffs: restored from checkpoint
<4>[ 6.132764] yaffs_read_super: isCheckpointed 1
<6>[ 6.136588] yaffs: dev is 32505863 name is "mtdblock7"
<6>[ 6.140550] yaffs: passed flags ""
<4>[ 6.143871] yaffs: Attempting MTD mount on 31.7, "mtdblock7"
<4>[ 6.505134] yaffs: restored from checkpoint
<4>[ 6.505633] yaffs_read_super: isCheckpointed 1
<6>[ 6.519516] yaffs: dev is 32505862 name is "mtdblock6"
<6>[ 6.519559] yaffs: passed flags ""
<4>[ 6.522492] yaffs: Attempting MTD mount on 31.6, "mtdblock6"
<4>[ 6.532403] yaffs: restored from checkpoint
<4>[ 6.532517] yaffs_read_super: isCheckpointed 1

do I did

/system/bin/dd if=/dev/block/mtdblock0 of=/sdcard/bootloader.img
/system/bin/dd if=/dev/block/mtdblock1 of=/sdcard/kernel.img
/system/bin/dd if=/dev/block/mtdblock2 of=/sdcard/id.img
/system/bin/dd if=/dev/block/mtdblock3 of=/sdcard/recovery.img
/system/bin/dd if=/dev/block/mtdblock4 of=/sdcard/ramdisk.img
/system/bin/dd if=/dev/block/mtdblock5 of=/sdcard/system.img
/system/bin/dd if=/dev/block/mtdblock6 of=/sdcard/cache.img
/system/bin/dd if=/dev/block/mtdblock7 of=/sdcard/userdata.img

and this gave me
boot.img 2meg
kernel.img 8meg
id.img 1meg
recovery.img 10meg
ramdisk.img 3meg
system.img 200meg
cach.img 100meg
userdata.img 188meg

I do have a lot of apps installed. is this how it's done?
will this give us what people need to make a new firmware from this new build?
if not how do I get the kernel off of it to post up?

Thank for all you work on the firmware you have, hope you can help me with this one to reverse engineer a new sh20 version maybe?
anyone willing to help me is welcome, want to try to get the new kernel out for all of us since pandigital is no help.

Thanks all


I started a new thread for this under R7T40WBLF0 - PDC1_20120214_B_PD_INX7E_ENG_6410POP so I don't hijack this thread so I guess post there for me.

Edited by Zeppelinman_2000, 12 September 2012 - 10:29 AM.


#24 sl_church

sl_church

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 13 September 2012 - 04:49 PM

I just got a replacement unit and this one has the more reasonable values for the partitions:

/ # bb df -h
Filesystem                Size      Used Available Use% Mounted on
tmpfs                    97.9M     12.0K     97.9M   0% /dev
tmpfs                     4.0M         0      4.0M   0% /sqlite_stmt_journals
/dev/block/mtdblock5    200.0M    103.5M     96.5M  52% /system
/dev/block/mtdblock7    188.0M     19.5M    168.5M  10% /data
/dev/block/mtdblock6    100.0M     53.4M     46.6M  53% /cache
/dev/mlc                  1.8G     26.5M      1.8G   1% /data/app

/ # cd /data
/data # bb du -sch *
2.0K	anr
26.5M	app
2.0K	app-private
6.5K	backup
17.1M	dalvik-cache
526.5K	data
2.0K	dontpanic
4.0K	local
2.0K	lost+found
10.5K	media
21.0K	misc
14.0K	pdcolor
2.0K	property
97.0K	system
421.0K	tombstones
2.0K	tscalibration
44.7M	total
/data # 


I still think I would rather move /data to the internal sdcard (possibly except for dalvik-cache, for speed considerations) but this will work until I can figure out how to safely modify /init.rc.

#25 mac1_131

mac1_131

    Advanced Member

  • Hero Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 394 posts

Posted 15 September 2012 - 07:18 AM

Just wondering if you have found any beta testers yet. I bought 3 units for my kids to keep them away from my wife's Kindle Fire and my Nexus 7. I'm willing to risk bricking one in the next week or so before the acceptable return date on the receipt.


What are you looking to do to it?

I think it is pretty safe to put in KG's gapps or market only flash. Then flash my revert framework flash once you have market working. See port #4 in this thread for the flash to revert the framework back (don't do it till market works)

The unknown is if my full (reverse engineered) firmware version will restore one if something goes wrong. No one has stepped forward yet to try it.

As soon as someone does, I will get them the link to it so they can try it, and if it works, I will make the link public

Edited by mac1_131, 15 September 2012 - 07:19 AM.


#26 willichan

willichan

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 18 September 2012 - 08:11 PM

Couple things willichan...


From these forums, I understand the 1/2 internal SD card issue. Installing an external SD card makes no difference. Even if I uninstall items like the dictionary to free up space, it makes no difference in available RAM. I cannot even install an ebook from their market. I can only load books by downloading them on my PC, then transferring them to one of the cards. The app manager does not even have any options for moving apps to/from the SD card.

The false advertising comes from the claim that it has 1G RAM. According to /proc/meminfo, it shows MemTotal at 200444 KB. I had them replace the first one, thinking it was some kind of error, but the new one is the same.

It's not worth suing over, since Walmart would give me a refund and let me return it. So, I am looking forward to being able to remove all the unwanted crud, and loading better apps with smaller RAM footprints. In the mean time, it is a decent ereader given the price I paid for it.

#27 DSParris

DSParris

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 22 September 2012 - 07:11 PM

What are you looking to do to it?

I think it is pretty safe to put in KG's gapps or market only flash. Then flash my revert framework flash once you have market working. See port #4 in this thread for the flash to revert the framework back (don't do it till market works)

The unknown is if my full (reverse engineered) firmware version will restore one if something goes wrong. No one has stepped forward yet to try it.

As soon as someone does, I will get them the link to it so they can try it, and if it works, I will make the link public


Sorry. Haven't been around due to life getting in the way. Anyways, I am willing to be a guinea pig for whatever you need tested. I have 3 units sitting around here that I plan to set up for the kids. I just want them full-on android. I'm intelligent but lack the knowledge-base for the flashing. I have rooted 3 HTC Inspires and am not scared to mess things up. Just need a little primer on where to go and what to read. Don't mind reading just like to have a direct link to what I will need as opposed to 3,000 wannabes trying to tell someone how to foul up their devices.

#28 Joseph Pruitt

Joseph Pruitt

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 64 posts
  • LocationHayesville, NC

Posted 23 September 2012 - 01:45 AM

Background: Quite new with Android. Spent the entire day on this site trying to educate myself. At this point I'm completely burned out.

I would love it if I could get my WPDN R7T40WWHF1 up to at least 2.2. Is there any safe-ish way to accomplish this? My head is frazzled so if someone could run something past me I'd be eternally grateful.
"Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever." - Mahatma Gandhi

"Perhaps... Today is a good day to live." - Lt Commander Worf

#29 Joseph Pruitt

Joseph Pruitt

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 64 posts
  • LocationHayesville, NC

Posted 23 September 2012 - 06:47 AM

Background: Quite new with Android. Spent the entire day on this site trying to educate myself. At this point I'm completely burned out.

I would love it if I could get my WPDN R7T40WWHF1 up to at least 2.2. Is there any safe-ish way to accomplish this? My head is frazzled so if someone could run something past me I'd be eternally grateful.


I tried the gapp thing to get the marketplace. After signing in I got bounced back to the home screen. Tried going in again. Was able to accept the legal stuff but then got error. So used the firmware you posted. Marketplace still not working right. So I got the bright idea to factory reset the thing to hopefully clear out whatever was going wrong. Did not work. Now I don't have my home screen. I've got this click on the android to begin and the volume is messed up etc. Clicking on the android does nothing.
"Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever." - Mahatma Gandhi

"Perhaps... Today is a good day to live." - Lt Commander Worf

#30 Joseph Pruitt

Joseph Pruitt

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 64 posts
  • LocationHayesville, NC

Posted 23 September 2012 - 07:22 AM

Ok so what it's worth I did manage to get it working again. KG's Gapps saved me there. For whatever reason flashing that back in took care of things. However, still can't get the marketplace going. After accepting the ToS I get "A server error has occured. Retry, or cancel and return to the previous screeen"

Oh and adb didn't work. Doesn't recognize it so couldn't proceed that route.

I think my best course of action at this point (considering I've been at it for ~16hrs straight) is to be thankful I didn't perma-brick it, get some sleep and await guidance before I screw around and really mess it up.

Edited by Joseph Pruitt, 23 September 2012 - 07:26 AM.

"Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever." - Mahatma Gandhi

"Perhaps... Today is a good day to live." - Lt Commander Worf

#31 dark_samus

dark_samus

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 30 September 2012 - 10:44 AM

Wow great work didn't know it was possible to reverse engineer a firmware zip thank you for all you contribute people would be lost without people like you

#32 mistergoodbytes

mistergoodbytes

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 01 October 2012 - 05:34 PM

I did get one of these tablets working. This may be as good as it gets for the time being. See

Crosspost

#33 b5fan

b5fan

    Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts

Posted 01 October 2012 - 06:33 PM

Ok so what it's worth I did manage to get it working again. KG's Gapps saved me there. For whatever reason flashing that back in took care of things. However, still can't get the marketplace going. After accepting the ToS I get "A server error has occured. Retry, or cancel and return to the previous screeen"

Oh and adb didn't work. Doesn't recognize it so couldn't proceed that route.

I think my best course of action at this point (considering I've been at it for ~16hrs straight) is to be thankful I didn't perma-brick it, get some sleep and await guidance before I screw around and really mess it up.

There use to be a trick on the older units where you had to set the clock back or forward 12 hrs. I just changed the am to pm or vice versa. Then connect to the market. If it works, you can put the clock back to the correct time.

If that doesn't work, the other trick was to create a second gmail account and trying to connect to the market with that account. For some odd reason, there had to be 2 simultaneous accounts on the device to connect to the market.

Not sure if these will work with the newer units or if this might be a problem with market now being the play store. Neither of these should brick your device so there is no harm in trying.

#34 Joseph Pruitt

Joseph Pruitt

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 64 posts
  • LocationHayesville, NC

Posted 02 October 2012 - 03:44 AM

Chainfire 3D seems to be working. Gave a lot of warnings about possibly bricking it but, I thought to myself: I've come this far with it, why not roll the dice again? So I did. And from what I can tell it's working ok. This app needs root access. I can't remember where in the forums I got the instructions for rooting but it was basically run a few commands from adb and g2g.


I'll follow up if it seems to improve performance with games. Oh and I tried to get Netflix working on 2.1. I did manage to get it to launch finally but it just stalls at a black screen. I'm pretty newb so don't hold your breath on me figuring it out anytime soon.
"Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever." - Mahatma Gandhi

"Perhaps... Today is a good day to live." - Lt Commander Worf

#35 Joseph Pruitt

Joseph Pruitt

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 64 posts
  • LocationHayesville, NC

Posted 02 October 2012 - 07:19 AM

I'll follow up if it seems to improve performance with games.


Minimal improvement. Kernel does not allow for overclocking either. Found that out when trying out a different app.
"Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever." - Mahatma Gandhi

"Perhaps... Today is a good day to live." - Lt Commander Worf

#36 lafress

lafress

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 03 October 2012 - 08:50 PM

Just wondering if there is any progress on the Wal-Mart WPDN R7T40WWHF1. I got mine today and I'm afraid to root it because I've read through threads that's there is no way to do it for the SL20_20120224_B_Pd_INX7E_ENG__6410POP. Sure would like to add cool stuff on this ereader.

#37 Joseph Pruitt

Joseph Pruitt

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 64 posts
  • LocationHayesville, NC

Posted 05 October 2012 - 02:23 AM

Just wondering if there is any progress on the Wal-Mart WPDN R7T40WWHF1. I got mine today and I'm afraid to root it because I've read through threads that's there is no way to do it for the SL20_20120224_B_Pd_INX7E_ENG__6410POP. Sure would like to add cool stuff on this ereader.



I figured out how to root it here. To the best of my knowledge nothing has come out yet. Only recent activity I've noted is Randomblade's stuff but that's still a work in progress.
"Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever." - Mahatma Gandhi

"Perhaps... Today is a good day to live." - Lt Commander Worf

#38 Fiftycaljake

Fiftycaljake

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 10 October 2012 - 01:47 AM

alright mac my curiosity has killed my PDN. i tried flashing the KG/gapps and it worked i was able to get the market and download es file explorer as it didnt show on the Pdn after flashing 2x. after DL'ing es i was told my pdn was out of storage space even though i had a sd card in. so i tried to do the second recomended revert flash and it wouldnt come out of the first blue loading screen. so being the novice i am i flashed the kernal one in too....now i cant get the kg/gapps to reflash after i did a system rest from the CWM that was installed somewhere along the line..i dont know what i have done or if you are even on the case anymore. so if anyone is around and still messing with this pdn hook me up with some help here :)

#39 Joseph Pruitt

Joseph Pruitt

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 64 posts
  • LocationHayesville, NC

Posted 12 October 2012 - 09:21 AM

Yeah, I'm bricked too. I don't know what I did this time to be quite honest. I don't recall doing anything world shattering during that boot. Oh well =/...

mac1_131, you mentioned looking for people to volunteer for beta testing a full flash. I tried flashing the kernel and recovery.img and your framework. No dice. So I'm very eager to volunteer. Don't have much to lose at this point.

Edited by Joseph Pruitt, 12 October 2012 - 12:01 PM.

"Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever." - Mahatma Gandhi

"Perhaps... Today is a good day to live." - Lt Commander Worf

#40 wfutch

wfutch

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 12 October 2012 - 03:07 PM

I am in the same boat too. I am bricked and have nothing to lose at this point. I am willing to be a tester too. I have been trying everything to get mine recovered and can not seem to get it going.