Jump to content


Photo

[ROM - 5.3] ALPHA DIRTY-BEAN 4.1.X - Team DRH (Update 08/23/12)


  • Please log in to reply
1744 replies to this topic

Poll: [ROM - 5.3] ALPHA DIRTY-BEAN 4.1.X - Team DRH (Update 08/23/12) (234 member(s) have cast votes)

Were you able to get the rom installed without looping at "the birds?"

  1. YES (211 votes [90.17%])

    Percentage of vote: 90.17%

  2. NO (23 votes [9.83%])

    Percentage of vote: 9.83%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#121 tootall

tootall

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 15 August 2012 - 03:08 PM

Great job Team DRH! I am still blown away to get JB on a 2+ year old device before almost all devices on the market! Keep up the great work.

The couple issues I experienced last night using the ROM were:

1. Graphical glitches on the lock screen that were able to be recovered when I hit the soft home key and let it think for ~ 20 seconds or so.
2. Gmail would crash unexpectedly after syncing with no "Gmail has stopped" notification.
3. Intermittent slow down during initial GApps sync.

New Dopeness:

1. Google Now works great with the mic! So much fun to mess around with and configure for daily use!
2. Browser is much faster. Like much faster. Can't wait for the benefits of the 3.1 kernel to help overall stability and performance!
3. Downloads from Google Play seem much quicker as well. Not sure if it's due to WiFi tweaks or better performance with Play, but reloading a couple apps seemed much faster than ICS.
4. Boot Time. Fastest I've seen for any ROM I've used since HC.

Many thanks to the Devs and the forums for keeping the hope alive for our GTabs. You all rock!

#122 Nash

Nash

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 109 posts

Posted 15 August 2012 - 03:35 PM

I've noticed that the boot animation can no longer be changed just by replacing the bootanimation.zip.

#123 tivo_stevo

tivo_stevo

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 44 posts

Posted 15 August 2012 - 04:46 PM

for those who has "Parse Error" when trying to install APK try this

First copy the APK to system/app then try to install it. if that doesn't work restart the tablet and try again.
this worked for me.


I am not sure if this is the case or not, but, in the past (I remember when I was using a Froyo ROM), when I tried to install a tablet version of apks (3.x and up), I would get "Error Parsing the Package." I wonder if this is a JellyBean issue, not so much a ROM issue. Most apps are updated more quickly in the Play store then the Amazon one.

Just a thought.

#124 Nash

Nash

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 109 posts

Posted 15 August 2012 - 04:47 PM

I am not sure if this is the case or not, but, in the past (I remember when I was using a Froyo ROM), when I tried to install a tablet version of apks (3.x and up), I would get "Error Parsing the Package." I wonder if this is a JellyBean issue, not so much a ROM issue. Most apps are updated more quickly in the Play store then the Amazon one.

Just a thought.


It's not a Jelly Bean issue. My wife has a Motorola Xoom running the official Jelly Bean update, and I'm able to side load apps on it.

#125 fosser2

fosser2

    Team DRH

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPip
  • 825 posts

Posted 15 August 2012 - 04:51 PM

It's not a Jelly Bean issue. My wife has a Motorola Xoom running the official Jelly Bean update, and I'm able to side load apps on it.


We found the issue, we are looking into it right now. Plastikman traced it back to a permission issue. Stay tuned.
Like what I'm doing? Then buy me a beer or 5
It would help all the late nights slaving away ;)
Donate

#126 xtremdragon

xtremdragon

    Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Posted 15 August 2012 - 05:05 PM

So any way to install apk-s from sd card?

#127 The_Jeff

The_Jeff

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 136 posts

Posted 15 August 2012 - 05:26 PM

I have noticed a couple of graphical issues of course. One that has not been mentioned here was gmail. If you let it load and start to navigate it will act odd or close. I had this issue with the early ice roms too so I'm sure it will be fixed in time. Has anyone tried to use a pattern lock or pin lock yet? I'm scared to try because if the graphical glitches are in those style locks I have to wipe and reflash if it doesn't work because I won't be able to get passed the lock screen.

Sent from my Malata SMBA1002 using Tapatalk 2

I second this gmail issue but it was only with one of my accounts specifically and it was the last of three added. Any time I'd enter via widget or the app it'd black screen and close out the app. Rebooted and deleted the account and re synced and still no go. My other 2 Google accounts are working fine though. Another thing, on the calendar app when you go to delete a repeated entry there is only the option to delete this and further events and to delete all events. Not an option to just delete that event like on gingerbread and ics. My 2 cents. Otherwise she's running like a dream. All hail DRH!

Edited by The_Jeff, 15 August 2012 - 08:10 PM.

Forever a loyal member of team Flashback, the non OC club.

#128 plastikman

plastikman

    TeamDRH

  • FW Developer
  • PipPipPip
  • 63 posts
  • Locationsan jose ca

Posted 15 August 2012 - 06:04 PM

I am having the same issue, getting "Parse Error" "There was a problem parsing the package" when trying to install an APK or installing from Amazon AppStore. Play store works just fine.
Also first time I loaded this I had crazy slow response. Went back and formated EVERYTHING in CWM, then went back to ADB mode and reloaded the 350Mb TeamDRH followed by the 5.1 JB rom and it's now not nearly as laggy.



OK.....I fixed the parse error....It is an issue with the way /storage is being mounted. I have modified the init and now side loading is working as expected :)

Since we all have the nvflash package form the OP you can just flash this new boot.img and sideloading will work.

unzip boot.zip

boot into APX mode (power off and hold power vol -)

then do the following
nvflash --bl bootloader.bin --download 10 boot.img

We will release a new ROM with this fix at some point.

-Plastikman

Attached Files

  • Attached File  boot.zip   3.71MB   167 downloads

  • Mr. Swizz and Elswealb like this

#129 tsukaza

tsukaza

    Advanced Member

  • Hero Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 919 posts

Posted 15 August 2012 - 06:21 PM

Works like a charm, thanks. :good:
Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 white ICS stock quardcore@1.4Ghz
Viewsonic G Tablet JB alpha 5.3 BL 1.2@1.0Ghz
Zenithink ZT-180 V1 10" Froyo 2.2 - OC kernel@1.055Ghz
B&N Nook Color 7" CM9 ICS custom built@1.2Ghz
Beagleboard XM A8 Ubuntu server@1.0Ghz
Pandaboard A9 Ubuntu desktop 12.04 BETA 2 @1.0Ghz
Arduino UNO Rev 3 board

#130 fosser2

fosser2

    Team DRH

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPip
  • 825 posts

Posted 15 August 2012 - 06:22 PM

For those of you who hate using command line here is a .bat file that will allow you to flash the boot.img Plastikman just posted.

How to use:
Take boot.img and bootimg_flash_gtablet.bat and put them both into your TeamDRH_350M_Prep folder (the one that has NVFLASH in it). Boot tablet into APX mode (Pwr and Vol-) Then just double click the bootimg_flash_gtablet.bat file and it will install. Reboot the tablet and you're good to go.

Attached Files


Edited by fosser2, 15 August 2012 - 06:24 PM.

  • Elswealb likes this
Like what I'm doing? Then buy me a beer or 5
It would help all the late nights slaving away ;)
Donate

#131 The3DmaN

The3DmaN

    Team DRH

  • FW Developer
  • PipPipPip
  • 193 posts

Posted 15 August 2012 - 06:30 PM

Updated rom is on its way.
Like what I'm doing? Please donate so I can afford more Baileys for my coffee.

#132 Hawaii Tom

Hawaii Tom

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 44 posts
  • LocationHawaii

Posted 15 August 2012 - 06:36 PM

Updated rom is on its way.

You literally caught it just before I flashed. I'll wait...
Thanks!

#133 eaglerugby04

eaglerugby04

    Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPip
  • 29 posts

Posted 15 August 2012 - 06:40 PM

It looks like I may be the first one with a non booting instance.... I followed all the instructions in the OP and the ROM boot loops at the 3 birds.

Just for a review here is my history
ICS
Alphas all worked
Beta 1 - non working
Beta 1.1 works
Beta 1.2 non working
Beta 1.3 non working
beta 1.3.2 non working

JB
Alpha - non working

#134 fosser2

fosser2

    Team DRH

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPip
  • 825 posts

Posted 15 August 2012 - 06:41 PM

You literally caught it just before I flashed. I'll wait...
Thanks!


The only change to the new rom is the update posted above. So do w/e u feel more comfortable doing.
Like what I'm doing? Then buy me a beer or 5
It would help all the late nights slaving away ;)
Donate

#135 The3DmaN

The3DmaN

    Team DRH

  • FW Developer
  • PipPipPip
  • 193 posts

Posted 15 August 2012 - 06:43 PM

5.2 has been uploaded. Check the OP for more info.
Like what I'm doing? Please donate so I can afford more Baileys for my coffee.

#136 tsukaza

tsukaza

    Advanced Member

  • Hero Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 919 posts

Posted 15 August 2012 - 07:10 PM

It looks like I may be the first one with a non booting instance.... I followed all the instructions in the OP and the ROM boot loops at the 3 birds.

Just for a review here is my history
ICS
Alphas all worked
Beta 1 - non working
Beta 1.1 works
Beta 1.2 non working
Beta 1.3 non working
beta 1.3.2 non working

JB
Alpha - non working



You might need to use BL 1.1 to get the new ROM to boot IMO.
Ask them if they can create a BL 1.1 / 350M for you to try.
Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 white ICS stock quardcore@1.4Ghz
Viewsonic G Tablet JB alpha 5.3 BL 1.2@1.0Ghz
Zenithink ZT-180 V1 10" Froyo 2.2 - OC kernel@1.055Ghz
B&N Nook Color 7" CM9 ICS custom built@1.2Ghz
Beagleboard XM A8 Ubuntu server@1.0Ghz
Pandaboard A9 Ubuntu desktop 12.04 BETA 2 @1.0Ghz
Arduino UNO Rev 3 board

#137 eaglerugby04

eaglerugby04

    Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPip
  • 29 posts

Posted 15 August 2012 - 07:25 PM

You might need to use BL 1.1 to get the new ROM to boot IMO.
Ask them if they can create a BL 1.1 / 350M for you to try.


BL 1.1 did not work for me on the previous ROMs.

A member sent me a method to try that I will try out tomorrow. I wish I hadn't been mad at my GTab and left it at work...

#138 deuce

deuce

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 115 posts

Posted 15 August 2012 - 07:43 PM

Anyone else having trouble saving bookmarks to the home screen..... used to do this all the time but it doesn't seem to work here.

#139 The_Jeff

The_Jeff

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 136 posts

Posted 15 August 2012 - 08:18 PM

I wish I hadn't been mad at my GTab and left it at work...


Sir! (Or ma'am) There is only love for the gtab here. Loooooooove it ;)
Forever a loyal member of team Flashback, the non OC club.

#140 eaglerugby04

eaglerugby04

    Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPip
  • 29 posts

Posted 15 August 2012 - 08:32 PM

Sir! (Or ma'am) There is only love for the gtab here. Loooooooove it ;)


I love Team DRH, but not my GTAB. It likes to not run ROMs as of late.....




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users