Jump to content


Photo

Do Not Downgrade WPDN from SL20_20120224 to S10 or SH20 FW


  • Please log in to reply
145 replies to this topic

#21 wpdnholla

wpdnholla

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 12 June 2012 - 03:08 PM

I don't know if this helps any but this is the error I get when I try to update the fw from the pandigital website using their installer. -holla

Attached Files



#22 panengineer

panengineer

    Advanced Member

  • Hero Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,013 posts

Posted 12 June 2012 - 03:54 PM

I don't know if this helps any but this is the error I get when I try to update the fw from the pandigital website using their installer. -holla


Since that firmware doesn't even exist on their mirror site, we cannot look at it and see how it is incompatible with the other firmware. I have been trying to look at the details of the hardware and try and tell if it is different, it appears the same except for the internal SD card. The internal memory is listed as bigger, not sure that is correct. I would say to try and flash the market only flash that Kewlguy has if you have one that hasn't already been black screened. However, I would be hesitent to even suggest that not knowing more about this Walmart version.I don't believe that flash contains anything anything that can harm the OS like the kernal or recovery file. I would say you might need to adb push the recovery file over to the unit through usb to get it to reboot, but we don't have an SL 2012 firmware recovery file.


Edit: Here is a very good thread on recovering through adb, however not sure if you have the files from the SL firmware available to complete this or have adb setup on your PC.

http://www.slatedroi...rt-2-correctly/

Edited by panengineer, 12 June 2012 - 04:11 PM.


#23 randomblame

randomblame

    Doofenshmirtz

  • FW Developer
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,565 posts
  • LocationTri-State Area

Posted 12 June 2012 - 09:10 PM

damn we need a dump of this new firmware and some internal pics of the devices using them if they use a different charge voltage there may be more differences. Worst case there should still be the con4 option unless the hardware is drastically different.

Edited by randomblame, 12 June 2012 - 09:11 PM.


#24 panengineer

panengineer

    Advanced Member

  • Hero Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,013 posts

Posted 13 June 2012 - 09:02 AM

damn we need a dump of this new firmware and some internal pics of the devices using them if they use a different charge voltage there may be more differences. Worst case there should still be the con4 option unless the hardware is drastically different.


Yep, but that 5 V charging is a strong hint that it might not be the same hardware inside this model as the traditional white novel. If someone would at least zip up a copy of PD_Novel from a working unit and upload it somewhere we could see how it is set up.

#25 erikbenedict

erikbenedict

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 37 posts

Posted 13 June 2012 - 09:53 AM

I can help out a little since it sounds like Erik and I have the exact same problem. I bought this for my wife from Walmart. Model #R7T40WWHF1. There is no camera. It is exactly like mine - model #PRD07T10WWH7(refurbished) except it had different fw(mine SH20_2011. Hers SL20_2012). It included nook instead of B&N app that mine came with. Also I noticed there was no calendar app on hers. Hers also came with 4 gig internal card where mine only has 1 gig. Oh hers charges with DC 5V and mine charges with DC 12V...weird. Is this now just a paperweight? Thanks. -holla


Holla, Thank you.
Yes all those specs are correct, My Model # is #R7t40WWHF1 all other specs are the same.
-Erik-

fyi
I tried the flash because it was worded that anything after 2011 should work.
I realize that I should have asked first if it would.

#26 erikbenedict

erikbenedict

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 37 posts

Posted 13 June 2012 - 09:58 AM

In the meantime is it possible to put into the other thread to avoid flashing if you have our firmware SL20
That will help others to not do it until this is resolved (if it can be)
Sorry I cannot get you the firmware. Is there a way I can pull it from my unbricked device.
I would be more than happy to help.
-Erik-

#27 mrsburnout

mrsburnout

    "Linkmeister"

  • Administrators
  • 7,274 posts
  • LocationUSA

Posted 13 June 2012 - 10:29 AM

In the meantime is it possible to put into the other thread to avoid flashing if you have our firmware SL20
That will help others to not do it until this is resolved (if it can be)
Sorry I cannot get you the firmware. Is there a way I can pull it from my unbricked device.
I would be more than happy to help.
-Erik-


Warning posted in Kewlguy's FW thread.

There *should* be a copy of it on your internal microSD card. If you could copy and upload to a file sharing site (e.g. mediafire/boxnet) that would be great.

Thanks.
YMMV = Your Mileage May Vary - Not even OEM FW is guaranteed "safe" to flash.

Hey! Newbies (n00bs) - Click the blue links ;) - Forum Rules

"Dream as if you'll live forever. Live as if you'll die today." ~James Dean
"Slatedroid: Where all the advice is free, even advice you don't want." ~Mark Adams #113449
"Women are Angels. When someone breaks our wings - we simply continue to fly - on a broomstick. We are flexible like that."

Posted Image ~cheers

#28 wpdnholla

wpdnholla

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 13 June 2012 - 12:17 PM

That warning is an excellent idea, good thinking Erik. I was just logging in to suggest the same thing before others get into this situation. Thanks mrsburnout for adding that. :good:

#29 panengineer

panengineer

    Advanced Member

  • Hero Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,013 posts

Posted 13 June 2012 - 01:35 PM

Holla, Thank you.
Yes all those specs are correct, My Model # is #R7t40WWHF1 all other specs are the same.
-Erik-

fyi
I tried the flash because it was worded that anything after 2011 should work.
I realize that I should have asked first if it would.


Does your good unit report that it has 1 meg of internal memory, I believe the the WPDN is just 512? Does it say anything in about device about the processor? Does it have the android version or build?

#30 Everett1954

Everett1954

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts

Posted 13 June 2012 - 01:35 PM

WPDNholla and Erik,

As you have shown, your Walmart model R7T40WWHF1 is a revised version of PRDO7T10WWH7 (this is the version I have) and is NOT software compatible with the Firmware upgrades on here.

Your only bet is to get back to the original factory firmware SL_20120224 but that might not be easy.

It is not on Pandigitals fw support site. (I just checked)

You can email them asking them to email you the firmware or point you to it. Tell them you accidentily update to to wrong firmware.

You can try the Pandigital Upgrader that is a PC download from there website....you will have to connect your reader and PC a USB cable and you may have to try hitting the reset button while running the software. It needs to find the serial number of your unit which is stored in flash. If it doesn't find it, It will give you other options. Also Try removing the internal microsd card and put it in a card reader attached to your PC and see if you see the SL firmware there, copy it to your desktop, format the microsd card and replace the firmware from the desktop (you only want the sl.zip file on internal card. With the external SD card removed, try the volume up/pwr on sequence used while flashing a rom and see if it loads.

I hope these help.

Everett1954

#31 panengineer

panengineer

    Advanced Member

  • Hero Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,013 posts

Posted 13 June 2012 - 01:38 PM

WPDNholla and Erik,

As you have shown, your Walmart model R7T40WWHF1 is a revised version of PRDO7T10WWH7 (this is the version I have) and is NOT software compatible with the Firmware upgrades on here.

Your only bet is to get back to the original factory firmware SL_20120224 but that might not be easy.

It is not on Pandigitals fw support site. (I just checked)

You can email them asking them to email you the firmware or point you to it. Tell them you accidentily update to to wrong firmware.

You can try the Pandigital Upgrader that is a PC download from there website....you will have to connect your reader and PC a USB cable and you may have to try hitting the reset button while running the software. It needs to find the serial number of your unit which is stored in flash. If it doesn't find it, It will give you other options. Also Try removing the internal microsd card and put it in a card reader attached to your PC and see if you see the SL firmware there, copy it to your desktop, format the microsd card and replace the firmware from the desktop (you only want the sl.zip file on internal card. With the external SD card removed, try the volume up/pwr on sequence used while flashing a rom and see if it loads.

I hope these help.

Everett1954


Can anyone get the build prop file from out of one of these units? That will tell us a lot about it.

Edited by panengineer, 13 June 2012 - 02:21 PM.


#32 erikbenedict

erikbenedict

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 37 posts

Posted 13 June 2012 - 03:54 PM

Can anyone get the build prop file from out of one of these units? That will tell us a lot about it.


If you guys walk me through how to pull of of these things I can get you whatever you would like.
I have a working one with another on the way.
Let me know and I can start working on it first thing tomorrow.
:)

#33 MickeeDee

MickeeDee

    Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPip
  • 28 posts

Posted 13 June 2012 - 06:10 PM

I have one of those new sL versions (white) that I *JUST NOW* got in the mail from walmart online.
I have successfully rooted it using z4root installed via adb (running KUbunutu Linux).
I am willing to help/contribute anything i can towards getting this thing running an open tablet with market and gapps.
Specifically I NEED the Square Card Reader App to run on the thing.
but mostly i just dont like running limited proprietary software...

#34 randomblame

randomblame

    Doofenshmirtz

  • FW Developer
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,565 posts
  • LocationTri-State Area

Posted 13 June 2012 - 11:38 PM

I Need the build.prop in /system you can copy it through adb or even esfile explorer

#35 randomblame

randomblame

    Doofenshmirtz

  • FW Developer
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,565 posts
  • LocationTri-State Area

Posted 13 June 2012 - 11:41 PM

Also I need the kernel info listed in settings

#36 cal604

cal604

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 14 June 2012 - 12:18 AM

I would think it's time to advise people to be very wary of getting current "Novels".

So far, there's been at least three versions that I have heard of, the original white one, the black one which is compatible, and now this white one which is not. There's probably more.

Before I got mine, I checked here and made sure I got the right model before purchasing. Wouldn't surprise me if Pandigital is capitalizing on WPDN's notoriety and throwing out newer, different models with different hardware under the 'Novel' name to capitalize on it. Support doesn't seem to be their strong suit...

In essence, check the model number on the box, and check here before you buy!

#37 bac522

bac522

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 399 posts

Posted 14 June 2012 - 07:24 AM

Wouldn't surprise me if Pandigital is capitalizing on WPDN's notoriety and throwing out newer, different models with different hardware under the 'Novel' name to capitalize on it.


That's funny...yeah...sure...because Panditial Novel is a well known brand in the tablet market :drinks:. More likely minor hardware changes internally, but externally no changes so no need to spend money on new manuals, boxing, etc.

#38 MickeeDee

MickeeDee

    Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPip
  • 28 posts

Posted 14 June 2012 - 08:06 AM

I Need the build.prop in /system you can copy it through adb or even esfile explorer


Ok.
Here is a link to that information that you wanted.
I pulled it off just a few minutes ago.
But does the fact that i rooted it affect any of this information negatively?

PD_Novel (White)

https://docs.google....TXlOVzU5YjV2Z3c

#39 mrsburnout

mrsburnout

    "Linkmeister"

  • Administrators
  • 7,274 posts
  • LocationUSA

Posted 14 June 2012 - 08:26 AM

Ok.
Here is a link to that information that you wanted.
I pulled it off just a few minutes ago.
But does the fact that i rooted it affect any of this information negatively?

PD_Novel (White)

https://docs.google....TXlOVzU5YjV2Z3c




Thanks, MickeeDee. Can you please upload a copy of your FW to media fire (or another file sharing site)?

Copied and posted here:

About device:

Model number
PD_Novel

Firmware version
SL20_20120223_b_PD_INX7E_ENG_6410POP

Kernal version
2.6.29
eric@ubuntu BSP_3_01_005_20120214 Fri Feb 24 18:35:35 CST 2012

Build Number
PD_Novel 2012.02.04

Device ID

Build prop:

# begin build properties
# autogenerated by buildinfo.sh
ro.build.id=pandigitalopc1/sourceidDL00000009
ro.build.display.id=PD_Novel 2012.02.24
ro.build.version.incremental=eng.eric.20120224.184929
ro.build.version.sdk=5
ro.build.version.codename=Eclair
ro.build.version.release=Eclair
ro.build.date=2012年 02月 24日 星期五 18:56:11 CST
ro.build.date.utc=1330080971
ro.build.type=eng
ro.build.user=eric
ro.build.host=ubuntu
ro.build.tags=test-keys
ro.product.brand=sec
ro.product.name=sec_smdk6410
ro.product.board=
ro.product.cpu.abi=armeabi
ro.product.manufacturer=unknown
ro.product.locale.language=mdpi
ro.product.locale.region=
ro.wifi.channels=
ro.board.platform=s3c6410
# ro.build.product is obsolete; use ro.product.device
ro.build.product=smdk6410
# Do not try to parse ro.build.description or .fingerprint
ro.build.description=sec_smdk6410-eng Eclair pandigitalopc1/sourceidDL00000009 eng.eric.20120224.184929 test-keys
ro.build.fingerprint=sec/sec_smdk6410/smdk6410/:Eclair/pandigitalopc1/sourceidDL00000009/eng.eric.20120224.184929:eng/test-keys
# end build properties
#
# system.prop for smdk6410
#
op.mmi.mywifimac=
rild.libpath=/system/lib/libreference-ril.so
rild.libargs=-d /dev/ttyS0
keyguard.no_require_sim=true
ro.sf.lcd_density=160

#
# ADDITIONAL_BUILD_PROPERTIES
#
ro.config.notification_sound=OnTheHunt.ogg
ro.config.alarm_alert=Alarm_Classic.ogg
ro.kernel.android.checkjni=1
ro.setupwizard.mode=OPTIONAL
net.bt.name=Android
ro.config.sync=yes
dalvik.vm.stack-trace-file=/data/anr/traces.txt

YMMV = Your Mileage May Vary - Not even OEM FW is guaranteed "safe" to flash.

Hey! Newbies (n00bs) - Click the blue links ;) - Forum Rules

"Dream as if you'll live forever. Live as if you'll die today." ~James Dean
"Slatedroid: Where all the advice is free, even advice you don't want." ~Mark Adams #113449
"Women are Angels. When someone breaks our wings - we simply continue to fly - on a broomstick. We are flexible like that."

Posted Image ~cheers

#40 erikbenedict

erikbenedict

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 37 posts

Posted 14 June 2012 - 08:27 AM

Ok.
Here is a link to that information that you wanted.
I pulled it off just a few minutes ago.
But does the fact that i rooted it affect any of this information negatively?

PD_Novel (White)

https://docs.google....TXlOVzU5YjV2Z3c



My device ID is different obviously but all the other content is the same :)
Thank you MickeeDee.