Photo

What does "external GPS" and "external 3G" specs mean?

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Little Muddy

Little Muddy

• Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 24 December 2011 - 05:15 PM

I'm a total newby on the new Tablet and cell-phone technology (and struggling even with the latest IT desktop advances) although I am an old computer hacker of over 25 years. I just bought a new tablet from a chinese distributer. Awaiting delivery. No brand-name.
http://www.everbuyin...duct77855.html.

As you can see in the specs it mentions "external 3G" and "external GPS" but includes a GPS antenna in the package. My ISP has something called "the Rocket" which looks like a USB stick. Would I have to acquire one to be on their broadband wireless network ? Similarly with the GPS. Would I have to acqire a GPS device ?

I'd appreciate any help with this as well as any comments on the specs of this tablet. Thanks.

#2 anglerdk

anglerdk

Advanced Member

• PipPipPip
  • 48 posts

Posted 24 December 2011 - 05:58 PM

External normally means like an USB stick or bluetooth. But wait to buy one since not all models is supported/working. The to tablets I had the supported models is listed under 3G settings.

Many phones can share their Internet through wifi, also called thetering

Edited by anglerdk, 24 December 2011 - 05:59 PM.

#3 Bloggs

Bloggs

Advanced Member

• PipPipPip
  • 222 posts

Posted 25 December 2011 - 07:30 AM

I'm a total newby on the new Tablet and cell-phone technology (and struggling even with the latest IT desktop advances) although I am an old computer hacker of over 25 years. I just bought a new tablet from a chinese distributer. Awaiting delivery. No brand-name.
http://www.everbuyin...duct77855.html.