Jump to content


Photo

PD Planet with Android 2.3.4 Gingerbread


  • Please log in to reply
113 replies to this topic

#21 fukxou

fukxou

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts

Posted 27 October 2011 - 06:39 PM

Looks like its time to hit up kohls

#22 jondar

jondar

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 113 posts

Posted 27 October 2011 - 07:24 PM

Looks like its time to hit up kohls

Yep, especially since current rumor has it that PD will *NOT* be providing an update to 2.3.4 for the old Planets. :p

#23 fukxou

fukxou

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts

Posted 27 October 2011 - 07:42 PM

Also we would need people to help unlock the gingerbread...

#24 Static

Static

    Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts

Posted 27 October 2011 - 07:58 PM

no need. the root for the Nova works just fine on the 2.3.4 Planet :D

Edited by Static, 27 October 2011 - 07:59 PM.


#25 jondar

jondar

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 113 posts

Posted 27 October 2011 - 08:43 PM

no need. the root for the Nova works just fine on the 2.3.4 Planet :D

Heehee, I was going to ask you if you'd tried that yet - good to know!

#26 Static

Static

    Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts

Posted 27 October 2011 - 09:27 PM

yeah root works,the google pack works and I side loaded flash 11 with no problem.

Edited by Static, 27 October 2011 - 10:29 PM.


#27 fukxou

fukxou

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts

Posted 28 October 2011 - 12:19 AM

Just grabbed one and rooted and google apps added. 200mb of ram free vs 40mb on old planet =)

#28 Gl0ckm@n

Gl0ckm@n

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 28 October 2011 - 07:14 AM

I came here looking for the 2.3.4 root answer and I am not disappointed! My day at work can't go by quick enough now! Thanks for the confirmation Static, I'm a newb to Android rooting, so I may be back to bug you all later.

G

#29 Static

Static

    Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts

Posted 28 October 2011 - 08:14 PM

Good to see others are getting the 2.3.4 PDP, I was starting to feel a little lonely being the only person with one. :D

I have a small favor to ask
I do not have a back up of the orginal PR72_A_BN_W_A_C_08282011 firmware.
I loaded the new frimware thru recovery and no back up is made that way.

So if anyone have done the update with the fw update app or going to do an update with it, if they could maybe upload the backup copy created of
PR72_A_BN_W_A_C_08282011 someplace so I could have a copy of stock FW.

Now I got to go fix the PDP boot loop I got my self into by build.prop edits

#30 nvrpayretail

nvrpayretail

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 425 posts

Posted 28 October 2011 - 08:50 PM

Good to see others are getting the 2.3.4 PDP, I was starting to feel a little lonely being the only person with one. :D

I have a small favor to ask
I do not have a back up of the orginal PR72_A_BN_W_A_C_08282011 firmware.
I loaded the new frimware thru recovery and no back up is made that way.

So if anyone have done the update with the fw update app or going to do an update with it, if they could maybe upload the backup copy created of
PR72_A_BN_W_A_C_08282011 someplace so I could have a copy of stock FW.

Now I got to go fix the PDP boot loop I got my self into by build.prop edits


Wonder if that code will load on the older PDP. Any thoughts?

#31 Static

Static

    Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts

Posted 28 October 2011 - 09:49 PM

None of the R72 firmwares will load on the units running Android 2.2 and if one would get it to load it would most likely brick the unit.

So Please Do Not Try To Load Any Of The R72 Firmwares or any other that was not made for your specific model.

#32 Spz0

Spz0

    Advanced Shoe Gum Member

  • FW Developer
  • PipPipPip
  • 428 posts
  • Location..Look under your Shoe..

Posted 28 October 2011 - 10:14 PM

Wonder if that code will load on the older PDP. Any thoughts?


It will not load, even if reworked.
Different Kernel.
Different internal specs.
No Kernel Source provided.

Exchange ur units ppl.
I will not answer requests for help on bricked devices. USE THE SEARCH! If you are confused by clearly written instructions, you shouldn't be hacking your tablet!!!!!

Posted Image
.......Devices.......
.Moto Droid X
LiquidICS

------------------------------------
.Samsung Vitality (Admire)
OpenAndroid ROM 2.3
Spz0's OC Kernel

------------------------------------
.Kyocera M6000(zio)
Rooted2.2.1
OpenZio ROM 2.1.2
Adrynalyne OC

------------------------------------
.Pandigital Planet 2.3.4 REFRESH
OpenPDP ROM 2.3.4-v2.1

...and many other devices.

>>Donate<< to my Marriage counseling fund. o.0

#33 undertake4

undertake4

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 30 October 2011 - 09:25 PM

If anyone is looking for any PDP Firmware, here is the site:

http://mirror.suppor...lets/R70A200-4/

You can go up a level and see ones for all models. Very handy.

#34 Dave 71

Dave 71

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 31 October 2011 - 02:12 PM

Hello, I recently got a PDP 2.3.4 from Kohls. Can you point me to instructions on how to root it and get Andriod Market on it? Thanks, Dave71

#35 Fred

Fred

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 148 posts
  • LocationRaleigh, NC

Posted 31 October 2011 - 03:19 PM

Just checked the PD mirror site and they uploaded a new ROM today 10/31 for the R72 (Planet) series. Downloading and going to check it out as soon as I can. It says it is a test version so beware. Got one of the 2.3.4 units today and so far am glad to see it works as well as it does. The audio on this is way better than the old Planet we had. Stock with 10/11 upgrade got Skype to work without video but audio was great. Back after test of 10/31 ROM.

#36 SpooktheKook

SpooktheKook

    Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
  • LocationMA

Posted 01 November 2011 - 04:55 AM

If anyone is looking for any PDP Firmware, here is the site:

http://mirror.suppor...lets/R70A200-4/

You can go up a level and see ones for all models. Very handy.


DO NOT TRY LOADING THE NEW R72 codes on an older R70 unit!!!! You WILL brick your planet! See Spz0's comment

It will not load, even if reworked.
Different Kernel.
Different internal specs.
No Kernel Source provided.

Exchange ur units ppl.


HTC Droid Incredible
unRevoked3 S-Off
2.2.1 for now still learning

Pandigital Planet (Refresh)
2.3.4

Posted Image

#37 Gl0ckm@n

Gl0ckm@n

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 01 November 2011 - 09:15 AM


Hello, I recently got a PDP 2.3.4 from Kohls. Can you point me to instructions on how to root it and get Andriod Market on it? Thanks, Dave71


Hi Dave,

I just went through the same thing. I did the three steps below, in the order they are given, and now have a fully rooted planet running Android 2.3.4, and the Android Market version 3.0.26. I did not do steps 11. or 15. on this first post, and everything is fine.

I know step 3. is for a Nova, as you will read elsewhere, it DOES work for the Planet as well.

Step 1

http://www.4shared.com/file/-mAdC0q9/update.html

Edit: This update uses about 20 meg of internal storage, so please, make sure you have at least 40 meg free of internal storage. You can verify this in Settings, SD card & device storage, Internal device storage.

Now, Bow before us. also, READ THE INSTUCTIONS BELOW!!!!

Supplement 1 Added to step 15 below.


As odd as it seems, Autokiller memory optimizer seems to be a requirement for the lack of ram we have on this device. Without google apps, set to aggressive, it significantly speeds up the device. Since I have a fresh table, With a fresh install, Everything seems to run much better if you install google apps as the very first thing before anything else. About the autokiller, it seems to be conflicting with gapps, and taking up a significant amount of ram itself. Without google apps: run it. With google apps: Dont. even setcpu seems to slow the device down a bit, as it also has a fairly large memory footprint. The device bith seems faster, and has more ram availible, if you dont run these apps alongside Market. In the nbext few hours, I will be attempting to burn a complete flash, with market included. It will not erase your device, so the first step in the install will be to factory reset. this will be optional, of course, just as a warning, market runs best if it is installed on a virgin environment, and stays fast and stable despite installing many other programs. Keep the services to a minimum, even things like es task manager widgets away. eventually, I will get a custom kernel on this damn thing, or barring that, do the Droid-esk 2nd-init/hijack to overwrite the boot partion in memory, and enable a swap partion or file on the sdcard to suppliment our low ram.

Be aware, that this is an alpha release of this market package. there are bugs. most notable, is that sync does not always work. if an app hangs on start download, downloading, or installing, just click on the progress bar for that app within market and it should start installing and or downloading. If your PDP gives card remo ed errors, reset the device. This should fix it.

Big Props to wookie76 for pointing me in the right direction here: http://www.slatedroi...at-doesnt-work/

Instructions:
0. Make sure no firmware zips are in your sdcard root or Internal Storage root.
1. Place update.zip in root of sdcard
2. Turn off PDP
3. Hold down volume up and power slider for 3 seconds.
4. In recovery menu, press volume up until install update.zip from sdcard is selected.
5. Press volume down.
6. ???
7. Profit!
8. After completion, press volume down button to reboot device. Reboot May take a long time as it rebuilds caches.
9. Open Gmail.
10. Create or login to gmail account.
11. side load old market acquired app. Some People have needed this step, other have not. Update: here is an old version of frozen bubble. http://www.4shared.c...ozenbubble.html
12. start market. It will load, then say updates available in status bar. It will give old WPDN connection error in some cases. If it does, press retry and immediatly drag down status bar and select the app to be updated!
13. Press search button.
14. You now have full google apps experience.
15. Install the two apk's in this suppliment. Adds contact support and fixes FC with google maps by using an older version of maps. http://www.4shared.c...pplement_1.html


Google apps slow the device down alot, unfortunalty. when you are not using them, its not so bad. after initial install, amny pre-installed apps will likely update. The downloads take a while to start... be patient. Oh, and kiss our ring.


Step 2

I've made an update.zip package that people can flash for the new markets that have become available.
Download links below.

Note: You need to have the Google Experience pack installed in order for you to be able to use the Market. Market requires a google sign in. The email you enter on initial setup of your PDP DOES NOT count!
Please refer to THIS thread to install google experience, THEN flash my update.zip.


Instructions:

  • Download zip to SDCard
  • Rename to "update.zip"
  • Power down PDP
  • Boot into recovery (power + vol. up key)
  • Apply update.zip
  • Reboot
  • Profit!

I need to say, that if you have already applied the "Missing Apps" Market fix, you DO NOT need to re-apply it. I've tested this multiple times to confirm. However, if you do it wont hurt anything, you'll just be wasting your time. A good way to tell post-install is to search radar: you'll get around 1108 results.

So umm. Cheers. :)


Download Market 2.2.1 [STABLE]

Download Market 3.0.26 [UNSTABLE]**

**This market has a tendency to not show all listed search results. eg: searching let say, "ADW" will tell you 1400 someodd results, but may only show 8 or so.


Step 3

Thanks to Fewt for risking his Tablet for testing; I have successfully been able to root the NOVA!! ;)

I have created a flashable zip that should do the trick.

Disclaimer:
I DO NOT take responsibility for any Bricked devices. USE AT YOUR OWN RISK!

Make sure there are NO other firmware updates on your SDcard OR on the Novas Internal drive!!!

Instructions for Flashing OpenNOVA-ROOT.zip

  • Download OpenNova-ROOT-Spz0-v.1.0.update.zip to the root of your sdcard.
  • Reboot to recovery (Vol. Up + Power)
  • Press Vol. Up until "Apply update from SDCard"
  • Choose OpenNova-ROOT-Spz0-v.1.0.update.zip.
  • Apply update (Vol. Down).
  • Reboot
  • Profit!!


Download OpenNova-ROOT-Spz0-v.1.0.update.zip


I want to emphasize, this worked just fine for me, however, I am an inexperienced noob and can't help with problems you may encounter! If something didn't work right the first time, I rebooted (power cycled) the device, and tried again.

I am also new to forums and apologize if this post doesn't adhere to standard protocol. I looked for hours to get all of this information, and thought putting it all together just made sense.

Thanks to all who actually did this work!

G

Edited by Gl0ckm@n, 01 November 2011 - 09:28 AM.


#38 Dave 71

Dave 71

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 03 November 2011 - 02:20 PM

Thanks!

The 3-step plan worked great! I was humming along fine for about one day until...

I DROPPED IT! - SMASH!

UGH!

Fortunately, I bought it at Kohl's! They did an even exchange on it even though I had busted it!

So, I have my tablet back. But I have to do the 3-step over again.

#39 225_Cuda_PDP

225_Cuda_PDP

    Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Posted 03 November 2011 - 10:15 PM

I have the exact same senario it is the newer box it still says R70A200 on it with no -2 or -4 and it reads 407MB Internal device storage and 893MB internal Memory, and the quadrant standard says it is a PD Novel?????? very confused!?!?!?!?!

Edited by 225_Cuda_PDP, 03 November 2011 - 10:22 PM.

Robert W. Forsyth
Linux/Unix Specialist
Linux/Unix Network Specialist
Linux/Unix Systems Administrator
Micro Computer Hardware Specialist
Microcomputer Specialist

Have Kindle Fire running full Jelly Bean "Absolutely Awesome!"

#40 harryohla

harryohla

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 06 November 2011 - 05:00 PM

FYI. Just got a planet from kohls and it had the Android Version 2.3.4
Kernel 2.6.34 also.Worked fine.