Jump to content


Photo

My little Planet


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 fewt

fewt

    Advanced Member

  • Hero Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 116 posts

Posted 26 June 2011 - 11:59 AM

Firmware - PR70_A_AM_W_A_C_07062011.zip (Stock Pandigital Planet firmware)

CPU:
AMLOGIC MESON-M1
Clock - 800MHz
Scaling - Conservative

Memory:
Available - 58MB

Quadrant Score: 943

Available Storage:
Internal Device - 79MB

Internal Memory - 1.3GB
External - 15.0GB

Running Services (Autokill not needed):
  • K9 Push
  • MediaScanner Service
  • HDMI Check
  • Google Messaging
  • Hacker's Keyboard
Alterations:
  • Google Apps (SlateDroid)
    ** Did not need to do anything special, used the same gmail account as my WPDN and Market just worked.
  • Rooted with z4root (Freeware Lovers)
  • Busybox
Applications:
  • Adobe Flash 10.3 (Market)
  • Adobe Air (Market)
  • Adobe Reader (Market)
  • Aldiko (Market)
  • Angry Birds (Market)
  • Angry Birds Rio (Market)
  • ConnectBot
  • Dolphin Browser "Mini" (Market)
  • Draw(er) (Market)
  • Dropbox (Market)
  • Flickr (Market)
  • Docs (Market)
  • gReader (Market)
  • Hacker's Keyboard (Market)
  • K9 Mail (Market)
  • LinkedIn (Market)
  • Maple Paint (Market)
  • Netflix (Market)
  • Quadrant Standard (Market)
  • Reversi (Market)
  • Screenshot (Market)
  • Tapatalk (Market)
  • Terminal Emulator (Market)
  • Winamp (Market)
Changes from default:
adb shell
su
cd /system/bin
ln -s busybox cp
ln -s busybox grep

Update Market to 2.3.4 (SlateDroid):
** Copy vending_rena3_2.3.4_signed.apk to your sdcard first
adb shell
su
cd /system/app
cp Vending.apk /sdcard/backup/Vending.apk
cp /sdcard/vending_rena3_2.3.4_signed.apk Vending.apk
rm /data/dalvik-cache/*
reboot
Removed apps (copied to /sdcard/backup before removing, removed with "rm" in a shell):
  • Planet InTouch (EverywareInTouch-release-Planet-201106131503.apk)
  • Facebook (Facebook.apk)
  • Google Car (CarHomeGoogle.apk CarHomeLauncher.apk)
  • Google Gmail (Gmail.apk)
  • Google Maps (Maps.apk)
  • Google Streetview (Street.apk)
  • Pandigital Email (Email.apk)
  • Twitter (Twitter.apk)
  • FW Update (Update.apk)
  • YouTube (YouTube.apk)
  • SlideME App Market (2704SAM41_pandigital22_signed110427.apk)
After removing these apps, delete the dalvik cache and reboot the Planet:
su
cd /system/app
mkdir /sdcard/backup
cp 2704SAM41_pandigital22_signed110427.apk EverywareInTouch-release-Planet-201106131503.apk Facebook.apk CarHomeGoogle.apk CarHomeLauncher.apk Street.apk Twitter.apk Update.apk YouTube.apk Gmail.apk Email.apk Maps.apk /sdcard/backup
ls /sdcard/backup ## Confirm they are there
rm 2704SAM41_pandigital22_signed110427.apk EverywareInTouch-release-Planet-201106131503.apk Facebook.apk CarHomeGoogle.apk CarHomeLauncher.apk Street.apk Twitter.apk Update.apk YouTube.apk Gmail.apk Email.apk Maps.apk 
rm /data/dalvik-cache/*
reboot
Obligatory screenshot:

Posted Image

Will continue to grow the list, and document steps over time by editing this post.

Edits:
- Updated firmware version to 0706
- No longer need 0617 Android Keyboard hack (MediaFire)
- Dropped Amazon App Store & apps (Amazon)
- Dropped removal of Planet MyBooks Widget
- Removed additional apps that I don't use including Maps, Gmail, and PDP Email
- Update Google Market to 2.3.4
- Replaced screenshots


Note: I no longer have a Pandigital Planet, and have moved on to the Pandigital Nova. This thread should remain useful, if someone else uses it and wants to continue updating it I will gladly help.

Edited by fewt, 07 August 2011 - 06:42 AM.

  • nvrpayretail, Mark Adams, mrsburnout and 1 other like this
[ ~/Blog ] - [ Fuduntu ] - [ Fuduntu Forum ] - [ Jupiter ] - [ Aurora ]

#2 nvrpayretail

nvrpayretail

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 425 posts

Posted 26 June 2011 - 12:22 PM

Thanks fewt!!!

I installed your package and it loaded fine. Back to 800mhz. However, it was not rooted. Had to use z4root to root it again.

Edited by nvrpayretail, 26 June 2011 - 12:58 PM.


#3 fewt

fewt

    Advanced Member

  • Hero Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 116 posts

Posted 26 June 2011 - 01:32 PM

Thanks fewt!!!

I installed your package and it loaded fine. Back to 800mhz. However, it was not rooted. Had to use z4root to root it again.


Oh, that's just Pandigital firmware in my link, I linked it because so far it's the best version I've seen for this device.

I haven't built firmware from this, it's just documentation of how I configured it.
[ ~/Blog ] - [ Fuduntu ] - [ Fuduntu Forum ] - [ Jupiter ] - [ Aurora ]

#4 nvrpayretail

nvrpayretail

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 425 posts

Posted 26 June 2011 - 01:40 PM

Oh, that's just Pandigital firmware in my link, I linked it because so far it's the best version I've seen for this device.

I haven't built firmware from this, it's just documentation of how I configured it.



Ah! Fooled me. Thought it was 6/7 code with mods. Thanks for the clarification.

#5 fewt

fewt

    Advanced Member

  • Hero Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 116 posts

Posted 26 June 2011 - 02:01 PM

Ah! Fooled me. Thought it was 6/7 code with mods. Thanks for the clarification.


It may be eventually, I've been thinking about that. :)
[ ~/Blog ] - [ Fuduntu ] - [ Fuduntu Forum ] - [ Jupiter ] - [ Aurora ]

#6 greenlaptops

greenlaptops

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 159 posts
  • LocationSLC Utah

Posted 26 June 2011 - 08:20 PM

It may be eventually, I've been thinking about that. :)

Nice Screen shots! Is it "Shootme-Screen Grabber"? Would you like to share what 'App' you are using to take these screen shots and the download link if I am not asking too much?
Thanks in advance.

#7 fewt

fewt

    Advanced Member

  • Hero Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 116 posts

Posted 26 June 2011 - 08:39 PM

Nice Screen shots! Is it "Shootme-Screen Grabber"? Would you like to share what 'App' you are using to take these screen shots and the download link if I am not asking too much?
Thanks in advance.


It's called "Screenshot" by Kastor Soft. It requires root. It'll look funny (formatted for a phone) but it works OK otherwise.
[ ~/Blog ] - [ Fuduntu ] - [ Fuduntu Forum ] - [ Jupiter ] - [ Aurora ]

#8 greenlaptops

greenlaptops

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 159 posts
  • LocationSLC Utah

Posted 26 June 2011 - 09:52 PM

It's called "Screenshot" by Kastor Soft. It requires root. It'll look funny (formatted for a phone) but it works OK otherwise.

Thanks! You were absolutely right, it really looks funny. Thanks again.

#9 emmis

emmis

    Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts

Posted 27 June 2011 - 01:03 AM

I am not that well versed with adb. I think I installed the sdk properly and when I type, "adb shell", it says device not found. Any advice on what you check to troubleshoot?

#10 fewt

fewt

    Advanced Member

  • Hero Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 116 posts

Posted 27 June 2011 - 06:11 AM

I am not that well versed with adb. I think I installed the sdk properly and when I type, "adb shell", it says device not found. Any advice on what you check to troubleshoot?


First, go into Settings > Applications > Development and make sure USB debugging is enabled.

If you are on a Linux machine, try:

sudo adb start-server

You may be able to drop the "sudo" if it's Windows.

After the "server" is started you should be able to adb shell.
[ ~/Blog ] - [ Fuduntu ] - [ Fuduntu Forum ] - [ Jupiter ] - [ Aurora ]

#11 emmis

emmis

    Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts

Posted 27 June 2011 - 08:57 AM

First, go into Settings > Applications > Development and make sure USB debugging is enabled.


Thanks for the note.

I had that enabled but no joy.

I had the sdk installed for my htc inspire 4g so I know it worked for that phone. For some reason though, it doesn't want to see the Planet.

#12 emmis

emmis

    Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts

Posted 27 June 2011 - 12:59 PM

Thanks for the note.

I had that enabled but no joy.

I had the sdk installed for my htc inspire 4g so I know it worked for that phone. For some reason though, it doesn't want to see the Planet.


Also wondering how BusyBox is installed and used in conjunction with this effort, if at all.

(update: I think I got busybox installed, but not clear on how to launch it and use it since there isn't an icon for it.)

#13 mrsburnout

mrsburnout

    "Linkmeister"

  • Administrators
  • 7,276 posts
  • LocationUSA

Posted 28 June 2011 - 10:41 AM

Nice job, fewt. :good:

+1 Thank you.
YMMV = Your Mileage May Vary - Not even OEM FW is guaranteed "safe" to flash.

Hey! Newbies (n00bs) - Click the blue links ;) - Forum Rules

"Dream as if you'll live forever. Live as if you'll die today." ~James Dean
"Slatedroid: Where all the advice is free, even advice you don't want." ~Mark Adams #113449
"Women are Angels. When someone breaks our wings - we simply continue to fly - on a broomstick. We are flexible like that."

Posted Image ~cheers

#14 fewt

fewt

    Advanced Member

  • Hero Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 116 posts

Posted 07 July 2011 - 04:15 PM

Added to my first post:

Hacker's Keyboard
ConnectBot
Flickr
Docs
gReader
LinkedIn
Tapatalk
Terminal Emulator
Winamp

All tested and working great on the Planet.
[ ~/Blog ] - [ Fuduntu ] - [ Fuduntu Forum ] - [ Jupiter ] - [ Aurora ]

#15 fewt

fewt

    Advanced Member

  • Hero Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 116 posts

Posted 17 July 2011 - 06:21 AM

Updated to 0706 firmware, and cleaned it up a bit since some things are no longer necessary / in use.
[ ~/Blog ] - [ Fuduntu ] - [ Fuduntu Forum ] - [ Jupiter ] - [ Aurora ]

#16 fewt

fewt

    Advanced Member

  • Hero Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 116 posts

Posted 20 July 2011 - 06:29 PM

Added Netflix 8)
[ ~/Blog ] - [ Fuduntu ] - [ Fuduntu Forum ] - [ Jupiter ] - [ Aurora ]

#17 Exocet2

Exocet2

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 04 August 2011 - 11:20 AM

Well, if I can get mine to actually boot, I'll be back here in this thread soon!

#18 fewt

fewt

    Advanced Member

  • Hero Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 116 posts

Posted 07 August 2011 - 06:43 AM

Note: I no longer have a Pandigital Planet. If someone finds this thread useful and wants to keep it up to date, I will gladly help.
[ ~/Blog ] - [ Fuduntu ] - [ Fuduntu Forum ] - [ Jupiter ] - [ Aurora ]

#19 phoneharry

phoneharry

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 32 posts
  • Locationlos angeles

Posted 16 September 2011 - 10:31 AM

Fewt, THANKS for all this info.....I appreciate the time it took to find all this out AND TO DOCUMENT IT for us! :drinks:
Its made me delay returning my planet for another 24 hours - just to see if what you have done is something I can duplicate (and make me like this PDP once again).

EDIT - yup mines gone now too........maybe I'll pick up a nova at a garage sale some day
Harry

Edited by phoneharry, 26 September 2011 - 11:21 AM.


#20 krash1220

krash1220

    Advanced Member

  • Hero Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 414 posts
  • LocationCalifornia

Posted 11 December 2011 - 11:12 PM

Alterations:

  • Busybox
Changes from default:
adb shell
su
cd /system/bin
ln -s busybox cp
ln -s busybox grep





Just wondering if this is necessary if Titanium Backup is installed? I had problems with busybox and Titanium Backup on my WPDN but am wondering if it works fine on the Planet?