Jump to content


Photo

Tablet Speed tweaks


  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 Master}{

Master}{

    Advanced Member

  • Global Moderators
  • 466 posts
  • LocationTempe, Arizona, USA

Posted 27 March 2011 - 11:37 AM

Im going to list a few changes here and i need you guys to try them out, they are safe!

And report back on if you notice a speed increase or decrease on your tablets.

/etc/wifi/wpa_supplicant.conf
use the following values:
ctrl_interface=eth0
ap_scan=0
fast_reauth=1


/system/build.prop
Use the following values, add them if needed, if your build.prop differs majorly in the first paragraph do not do it:
# begin build properties
# autogenerated by buildinfo.sh
ro.build.id=FRF85B
ro.build.display.id=imx51_bbg-eng 2.2 FRF85B eng.pengfaxin.20110112.134311 test-keys
ro.build.version.incremental=eng.pengfaxin.20110112.134311
ro.build.version.sdk=8
ro.build.version.codename=REL
ro.build.version.release=2.2
ro.build.date=2011年 01月 12日 星期三 13:51:45 CST
ro.build.date.utc=1294811505
ro.build.type=eng
ro.build.user=pengfaxin
ro.build.host=androidserver
ro.build.tags=test-keys
ro.product.model=imx51_bbg
ro.product.brand=freescale
ro.product.name=imx51_bbg
ro.product.device=imx51_bbg
ro.product.board=imx51_bbg
ro.product.cpu.abi=armeabi-v7a
ro.product.cpu.abi2=armeabi
ro.product.manufacturer=unknown
ro.product.locale.language=en
ro.product.locale.region=US
ro.wifi.channels=14
ro.board.platform=imx51_bbg
# ro.build.product is obsolete; use ro.product.device
ro.build.product=imx51_bbg
# Do not try to parse ro.build.description or .fingerprint
ro.build.description=imx51_bbg-eng 2.2 FRF85B eng.pengfaxin.20110112.134311 test-keys
ro.build.fingerprint=sprint/htc_supersonic/supersonic/supersonic:2.2/FRF91/218634:user/release-keys
# end build properties

#
# ADDITIONAL_BUILD_PROPERTIES
#
dalvik.vm.heapsize=32m
dalvik.vm.checkjni=false
ro.kernel.android.checkjni=1
ro.setupwizard.mode=OPTIONAL
net.bt.name=Android
dalvik.vm.stack-trace-file=/data/anr/traces.txt

wifi.interface = eth0
# Time between scans in seconds. Keep it high to minimize battery drain.
# This only affects the case in which there are remembered access points,
# but none are in range.
wifi.supplicant_scan_interval = 5

# The OpenGL ES API level that is natively supported by this device.
# This is a 16.16 fixed point number
ro.opengles.version = 131072

Part 2 - Added 03-31-2011
Make the following changes to your init.rc file (This Requires Root Access)

Kernel Latencies:
write /proc/sys/kernel/panic_on_oops 1
    write /proc/sys/kernel/hung_task_timeout_secs 0
    write /proc/cpu/alignment 4
    write /proc/sys/kernel/sched_latency_ns 10000000
#    write /proc/sys/kernel/sched_latency_ns 5000000--------------------DO NOT USE, Causes Touchscreen Jitter
    write /proc/sys/kernel/sched_wakeup_granularity_ns 2000000
#    write /proc/sys/kernel/sched_wakeup_granularity_ns 100000----------DO NOT USE, Causes Touchscreen Jitter
#    write /proc/sys/kernel/sched_min_granularity_ns N/A----------------DO NOT USE, Causes Touchscreen Jitter
#     write /proc/sys/kernel/sched_min_granularity_ns 100000------------DO NOT USE, Causes Touchscreen Jitter
    write /proc/sys/kernel/sched_compat_yield 1
    write /proc/sys/kernel/sched_child_runs_first 0

Part 3 - Added 04-01-2011
This part seems to free up some more resources, and apps that are copy protected load and run better.
We are eliminating a mount point used for secure storage, and instead using a plain old folder in the root.
Find these sections and make them look like this, as always MAKE A BACKUP FIRST!
# Directory for putting things only root should see.
    mkdir /mnt/secure 0777 root root

    # Directory for staging bindmounts
    mkdir /mnt/secure/staging 0700 root root

    # Directory-target for where the secure container
    # imagefile directory will be bind-mounted
    mkdir /mnt/secure/asec  0777 root root

    # Secure container public mount points.
    mkdir /mnt/asec  0777 root root
    chmod 0777 /mnt/asec
    chmod 0777 /mnt/asec/*
    # mount tmpfs tmpfs /mnt/asec mode=0755,gid=1000

I have a few more tweaks im working with to be sure there ok, i will post them later!
Who is Master}{ you say? Click Here and find out!

For every Microsoft/Google programmer that thinks they can outsmart EVERYONE ELSE and make something IMPENETRABLE, there is ME and 1000 others like ME supplying Reality Checks on a daily basis.
They have Paper Certificates, Fluffy Chairs, and a false sense of security.

#2 Master}{

Master}{

    Advanced Member

  • Global Moderators
  • 466 posts
  • LocationTempe, Arizona, USA

Posted 28 March 2011 - 08:41 PM

Noone here wants to report back on this???
Who is Master}{ you say? Click Here and find out!

For every Microsoft/Google programmer that thinks they can outsmart EVERYONE ELSE and make something IMPENETRABLE, there is ME and 1000 others like ME supplying Reality Checks on a daily basis.
They have Paper Certificates, Fluffy Chairs, and a false sense of security.

#3 eideteker

eideteker

    Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts

Posted 29 March 2011 - 12:01 AM

Noone here wants to report back on this???


Just noticed this thread, I'm going to try these out when I get home today.

EDIT: Loaded up the changes, test driving it now.

EDIT2: 24 seconds from swipe to complete wifi connection, seems to take longer now?

Edited by eideteker, 29 March 2011 - 08:21 AM.


#4 palexr

palexr

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 165 posts

Posted 29 March 2011 - 03:44 AM

My build.prop is exactly the same as above up till the fingerprint bit:

...
...
.....
ro.build.fingerprint=freescale/imx51_bbg/imx51_bbg/imx51_bbg:2.2/FRF85B/eng.pengfaxin.20110112.134311:eng/test-keys
# end build properties

Where yours is "ro.build.fingerprint=sprint/htc_supersonic/supersonic/supersonic:2.2/FRF91/218634:user/release-keys"

Also, mine doesn't say anything about wifi or opengl in the Additional Properties (it does have the paragraph about the Dalvik cache which is the same as yours). Should i add those bits in? Arghhh... Confused!

Edited by palexr, 29 March 2011 - 03:49 AM.


#5 Master}{

Master}{

    Advanced Member

  • Global Moderators
  • 466 posts
  • LocationTempe, Arizona, USA

Posted 29 March 2011 - 03:46 AM

I modified the fingerprint, yours is fine, mine used to be that, it just affects the Market View.

You should be fine to try the changes!
Who is Master}{ you say? Click Here and find out!

For every Microsoft/Google programmer that thinks they can outsmart EVERYONE ELSE and make something IMPENETRABLE, there is ME and 1000 others like ME supplying Reality Checks on a daily basis.
They have Paper Certificates, Fluffy Chairs, and a false sense of security.

#6 palexr

palexr

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 165 posts

Posted 29 March 2011 - 04:06 AM

OK, will do then. What about the other additional properties paragraphs? Should I add them too? BTW, I used Root Explorer to make the changes, I didn't pull/push with adb, I take it that is OK too?

Edited by palexr, 29 March 2011 - 04:09 AM.


#7 Master}{

Master}{

    Advanced Member

  • Global Moderators
  • 466 posts
  • LocationTempe, Arizona, USA

Posted 29 March 2011 - 04:08 AM

yes
Who is Master}{ you say? Click Here and find out!

For every Microsoft/Google programmer that thinks they can outsmart EVERYONE ELSE and make something IMPENETRABLE, there is ME and 1000 others like ME supplying Reality Checks on a daily basis.
They have Paper Certificates, Fluffy Chairs, and a false sense of security.

#8 palexr

palexr

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 165 posts

Posted 29 March 2011 - 04:36 AM

Well, changes applied (using Root Explorer), tablet restarted and it seems to be all OK. Wifi definitely seems to connect much quicker. My wifi settings were different tot he ones you suggested after all.

It all seems to zip along but I'm not sure how to measure any differences. I'll update here after more use.

#9 dtr2001

dtr2001

    Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts

Posted 30 March 2011 - 07:39 AM

I also have the same device as Palexr (with Kernel 2.6.31-506-g30df573 gb2b14e ye@ye-desktop # 1 rather than #2).

I have applied all the wifi MODs as listed above using Root Explorer and works fine. Does seem to pick up wifi faster but it's hard to judge if there are any other improvements.

No problems with dropping connection but I had already put sleep policy to never.

#10 Master}{

Master}{

    Advanced Member

  • Global Moderators
  • 466 posts
  • LocationTempe, Arizona, USA

Posted 31 March 2011 - 03:26 AM

i have added some more changes, they seem to further improve the tablets responsiveness

see the first post under the heading:
Part 2 - Added 03-31-2011

EDIT:
If you have used part 2 you are probably just beginning to notice some jitter on the touch screen, Most noticably it will happen
when you are dragging icons around the screen and they will suddenly drop even tho your still holding down on them.

use the new settings in Part 2 to reverse this behavior.

The chages in Part 3 make up for the performance we lost in having to undo part 2, without touchscreen issues.
Who is Master}{ you say? Click Here and find out!

For every Microsoft/Google programmer that thinks they can outsmart EVERYONE ELSE and make something IMPENETRABLE, there is ME and 1000 others like ME supplying Reality Checks on a daily basis.
They have Paper Certificates, Fluffy Chairs, and a false sense of security.

#11 eideteker

eideteker

    Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts

Posted 12 April 2011 - 12:22 PM

i have added some more changes, they seem to further improve the tablets responsiveness

see the first post under the heading:
Part 2 - Added 03-31-2011

EDIT:
If you have used part 2 you are probably just beginning to notice some jitter on the touch screen, Most noticably it will happen
when you are dragging icons around the screen and they will suddenly drop even tho your still holding down on them.

use the new settings in Part 2 to reverse this behavior.

The chages in Part 3 make up for the performance we lost in having to undo part 2, without touchscreen issues.


Tried the changes in part 3 and now my tablet won't boot, just hangs at the "ANDROID_" flashing underscore. Those were the only changes I made, and I did make a backup of init.rc - how do I get it back on?

#12 Master}{

Master}{

    Advanced Member

  • Global Moderators
  • 466 posts
  • LocationTempe, Arizona, USA

Posted 12 April 2011 - 01:04 PM

Is your tablet a m10?
Who is Master}{ you say? Click Here and find out!

For every Microsoft/Google programmer that thinks they can outsmart EVERYONE ELSE and make something IMPENETRABLE, there is ME and 1000 others like ME supplying Reality Checks on a daily basis.
They have Paper Certificates, Fluffy Chairs, and a false sense of security.

#13 eideteker

eideteker

    Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts

Posted 12 April 2011 - 07:23 PM

Is your tablet a m10?


Yes. Same kernel version as yours, even got it from merimobiles like yours. The build number differed slightly, with a different date than yours. I never posted in the "various models" thread because it was so similar to the one you posted, but if I get mine running again I'll post it up.

#14 Master}{

Master}{

    Advanced Member

  • Global Moderators
  • 466 posts
  • LocationTempe, Arizona, USA

Posted 12 April 2011 - 07:27 PM

what program did you edit the init.rc file with.

also

If you go to merimobiles and download the new m10 firmware, put the 3 files onto an sdcard, then turn on the tablet
it should reinstall itself to factory defaults

when it boots up if you see chinese letters you are set, just give it 10 mins or so to flash on its own, ON THE CHARGER
Who is Master}{ you say? Click Here and find out!

For every Microsoft/Google programmer that thinks they can outsmart EVERYONE ELSE and make something IMPENETRABLE, there is ME and 1000 others like ME supplying Reality Checks on a daily basis.
They have Paper Certificates, Fluffy Chairs, and a false sense of security.

#15 eideteker

eideteker

    Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts

Posted 14 April 2011 - 12:48 AM

what program did you edit the init.rc file with.

also

If you go to merimobiles and download the new m10 firmware, put the 3 files onto an sdcard, then turn on the tablet
it should reinstall itself to factory defaults

when it boots up if you see chinese letters you are set, just give it 10 mins or so to flash on its own, ON THE CHARGER


I used Wordpad to edit the init.rc file. I downloaded the new FW, loaded it up, now I just have to learn Mandarin to use my M10! J/K, I'm working on resetting everything. Thanks for the heads-up.

#16 Master}{

Master}{

    Advanced Member

  • Global Moderators
  • 466 posts
  • LocationTempe, Arizona, USA

Posted 14 April 2011 - 04:00 AM

wordpad probably borked your file or you might have left in a typo.

works for me....
Who is Master}{ you say? Click Here and find out!

For every Microsoft/Google programmer that thinks they can outsmart EVERYONE ELSE and make something IMPENETRABLE, there is ME and 1000 others like ME supplying Reality Checks on a daily basis.
They have Paper Certificates, Fluffy Chairs, and a false sense of security.

#17 Handypaule

Handypaule

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 87 posts

Posted 14 April 2011 - 04:05 PM

what program did you edit the init.rc file with.

also

If you go to merimobiles and download the new m10 firmware, put the 3 files onto an sdcard, then turn on the tablet
it should reinstall itself to factory defaults

when it boots up if you see chinese letters you are set, just give it 10 mins or so to flash on its own, ON THE CHARGER


I find at merimobiles no update.
can they send me a link?

#18 eideteker

eideteker

    Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts

Posted 15 April 2011 - 02:36 AM

I find at merimobiles no update.
can they send me a link?


This is the link straight from merimobiles - http://www.yousendit...1cTI0b0JFQlE9PQ

#19 Master}{

Master}{

    Advanced Member

  • Global Moderators
  • 466 posts
  • LocationTempe, Arizona, USA

Posted 15 April 2011 - 10:51 PM

This is the link straight from merimobiles - http://www.yousendit...1cTI0b0JFQlE9PQ


this is correct
Who is Master}{ you say? Click Here and find out!

For every Microsoft/Google programmer that thinks they can outsmart EVERYONE ELSE and make something IMPENETRABLE, there is ME and 1000 others like ME supplying Reality Checks on a daily basis.
They have Paper Certificates, Fluffy Chairs, and a false sense of security.

#20 Handypaule

Handypaule

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 87 posts

Posted 15 April 2011 - 11:50 PM

this is correct


thanks for the link but this is the old FW of 01/20/2011
I had equipment with the FW of 03.2011 which I find not in the network.