Jump to content


Photo

Unofficial Slatedroid 1.3 Firmware for M-003 (1.7.4)


  • Please log in to reply
50 replies to this topic

#1 androidmr2

androidmr2

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 27 June 2010 - 12:15 AM

When I tried the slatedroid firmware on the M003 the screen didn't function correctly (not surprising since it's for the M001), so I hacked it up with the official version and came up with this. It's the official M003 1.7.4 firmware with as much of the the latest slatedroid 1.3 that I could get to function properly. It's not exactly identical, this version has some additional applications still on it, but it's certainly better than the stock version. It's available here:http://rapidshare.co...id-1.3.zip.htmlThere are plenty of other threads which describe how to install it, basically just unzip it, copy the scripts folder to a FAT formatted SD and reboot. BTW, nice work on the slatedroid firmware guys, really makes these things more usable.If you brick your tablet, don't blame me...

#2 bomusic

bomusic

    Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
  • LocationThailand

Posted 27 June 2010 - 03:23 AM

look faster but wallpaper gallery not fullscreenif choose from picture file...it OK

#3 zubair

zubair

    Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Posted 27 June 2010 - 04:24 AM

thanks mate. wil try out and let you know

#4 bomusic

bomusic

    Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
  • LocationThailand

Posted 27 June 2010 - 04:36 AM

latest...my photo , my music, my video not work in sd card..i don't know why ???Now .I'm back to flash on m003 1.7.4 official from eken

#5 androidmr2

androidmr2

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 27 June 2010 - 07:10 AM

[quote name='bomusic;11174]latest...my photo ' date=' my music, my video not work in sd card..i don't know why ???Now .I'm back to flash on m003 1.7.4 official from eken[/QUOTE'] Not sure why either, those all work on mine.

#6 biaggi

biaggi

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 27 June 2010 - 07:40 AM

Wifi dont work for me :) ill try to reflashEdit: wifi works after reconnect, but market keeps failing after one or two downloads, is so frustrating

#7 alyn99

alyn99

    Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Posted 27 June 2010 - 02:40 PM

Thanks for this, it's great - but a lot slower than the Slate 1.3 M001 firmware I installed on my M003. I love the original slate 1.3 and it works fast and perfect except of course it is formatted for 800x480 instead of the 800X600 screen on the M003. Is there anyway to fix this with a mod so that the original slate 1.3 M001 firmware will work on the M003?

#8 zuber5

zuber5

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 70 posts

Posted 27 June 2010 - 06:10 PM

[quote name='alyn99;11286]Thanks for this' date=' it's great - but a lot slower than the Slate 1.3 M001 firmware I installed on my M003. I love the original slate 1.3 and it works fast and perfect except of course it is formatted for 800x480 instead of the 800X600 screen on the M003. Is there anyway to fix this with a mod so that the original slate 1.3 M001 firmware will work on the M003?[/QUOTE']800x600? It's 800x480 with a different aspect ratio, I think.

#9 alyn99

alyn99

    Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Posted 27 June 2010 - 09:54 PM

[quote name='zuber5;11337]800x600? It's 800x480 with a different aspect ratio' date=' I think.[/QUOTE']The Android system app reports the screen as 800x600 and the settings in the M003 firmware scriptcmd define it as 800x600 also. I'm confused about this too as it's listed as a 800x480 device in the spec sheet.

#10 cabrion

cabrion

    Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts

Posted 28 June 2010 - 09:23 AM

what about wallpaper??? you try to fix it??

#11 mogrith

mogrith

    SlateGeek / Wiki Mod

  • Global Administrator
  • 2,428 posts
  • LocationBrea, CA

Posted 29 June 2010 - 01:23 PM

It's a nice update for me. I was on standard 1.7.4. A little faster CaffeineMark went from 379 to 386 2% increase Wallpaper is too small. But more pages for icons. I did backup my aps first. Restore was just selecting icons and reinstalling. faster but still a pain. I tnink it will have to be a big improvement to get me to start over again. I also have the My (app) not working issue. My workaround has been to install other apps for Pictures/Music and use file viewer for video.

#12 ChrisX620

ChrisX620

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 04 July 2010 - 08:01 AM

Alright, I now have Slate 1.3 installed:- Market Downloads worked for me after booting first time - now downloads don't seem to be running- Boottime 1:10 minutes- youtube vids playing- better performancenow testing battery life in idle mode

#13 mogrith

mogrith

    SlateGeek / Wiki Mod

  • Global Administrator
  • 2,428 posts
  • LocationBrea, CA

Posted 04 July 2010 - 08:25 PM

See my blog posts for help with that.

#14 reddit

reddit

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 05 July 2010 - 06:23 AM

Thanks for this. It's installed on my M003 (knock off from fleabay) iped whatever it is. Pro's: - fairly quick- youtube working well. - touch screen much better calibrated (especially that bottom right hand corner!) CONS:- Videos not playing (I get a few frames of the video and then the audio continues but no pictures)- market still not working. I have done the clear cache, repeat thing with very limited success (actually no success - it might be the apps that I am trying to download are not compatible for this version. Things like google translate etc - I'm guessing the most recent apps are not compatible with version 1.6 (which I am assuming this is based on) they are built for 2+. EDIT: Also no document viewing program (PDF, Word, Excel)I will keep this installed though and keep playing. Until someone releases something else that is! Thanks heaps guys!

#15 androidmr2

androidmr2

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 05 July 2010 - 10:27 AM

[quote name='reddit;13810]Thanks for this. It's installed on my M003 (knock off from fleabay) iped whatever it is. Pro's: - fairly quick- youtube working well. - touch screen much better calibrated (especially that bottom right hand corner!) CONS:- Videos not playing (I get a few frames of the video and then the audio continues but no pictures)- market still not working. I have done the clear cache' date=' repeat thing with very limited success (actually no success - it might be the apps that I am trying to download are not compatible for this version. Things like google translate etc - I'm guessing the most recent apps are not compatible with version 1.6 (which I am assuming this is based on) they are built for 2+. EDIT: Also no document viewing program (PDF, Word, Excel)I will keep this installed though and keep playing. Until someone releases something else that is! Thanks heaps guys![/QUOTE'] Video should work fine, but you'll have to transcode your movies using the (free) tools that are available on the site. See this thread for the settings that have been successful for me.

#16 mogrith

mogrith

    SlateGeek / Wiki Mod

  • Global Administrator
  • 2,428 posts
  • LocationBrea, CA

Posted 05 July 2010 - 11:39 AM

Check for documents to go in yor apps for reading office files. Slideme.org has free pdf reader called droid reader

#17 desmo

desmo

    Advanced Member

  • Jr. Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 339 posts
  • LocationItaly

Posted 05 July 2010 - 02:58 PM

boys, but should upgrade to this version? I currently use EcoTox and going well, except for YouTube videos and the market, the rest is much more usable version of the original (which was very heavy)tips to improve?edit:I finally installed, how can I be root? su is not recognized ..

#18 legendfire

legendfire

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 06 July 2010 - 05:59 AM

HiCan i request for someone to reupload the file to places like mediafire or 4shared? Thanks!

#19 fldroid

fldroid

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 06 July 2010 - 08:25 AM

hi there,newbie question but if I upgrade to this version, if things don't work as needed, can I upgrade back to the original firmware 1.7.4 on this site for the M-003? Thanks

#20 fldroid

fldroid

    Newbie

  • Jr. Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 06 July 2010 - 08:31 AM

hi there,newbie question but if I upgrade to this version, if things don't work as needed, can I upgrade back to the original firmware 1.7.4 on this site for the M-003? Thanks