cat /system/bin/sh > /system/bin/su: Not Found

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 sparow311

sparow311

• Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 05 January 2011 - 11:56 AM

Hi everyone. I'm new to the android community and I'm teaching myself adb. I purchased an white PDN because the store clerk told me android was already running on it with marketplace access....... ??? When I got home I realized that obviously he was wrong. So being the kinda guy I am I started my hacking investigation. I've done several things so far. I'm running the cruz hybrid mod. It runs pretty good for the price I paid. I like creating themes and such so I started looking on what I needed to do. Obviously I needed to gain root access, which I did. In root explorer I can see the root but not modify it. So I can't install things like metamorph and busy box. So I started looking into ADB. So far I have it running on my mac. It's sees the pdn when I do the adb devices command. Then I will do a simple adb remount to get it into read/write mode. Then I launch adb shell. Everything good so far. So I follow the instructions on the wiki I skip the "mount -o rw,remount..blah bah command because I read that the simple adb remount is the best way before you actually open the adb shell. When I type "cat /system/bin/sh > /system/bin/su" it returns with "cat/system/bin/sh: not found"..... My head is about to explode and I'm ready to throw my computer out the window, the pdn in the fireplace and then run around the house with a can of gasoline that trails back to the fireplace where the pdn will find it's final resting point and I will sit at my desk while my house burns down around me..... CAN SOMEONE PLEASE TELL ME WHAT IN THE WORLD I'M DOING WRONG?????????  >:) >:( >:( >:( I would greatley appreciate it.

#2 gnarlyc

gnarlyc

Advanced Member

• PipPipPip
  • 96 posts
  • LocationNC

Posted 05 January 2011 - 12:10 PM

Have you tried -

'ls /system/bin'

&

'ls /system/xbin'

?